Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Jan 2018, 04:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Can Puppy run in Windows as an exe?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
pyrestriker

Joined: 01 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 01 Feb 2011, 17:34    Post subject:  Can Puppy run in Windows as an exe?  

This may be the wrong topic area (mods feel free to move this where need be if I missed another more relevant area that this could go.) Basically, I'd like to be able to have a version of a Puppy Install that can install to a USB drive, AND not have to be rebooted to access it. This would be achieved by means of adding in an Autorun, and a .exe file that would launch the puppy desktop, and gain access to the filesystem. My current school has network restrictions that won't let you restart the computer to boot into another OS, and all of the accounts are limited... So no portable VMware or Virtualbox allowed (though vmware is installed. Oddly enough.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Feb 2011, 18:46    Post subject:  

I know too little but could Qemu do such things? I don't remember.

Ulteo can do something like that but must be installed first so that does not work does it?

I think you have to use the wmware then. To start up a puppy or any other linux in that virtual box. But maybe it does not allow you to do much?

As I get it an OS usually don't allow what you look for. Unless you reboot in some way and that was taken away.

I think you ask for something that can not be done in Ms Windows?
Unless that Qemu thing works without rebooting?

I did ubuntu on Qemu around 2006 or 2007 and again 2008 and every time I could not stand how incredibly slow it was.

Maybe if is faster with a small puppy iso?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 09:41    Post subject:  

Guys I am not good at OS and Windows. Does Qemu do what he wants. I used it way back in 2007 so I don't remember
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2638

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 13:18    Post subject:  

Yes, qemu could do that. qemu is a 'machine emulator' which is available for windows or linux. It can 'boot' CD's or 'disk images'.
There is alsp something called 'colinux' which is more like what the OP describes. colinux is an altered kernel which runs as a windows 'exe' -so linux runs like an application under windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 13:43    Post subject:  

amigo thanks.

Then the OP need to get a Portable apps Qemu on an usb?
Did tehy allow usb? Or download it in a way that is okay with win and click on the exe and qemu start running and feed it the puppy iso?

I remember that Ubuntu on a 512MB RAM computer was almost so slow that one thought the computer had failed to do it.

Hopefully puppy is almost usable.

Remember that it could be so illegal to brake the schools rules that you get sacked from going to the school and future work could depend on the good degrees grades you get so only use it if you must.

Amigo the Co-linux was also used by Ulteo something I told you about but that one needs that one install things on the harddisk. I don't think one can install them without getting caught doing it and it require reboot to work most likely.

So Qemu is what he should use. Here is one thread about it
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=324121


Look at pendivelinux qemu too http://www.pendrivelinux.com/

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 14:10    Post subject:  

Oops sorry, most likely one need Admin rights to install it. At least the accelerator need that and without it it says it is very slow.

So go for the Wmware thing. They most likely allow that one because it allow them to let students play with any software inside the virtual environ and nothing else happen so wonder what it can be used for.

Can one at all save anything?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3137
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 19:41    Post subject:  

Erik Veenstra used to package puppy and qemu together for exactly this http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/qemupuppy/. But the latest version on his site was 2.17. I'm sure with a small hack someone can upgrade this to the latest puppy.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 20:26    Post subject:  

here is what that site says

Although KQEMU is a major improvement over plain QEMU-Puppy, it does have a couple of disadvantages:

* You need administrator rights in order to be able to load the KQEMU module.
* By loading the KQEMU module, you pollute the host machine. Even worse, you pollute its kernel, on a very low level. One of the base principles of QEMU-Puppy is to return the host machine unaffected.

So the accelerator is out of the question.

Would it not work almost as fast as normal if he install puppy on the WMware which they do allow.

He can save changes or files on internet. in gmail even. But a lot of sites do have free upload of pictures and texts and html and pdf and such.

As I remember the Qemu is very slow compared to wmware.

So he only make things more complicated.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3137
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 23:11    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Would it not work almost as fast as normal if he install puppy on the WMware which they do allow.
That's the price you pay if you don't have admin rights on your machine. Installing vmware will *definitely* require admin rights.

Quote:
As I remember the Qemu is very slow compared to wmware.
Not a fair comparison - when qemu is running with its accelerator, its speed is comparable to vmware.

All in all, I remember that when I was still part of that Sith clan, qemu-puppy was a transition for me to try and get familiar with puppy features and behaviour. Though I installed dual-boot, I can't always boot to puppy --- and qemu-puppy came in handy. It also came in handy for use in internet cafes etc where you obviously don't have admin rights to install any software.

Of course you can't expect native speed with qemu (without the acceleration module), but in a reasonably fast machine, it's not too bad. It's still much faster than bochs (another FOSS x86 emulation software).

EDIT: I just read that the OP has vmware already installed. Yes, I agree - use it then, don't worry about qemu etc. But if the OP wants to use this outside his/her student's machine (e.g. to internet cafe etc) - then yes consider qemu.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 03:22    Post subject:  

If one know how to use VirtualBox can one use that knowledge on WMware?


http://wiki.tinycorelinux.com/VirtualBox

Quote:
This tutorial emphasizes on Safety. There is very very little chance of corrupting your hard-drive or existing Operating System. For example, VBoxManage commands restricts write to only the new partition.


And if I get it that one are virtual in the way that the School wants it.

So he can only save the changes on that virtual hard disk.

Does that not mean that that get ditched when he log out?

So he can only save the changes in the cloud? Does WMware allow that?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3137
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 10:59    Post subject:  

VirtualBox installation requires admin rights. Thus we're back to square one.

I just tried the latest qemu on Windows - it's extremely slow Shocked I must find my old qemu for Windows copy - I remember it was much faster on a slower machine a couple of years ago ...

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 11:39    Post subject:  

Guys, I truly am a newbie but am I really wrong here?

The IT guys at his school obviously have tested Wmware enough to trust the students to use it.

So if he do the same thing in wmware as he would do in virtualbox then he can do everything one can do in such a sandbox. Which maybe is not much of damage or productive in the sense of savingthings to take home but he can most likely upload to a server outside of the school unless they stop such by some filter function?

So I would take an ordinary puppy and install it on the wmware at school and learn how to use it.

Easy as pancake almost.
But sure I can be wrong. But it is much faster than a qemu as far as I remember.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0742s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]