Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 15:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
sfs_load-2.3 on-the-fly
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 04:32    Post_subject: sfs_load-0.6  

seaside wrote:
I thought this might be another aspect to throw in for consideration.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=493294#493294

Thanks seaside.
I add a launcher after loading sfs, inspired from you.

sfs_load-0.6
9 Feb 2011 v0.6: fix was moved remote files, restart X info, launcher (thanks to seaside)

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 06:43    Post_subject:  

Shinobar, how I am not derailing your thread too much.

Did there exist something named TCX to Sfs convert? or Sfs to Tcz convert?

I am trying to learn TCL now and did remember something about being able to use Tcz files converting them to sfs files and loading them when Puppy starts?

They had the Virtual Digital Piano something as an Tcz file and maybe that one can be made into an sfs and used in puppy?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 09:23    Post_subject:  

Yes Nooby - you are derailing the thread. Why cannot you ask your own questions on a new thread rather than going off topic? You've done it on the sfs.exe thread as well.

To answer this one I think you might consider sfs tcz linker here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47976

Of course all these guys (shinobar, goingnuts, seaside) creating new 'on the fly' loaders might also consider whether they can be extended to load tcz files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 12:21    Post_subject:  

Thanks ICPUG, you are right. Thanks for the link to sfs/Txz thing. I did refer to that one but did not remember enough to really get it.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 03:35    Post_subject:  

0.6 fails on Puppeee because AUFS is built into the kernel rather than built as a module. Sfs_load assumes that means we're using Unionfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 08:25    Post_subject: aufs or unionfs  

jemimah wrote:
0.6 fails on Puppeee because AUFS is built into the kernel rather than built as a module. Sfs_load assumes that means we're using Unionfs.

I see. i guess i can manage...

For the test on pupeee, rewrite line 775 in /usr/sbin/sfs_load:
Code:
AUFS=$(lsmod | grep -w '^aufs')

to:
Code:
AUFS=aufs

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 19:16    Post_subject:  

Yeah I figured that out no problem - you really don't even need to worry about it - I just thought I'd mention it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 21:59    Post_subject:  

Just finished testing 0.6 and it's working very well. I think it would be good to tell the user that they have reached the system SFS limit when you run out of loop devices, instead of just saying that mounting the SFS failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 10:03    Post_subject: sfs_load-0.7  

jemimah wrote:
I think it would be good to tell the user that they have reached the system SFS limit when you run out of loop devices

UPDATE: sfs_load-0.7
11 Feb 2011 v0.7: fix was not update menu in some case, see aufs even with no module(thanks to jemimah), add new loop device

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 01:35    Post_subject:  

I was able to create one extra loop device, but when I tried to create the second one I get the error "failed to create new loop-back device". I can look in /dev and see that the new device was in fact created successfully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 02:03    Post_subject: extra loop device  

jemimah wrote:
I was able to create one extra loop device, but when I tried to create the second one I get the error "failed to create new loop-back device". I can look in /dev and see that the new device was in fact created successfully.

sfs_load is checking if it is available by the following command:
Code:
losetup -f

I am not sure how many loop-back devices are allowed on the system and how to change the limit...

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 03:07    Post_subject:  

The actual limit is hard coded in the init script. I bumped the limit in Puppeee up to 11 for testing.

I think it should work fine to just create the loop device and mount point. If there are more SFSes in the list than the limit in the init script, it will just ignore the extra ones.

I'm not sure what maximum number of branches you can have in AUFS is. I guess lighthousepup supports 40 SFSes or something so the limit must be pretty high.


"losetup -f" returns nothing on my system after I run out of loop devices. I'm not sure what's going wrong exactly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 12:05    Post_subject:  

Experimenting with this a bit, I've found that SFS's are not just a simple substitute for PETS. Sometimes they don't work. For example, I tried making an SFS for TOR network-browser. The PET loads the network, while the SFS only partially loads it. Making a PET for directory of gmail phone plugins worked fine, but the SFS of the same directory didn't (they weren't seen in gmail). There may be a good reason to limit the number of AUFS loops. Perhaps there's something I'm not doing to make them work better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 14:17    Post_subject:  

Think I see what's going on. The PET overrides the whiteouts and loads all the files, while the SFS doesn't.

Edit: There was something like "initrd/pup_rw/opt/.wh..wh..opq" that prevented plugins in /opt from loading with the SFS, although the PET loaded. Worked after deleting. (there were also a few more that need deleting).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 16:01    Post_subject:  

The solution I've come up with is a script that gets rid of whiteouts. I'll have to see if there's any problems with it, but it's enabling my SFS to load and haven't run into any problems.

USAGE: whiteouts [ -d ] ## just view them, or delete with option "-d". Whiteouts to leave alone are listed in script.

Code:

 #!/bin/ash -a

display() {
[ -f /tmp/whiteouts ] &&  rm /tmp/whiteouts
 touch /tmp/whiteouts
 find /initrd/pup_rw | grep "\.wh" >>/tmp/whiteouts
}

if [ "$1" == "-d" ]; then
  [ -f /tmp/white-del ] && rm /tmp/white-del
   touch /tmp/white-del
display
cat /tmp/whiteouts | sed '
/\.wh..wh.orph/ d
/\.wh..wh.plnk/ d
/\.wh.windowmanager.openbox/ d
/\.wh..wh.aufs/ d ' >>/tmp/white-del
  ## remove files
 while read line; do
   rm $line
 done < /tmp/white-del
  rm /tmp/white-del
 exit
fi

display
cat /tmp/whiteouts
rm /tmp/whiteouts
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0875s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0152s) ][ GZIP on ]