Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 10:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Brother MFC440CN
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
burgersplus


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Clearlake CA USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 20:20    Post_subject:  Brother MFC440CN
Sub_title: keeps trying to connect to network but fails
 

It appears the cups drivers are installed. I have done so several times, but when I try to print a test page it cannot connect to the printer.

I need help with the settings I presume.

The printer is ethernet wired into a wireless router and works fine in Windoze

I am a newbie to Puppy. Running Lucid 5.2

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 21:33    Post_subject:  

Please list the steps you used to set up the printer in CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
burgersplus


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Clearlake CA USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 13:10    Post_subject:  

Thanks for your reply and pm. I am in California so have just now read your messages. I read your post topic on Brothers printers, printed out the instructions, downloaded the LPR and Cups drivers and installed them using Debbi. The LPS extraction and install could not make a directory for /var..../MFC440CN so I manually made one and reinstalled using Debbi. Cups recognized the printer on my network and there was now two sets of drivers under MFC440CN. I tried both of them, deleting the previous driver each time. When I try to print a test page it shows up in the jobs list but continually says it is "trying to connect". When I go to the printer and look at the LED display, it remains at default view. Normally, when it gets a job, it shows that it is "receiving information".
Thank you for your help. I have been trying to set up this printer using several Linux distributions over the last couple of years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 13:19    Post_subject:  

Have you enabled the Puppy firewall? It will block CUPS.

Can you access the Brother printer's web interface through your browser using its IP address?

You should be able to find it at http://aa.bbb.ccc.ddd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 13:35    Post_subject:  

It sounds like CUPS detected your printer and used the device AppSocket/JetDirect. This works on port 9100. Is there any chance that your router is blocking this port?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
burgersplus


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Clearlake CA USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 13:47    Post_subject:  

I put Puppy on a flash drive and use it on my laptop. I have not installed the firewall. I take it the IP address is the one my network assigns to it?. I am not educated on how to handle ports. I see you are from Stratford, Ontario. I was born in Owen Sound and grew up in Wingham.
I have to go out for the day so will not be able to get back to you until tomorrow, Thursday.
Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 14:20    Post_subject:  

burgersplus wrote:
I was born in Owen Sound and grew up in Wingham.

Quote:
I am in California

Wimp. Wink

You mention that you have tried installing this printer in other distros. Did it not work there either? I have a lot of faith in these Brother installers and this sounds to me like a networking problem independent of Puppy.

I would connect the printer directly to your laptop via USB and confirm that the driver works that way.

The printer works in Windows because it uses different networking protcols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 14:36    Post_subject:  

If CUPS auto-detects the printer, it will show the printer's IP address as part of its name. Try installing the printer manually using Add Printer. For the Device, select "ipp". Enter the URI as
Code:
ipp://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/binary_p1

The "binary_p1" is an internal queue name in the printer. You can confirm it by printing a test sheet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
burgersplus


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Clearlake CA USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 17:14    Post_subject:  

I got back sooner than expected as appointment was canceled.

Dynamic DHCP Clients
Hardware Address Assigned IP Hostname Expires
00:80:77:ae:fd:ac 192.168.0.100 BRN_AEFDAC Fri Feb 5 04:20:38 2010 Revoke Reserve
00:17:c4:d8:62:a5 192.168.0.101 Acerpup Fri Feb 5 09:12:39 2010 Revoke Reserve
00:30:67:18:78:dc 192.168.0.102 janshome Fri Feb 5 08:57:22 2010 Revoke Reserve
00:1f:1f:3a:c7:e4 192.168.0.103 Baby Fri Feb 5 11:54:43 2010 Revoke Reserve
e8:4e:ce:6c:9a:bf 192.168.0.104 Wii Fri Feb 5 10:01:35 2010 Revoke Reserve

Above is the info from my router. The BRN_AEFDAC is the name that the Brothers network software for windows assigned. It is also the address CUPS discovers as a network printer under Brother MFC440CN. Acerpup is the laptop I am using.

Below is the current info from CUPs

Printer tab
Brother_MFC-440CN Brother MFC-440CN jan2 Brother MFC-440CN CUPS v1.1 Processing - "Connecting to printer..."
CUPS-PDF CUPS-PDF Ghostscript Idle
pdf_writer PDF Local Printer Local Raw Printer Idle

Administration tab-Manage-Printer
Description: Brother MFC-440CN
Location: jan2
Driver: Brother MFC-440CN CUPS v1.1 (color)
Connection: lpd://BRN_AEFDAC/BINARY_P1
Defaults: job-sheets=none, none media=na_letter_8.5x11in

I was wondering if I need to uninstall and reinstall the linux drivers as two of them are showing up in Cups, both ver. 1.1. I have tried both and neither connect. I don’t know how to uninstall them in linux. I looked in the packages. I enjoy trying out linux but sometimes it can be frustrating. I am 70 years old and not sure if I will live long enough to learn the commands. lol.
Your right about the WIMP part. I go back and visit Owen Sound every summer, but if I want to see snow, I will drive to Reno for the weekend. lol
I will try and connect the printer direct as soon as I can find a USB printer cable.

Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 17:26    Post_subject:  

Quote:
lpd://BRN_AEFDAC/BINARY_P1

In Puppy, CUPS can't recognize the name BRN_AEFDAC. You need to replace it with the IP address.

Here is what I would do. Delete those printers and reboot. Run CUPS again and choose Find New Printers. Let CUPS detect the printer by its IP address.

There are two choices for the URI
Code:
socket://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd:9100

or
Code:
ipp://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/binary_p1


[Edit] At this point we could have got the printer installed by leaving the URI as
Code:
 lpd://BRN_AEFDAC/BINARY_P1

and adding the following line to the file /etc/hosts
Code:
 192.168.0.100 BRN_AEFDAC

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
burgersplus


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Clearlake CA USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 21:15    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
lpd://BRN_AEFDAC/BINARY_P1

In Puppy, CUPS can't recognize the name BRN_AEFDAC. You need to replace it with the IP address.

Here is what I would do. Delete those printers and reboot. Run CUPS again and choose Find New Printers. Let CUPS detect the printer by its IP address.

There are two choices for the URI
Code:
socket://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd:9100

or
Code:
ipp://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/binary_p1


Under Cups-Admin-Find New Printers
It just finds the Brother MFC-440cn and the only choice I have is to Add This Printer which in turn comes up with the lpd://BRN_AEFDAC/BINARY_P1 address which I cannot change. I cannot find anywhere to insert either of the (code) in your last post. Am I supposed to open a console? Sorry I am a newbie at this. I probably need step by step instruction.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 21:30    Post_subject:  

Have you determined the printer's IP address yet? You can sometimes get it by printing a test page. If not, try numbers in your web browser.

For example, determine your own IP with the command "ifconfig". Then try the next higher number in your web browser until you reach the printer's web interface.

Once you have it, run CUPS with Add Printer. Select "lpd" for the device and "lpd://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/binary_p1" for the URI.

Then try "ipp://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/binary_p1"

Then try "socket://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd:9100".

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
burgersplus


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Clearlake CA USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 21:35    Post_subject:  

We got it. It printed a test page after I used the Admin-Add Printer section.
I used the socket code with the IP address and away it went.

Thank you so much. You sure know your printers.

Take care. I hope the snow ends soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 21:46    Post_subject:  

Glad to help.

The snow isn't too bad so far this winter. But it hasn't been cold enough for the lake to freeze up, so there could still be lots more.

Enjoy the sunshine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
burgersplus


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Clearlake CA USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 00:22    Post_subject: Scanner  

rcrsn51, thanks again for your help.

Now for the scanner.
I installed the driver using Debbi. It was brscan2 and seemed to install ok.

Using hakia post for network command.

For Brother Scanners in a Network:

Execute a command like:

brsaneconfig2 -a name=scanner model=DCP-315CN ip=192.168.x.x

Start Sane, choose USB Port and Sane will find your network scanner!

my ip address is 192.168.0.100
What would my command be in detail please as the one I tried was invalid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0822s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]