Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 19:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
How to connect a high res monitor to my laptop? (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2039
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 06:19    Post subject:  How to connect a high res monitor to my laptop? (Solved)
Subject description: Puppy won't go above 1280 x 800
 

Hi

I have a laptop emachines e620 from Acer and Puppy send video to the SUB D plug for external monitor but allow no better as 1280 x 800@60 or different resolution (with the resolution changer I can choice 1280 x 720@59.9 but not higher; in this case the external screen become completely black and the screen of the laptop is not good any more: to short from top to bottom) so I see only on the external high resolution screen the top part of the screen of the laptop screen without the bottom bar with Menu and other important and usefull symbols.

And I can't commute to high resolution as it is possible in for ex. in Debian or Ubuntu.

What is to do in Puppy to change it?

bye

Last edited by oui on Tue 08 Feb 2011, 14:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10930
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 10:11    Post subject:  

I'm going to take a wild guess, that the video chip in your laptop is not capable of going higher than 1280 x 800 x 60.

Do laptop manufacturers normally put video chips in their laptops that are capable of much higher resolution than the display in the laptop? I guess they might, since they put connectors for external displays in their laptops.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4279

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 06:00    Post subject:  

Maybe plugging it in and pressing Fn+F8 ( or your laptops equivalent to switch to external monitor) before you press Enter at the boot screen? All laptops are different, so item hard to say.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2039
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 14:47    Post subject:  

Hi

‘It was Puppy’

solution?

install fatdog and install the special xorg.conf for new hardware not being in consideration under puppy Wink

my resolution is now 1900 x 1080!

in fatdog

salut
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10930
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 16:29    Post subject:  

It was only a wild guess. Laughing

Glad you figured it out, and thanks for telling us how you did it. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0437s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0029s) ][ GZIP on ]