Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 07:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
sfs_load-2.2 on-the-fly
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2236

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 15:09    Post_subject:  

When you open a terminal it will be running whatever shell your default is set to. If you then start another shell, it will remain running until you type 'exit' whiuch returns you to the original shell.

There can be a great difference between /bin/sh and /bin/bash -even if /bin/sh is a link to /bin/bash. Running bash called as /bin/sh yupports *some* bash extennsions which are not supported by 'real' sh. if /bin/sh is really ash, or dash, or busybox ash/lash/hash/mash, then expect even more differences. None of the above are really 'sh' as it was in the old days -ash and dash support more features and any of the busybox versions will most likely support less. busybox ash is not the same as ash.

The point is, for consistency, you need to use the shebang for the exact shell which supports the code you are writing. If you use '#!/bin/sh' as the shebang, don't assume that /bin/sh will be bash and act like bash-as-sh. if you really want to use /bin/sh, then you'll have to check all of your syntay to make sure it works with whatever /bin/sh really is. Once again, if you call bash as 'bash' it will (obviously) support all the bash features which were compiled into it. But, if you run bash as 'sh', it will only support a small sub-set of the bash extensions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 13 Mar 2011, 21:36    Post_subject: Load and go  

mhanifpriatama wrote:
Just report. I try in my lucid puppy 520, fresh frugal install. And run.
I would be very happy if can click once, then run the program directly.
Like at http://portablelinuxapps.org

If the sfs is properly prepaired, you can right-click the sfs and select 'sfs_load'. After loading succeed, the launcher offers to run the program.
Try the gimp sfs for an example.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61584

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 13 Mar 2011, 22:56    Post_subject:  

Hi shino (good to see you are ok Smile )

What about an adjustment to the run action for an sfs.. depending upon sfs_load's existence?

/root/Choices/MIME-types/application_x-squashfs-image
Code:
#! /bin/sh
. /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG
FILE="`basename $1`"
IN_USE=`echo $LASTUNIONRECORD|grep "$FILE"`
[ "$IN_USE" != "" ]&& xmessage -bg orange -c -timeout 5 "$FILE
is already in use by Puppy" && exit
MOUNTED=`mount|grep "$FILE"`
[ "$MOUNTED" != "" ]&& exec filemnt "$1"
if [ -x /usr/sbin/sfs_load ];then
 xmessage -bg green -c -buttons "View only:10,Load to Use:11,Exit:12" "Would you like to mount
 $FILE
 for viewing read only or
 mount for use with sfs_load?"
 case "$?" in
 10) exec filemnt "$1" ;;
 11) sfs_load "$1" ;;
 12) exit ;;
 esac
 else
 exec filemnt "$1"
fi


Of course you could use Xdialog or gtkdialog if you wish.

Cheers

EDIT: On further thought, if this were to be an approach, then really /usr/sbin/filemnt should get the rewrite.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
lithpr


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 22:24    Post_subject: very cool!  

This is fantastic. works flawless under 2.5.4, as far as i can tell. Thank you!

Lithpr
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mhanifpriatama

Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 04:34    Post_subject:  

Shinobar :
Quote:
If the sfs is properly prepaired,


Ohh, what is that? I don't know that.
Sorry.
All of sfs files must properly prepaired?

I'm fall-in-love to fresh frugal install and remastering.
Maybe we can create a standard of sfs file? Or, create a new file type, that similar to portable applications?
I use portable things (some worked, some didn't), but there're a lot of pet's packages that can convert to sfs easily.
Do not mind me, if being too demanding.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 08:12    Post_subject: sfs_load-1.0  

15 Mar 2011: sfs_load-1.0: again PUPMODE=5/6/77
_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 08:32    Post_subject:  

Hi shinobar,
Terrible events over in your part of the world hope you, your family and friends are ok?

Thanks for update - will test 1.0 after dinner.

Also had this message? when testing an .sfs on 0.9
2011-03-15-122359_393x131_scrot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.85 KB
 Viewed   1795 Time(s)

2011-03-15-122359_393x131_scrot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 09:20    Post_subject: Failed to unload  

Fortunately my area and my family is safe. Thank you stu90.
stu90 wrote:
Also had this message? when testing an .sfs on 0.9

It is normal. Unloading does not always succeed. You sometime need to reboot PC.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1602

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 14:28    Post_subject:  

v1.0 works fine in pupmode=6 on my end again. v1.0 indeed Very Happy
One thing though that all sfs_load pets have (from v0.3 onwards that I used) is that have wrong folder permissions (777) for most folders and files. specifically

Code:
drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 2011-01-28 18:01 root
drwxrwxrwx 4 root root 4096 2011-01-28 17:55 usr
drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 2011-02-23 16:30 sbin
drwxrwxrwx 6 root root 4096 2011-02-03 19:42 share
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 65941 2011-03-15 20:00 sfs_load
drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 2011-01-28 17:56 applications
drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 2011-01-29 17:17 doc
drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 2011-01-30 15:36 pixmaps
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 201 2011-01-30 15:37 SFS-Load.desktop
drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 2011-01-28 17:54 nls
drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 2011-03-15 20:05 sfs_load
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 605 2011-02-01 13:04 squashfs-image.png


So after installing the pet your filesystem permissions are a bit messed up.
Puppy does run as root but we do not need to go that far Razz

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2011, 02:17    Post_subject: sfs_load-1.1  

small bugfixes:
# 17 Mar 2011 v1.1: load/unload under PUPMODE=5, launcher
Thanks mavrothal. The permissions are fixed.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4227
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 16:05    Post_subject: Re: finding whiteout  

[quote="Q5sys"]
Shep wrote:
Q5sys wrote:
Um... I'm not understanding the reason ...
What benefits are there to ...
I think this would be a matter of programmer/scripter preference. I, on several, occasions in the past have wanted to do this same thing (which I have done many times in *.bat executables in Microsoft).

A benefit is that I can "fire" off a parallel task while my mainline task continues, separately. Or, I may want to post in a secondary window some result(s) that I would NOT want in my main window. These are just 2 examples of benefit that I can think of.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4227
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 16:12    Post_subject: 64bit use  

Shinobar, I have not tried it, but should I expect "sfs_load-1.1 on-the-fly" to work in FATDOG?
Edited: Can think of any reason why this would NOT work on 64bit FATDOG?

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 14:26    Post_subject:
Sub_title: some 5xx reports, more-or-less
 

Might only be me and my trifling, but sfs_load-1.1 has some issues in macpup520 (and perhaps mp511 as well, but that one is a ram issue with too much junk in the savefiles, add a measly ~60mb of sfses and RAMFULL for that liveCDmulti :shrug: ). Now, it did work in w511,NOP (both Xvesa and Xorg in different usb savefiles), but unfortunately the savefiles corrupted .. possibly due to my trying to bypass NOP's somewhat odd shutdown ui (seriously don't care for that ui at all but I thought I was okay with Exit to Prompt->reboot .. apparently not but that's for savefile-config thread detailing).

Anyhow, a camera-pic (image-link @647k) of mp520 on reboot/fail for what it's worth - maybe a conflict between etc/init.d/sfs_load and bootmanager? As noted on pic, the sfses did not load on-the-fly and I thought it a bit unusual to have to specify to bootmanager to load what I'd imagined already loaded by sfs_load. Perhaps an unload of the sfses in sfs_load and then a load of them via bootmanager? Have to bonk the last savedir but just odd that bootmanager and sfs_load in mp520 have that 'failure to communicate' as it were. Oh well, it is lupu-based so Neutral (sure is tiresome having them fail or mess up on no apparent schedule with liveCDmulti or CDboot+usbsave, though) but that's ok since sfs_load works like a charm on my old w020 (liveCDmulti with a 'lucky 13' savedirs and still going strong Laughing )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 15:21    Post_subject:  

Firstly, sorry I have not read the whole thread..

But, did you incorporate a function similar to the 'pinstall.sh' function that we have with PET files? Because when loading certain SFS files, they require extra work, as the pinstall is not normally executed...

As I see it, seaside, you and goingnuts have all made good SFS work...

It would be great to see all 3 of you incorporate the execution of any "pinstall.sh" scripts found in the root of the SFS when it is loaded on the fly.. Then the pinstall could be optionally removed - unless that causes some problems.

I think this may be a good idea, as more OTF SFS loading will catch on, I am sure of it... Also many SFS files were convereted for PET files originally... The vbox SFS around, for example...

I have posted this to seaside, on the SFS-Exec thread as well, hope people dont mind

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 02:17    Post_subject:  

Hi does this work in the latest puplets lupu series, wary, and quirky. also does it allow more sfs files to be added to the os as the default bootmanager can only load 6 sometiems i want more.

lighthouse pup can losd 40 and it also has sfs combiner installed both in teh base
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1074s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]