Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 16:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.0.4 (5.1 RC)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 02:40    Post subject: 502beta problem with 500>502 upgrade  

Found a problem with a 500 frugal to 502 upgrade.

Booted with 502 cdrom on my test box with wary5 (frugal)
it found the savefile for 500 and I selected it
it said it wanted to copy the 502 files across to the savefile partition
I said yes
it said it was doing so, cdrom flashed for a while and hd light also flashed
it said it had upgraded the savefile

I tried a few apps, worked ok

rebooted, removed cd, expecting it to come into 502 when I picked the wary5 menu item
it didn't, said savefile was last used by 502, do I want to upgrade to 500
I said no and it started in ram
checked out directory for upgrades, nothing visable, nothing found on a search

rebooted from cd
it started ok as 502
did a check and then search for 502 files
nothing found! Crying or Very sad

Manually copied the 502 files across to the 500 frugal partition (moved the 500 files to a 500 subdir first)
rebooted, removed cdrom
all came up ok as 502

also noticed a mix of hda1-10, sr0-1, sda-b for devices visable.

over to you I think


will download and test 503 tomorrow am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 07:05    Post subject: ide and sata  

all of my HDD and CDD ide(wary-502 did not detect) and sata are detected with wary-503. Smile
_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 11:52    Post subject:  

Inspiron 700m; full install.

Like the other versions after Wary 098, this one also has a very
long usb-pcmcia loading count when booting.
It can cause the cursor to freeze on occasion.

Classic network wizard would not make wpa connection;
sns did.

Right click on icons still has menu pop-up glitch on occasion.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 760
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 12:43    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:

Right click on icons still has menu pop-up glitch on occasion.


Yes, I see this occasionally.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 12:54    Post subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
rjbrewer wrote:

Right click on icons still has menu pop-up glitch on occasion.


Yes, I see this occasionally.


In relation to an earlier post you made:

With Htop, I find Quirky 1.3 using 35mb ram, while Wary uses 90mb ram
at idle.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Last edited by rjbrewer on Thu 10 Feb 2011, 09:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 14:11    Post subject:
Subject description: Smartlink modem woes
 

With my Smartlink 56k PCI modem I can set it up with the connection wizard but it will not dial out, and the modem will not be recognized on the next boot.

Steps:

Used the Connection wizard to set it up as ttySL0. Success

Ran Efax:
Code:
Print job received on socket
efax-0.9a: 12:37:44 opened /dev/ttySL0
efax-0.9a: 12:37:46 using /dev/slamr0 in class 1
efax-0.9a: 12:37:46 dialing Txxxxxxxx
efax-0.9a: 12:37:46 Error: dial command failed
efax-0.9a: 12:37:46 Warning: unexpected response "ERROR"


Tried rebooting and running Efax again:
Code:
Print job received on socket
efax-0.9a: 12:39:33 Error: can't open serial port /dev/ttySL0: No such file or directory


Ran the connection wizard and tested ttySL0. No modem detected. Chose Erase, then Exit.
Rebooted and ran the wizard again. Modem sets up as ttySL0 again.
Code:
# modem-stats -c "ATZ" /dev/ttySL0

OK
#
# modem-stats -c "ATZ &FE&D2S7=120 &C0 M1L0" /dev/ttySL0

OK
#


Ran WvDial:
Code:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2S11=55+FCLASS=0
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2S11=55+FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATX3DTxxxxxxx
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATX3DTxxxxxxx
NO CARRIER
ERROR
--> No Carrier!  Trying again.
--> Sending: ATX3DTxxxxxxx
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATX3DTxxxxxxx
NO CARRIER
ERROR
etc. forever


Rebooted and tried Efax again
Code:
Print job received on socket
efax-0.9a: 12:46:22 Error: can't open serial port /dev/ttySL0: No such file or directory


I went through this several times and even blacklisted the acm(?) module and unticked Check for Carrier with no luck at all.

Boot 4.12 on the same machine and faxing works.

Suggestions please?

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 19:17    Post subject: SSH in Wary?  

I asked this earlier on another thread and got blank stares. I'm using my local LAN and each PC is in the same subnet.
Quote:
Question: Is there a document or write up for Puppy so that one can SSH into it and get an Xwindow Puppy desktop?

If not, anyone know how to go about doing this if you have 2 Puppy PCs running? Want to SSH from one I'm sitting at into the other?
I Have never done this for anything other than console session on any Linux. So, I asking how to start and ...

Thanks in advance

Also All of my WARY tests, thus far, have been without issues. I have tested both, Iintel based laptop and 2 desktops, intel as well as AMD. All PCs have at least a 1GB on memory. System Memory reports just over 150MB of use, while CPU utilitzation idles at 1-7%.

Is Jeminah's Network Utility included in WARY?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Thu 10 Feb 2011, 14:24; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5757
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 19:41    Post subject:  

Another frugal install of 503, this time on my old P3 test box. No problems....everything working well on initial boot. Added Mesa, Firefox 3.6.13 and Htop.....all good.


VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 503

Chip description:
Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 GMCH [Graphics Memory Controller Hub]
Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#

Here's "free" with a couple of tab open in Firefox....
# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 254352 242588 11764 0 21572
Swap: 1020088 0 1020088
Total: 1274440 242588 1031852
#
-Computer-
Processor : Pentium III (Coppermine)
Memory : 254MB (110MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.50
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 09 Feb 2011 05:37:27 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa GLX Indirect
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801AA-ICH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5757
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 21:34    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Wary 503 frugal install on my main box.Everything working on initial boot. Installed Firefox 3.6.13 and Mesa....no problems.
# glxgears
1220 frames in 5.1 seconds = 240.373 FPS
1180 frames in 5.0 seconds = 235.738 FPS
1140 frames in 5.0 seconds = 227.012 FPS
1240 frames in 5.0 seconds = 245.635 FPS
1200 frames in 5.1 seconds = 236.702 FPS
1220 frames in 5.1 seconds = 240.174 FPS
1140 frames in 5.1 seconds = 225.064 FPS


Switched from Mesa to the new Nvidia driver.


VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 503

Chip description:
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

Driver used by Xorg:
nvidia

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
# glxgears
16888 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3377.600 FPS
16854 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3370.800 FPS
16542 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3308.400 FPS
16681 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3336.200 FPS
17168 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3433.600 FPS
17346 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3469.200 FPS
16817 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3363.400 FPS

Nice driver. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2098
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 22:01    Post subject: Wary Puppy 5.0.3-beta
Subject description: nvidia graphics
 

I'm running live with a save file.
On first boot using probe to set the video driver at 1024x768:
# glxgears

5020 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1003.730 FPS
5040 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1004.894 FPS
5040 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1004.704 FPS
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 503

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: GT216 Board - 0682vb12 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

Sound is working and I used the network manager to set up the wireless
network.


...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
I downloaded and installed nvidia-260.19.12-k2.6.32.28-w5.pet, exited
to the prompt and entered nvidia-xconfig then xwin.


# glxgears
25039 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5007.800 FPS
32426 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6485.200 FPS
32416 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6483.200 FPS
32424 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6484.800 FPS
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 503

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: GT216 Board - 0682vb12 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
#card0driver

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
Computer
Processor 2x Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.50GHz
Memory 2854MB (143MB used)
Operating System Puppy Linux 0.50
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Wed 09 Feb 2011 08:41:58 PM EST
Display
Resolution 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer GeForce GT 220/PCI/SSE2
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation
Multimedia
Audio Adapter HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
Audio Adapter HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 220/PCI/SSE2
Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 260.19.12
Direct Rendering Yes

It's working well on this pc.
nexuiz-thumb.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   34.86 KB
 Viewed   1747 Time(s)

nexuiz-thumb.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 00:03    Post subject: wary503 plus followup re last message  

started the test box with a 503 cd

it said it wanted to do a 502 to 503 upgrade

I let it

it also wanted to copy the puppy.sfs over to the same location as the savefile and I said yes.

let it start up and was ok.

stopped my testing process here.

I wanted to find where the new puppy file was being placed Question

Eventually found it. What it is doing is creating a new zxxxxxxx directory for 503, copying the 503's zdrv.sfs AND puppy.sfs here **NOT** as it says it's doing (copying to the same location as the savefile).

copied manually to the correct place and rebooted

everything came up ok on reboot.

so that is the problem Exclamation

shutdown for now.

Will go back to my testing processes later today, update this message if necessary.

regards
scsijon

ps zdrv hash is correct.

pps @BarryK for his pc problem, from a vague past memory, doesn't the default setting for memtest actually start testing at either 256K or 640K and work upwards, I seem to remember that you need to tell it to actually test below that, and different again for the bottom ram blocks, and this had to be done from a floppy start, it couldn't do these low areas from a hd start. Another thing to check is if the two "directories" on the hd have the same info, I do remember having a 214 install giving random problems when the second directory was out of sync to the first as linux will use the second copy in r/o mode if the first copy is "in use".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CHLee

Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 44
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 00:21    Post subject:  

For my three PC hardware, the 2.6.32.28 kernel is better. At least, my two USB wifi work good(rtl8187 and zd1211rw).
In the 2.6.31.14 kernel(wary500), these two USB wifi could not connect to my wireless router(WEP).
Thank very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 07:53    Post subject:  

The strange case of the disappearing icon has popped up. Heard about it before, but this is the first time I've seen it:
- liveCD, right click on Sr0, icon disappears
???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 11:43    Post subject:
Subject description: Smartlink modem
 

Regarding my problem with the smartlink modem not being recognized after a reboot, /dev/pts/0 is not being recreated at boot. The /dev/modem symlink is there.

Still no luck dialing out.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1419
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 15:19    Post subject: 503 solves sticky cursor  

I reported earlier in the thread that I had problems with a sticky / jerky cursor under wary502 on my Thinkpad.

Pleased to report that this has gone away with 503 which runs AOK on both my ancient Thinkpad with just 196MB ram and also on my HP550 laptop. Haven't got sound on the Thinkpad yet but that is a common problem.

Cheers
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1088s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]