Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 17:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.1.1 Final
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 06:50    Post_subject:  

Hello Barry

Thanks for your quick reply.

I did as you suggested,
and copied: /etc/modules/DOTconfig-K2.6.31.14-UNIPROC-IDE-25JAN2011
to /usr/src/linux-2.6.31.14/.config
Then exited to prompt and did:
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux-2.6.31.14
make clean
make prepare


then i did:
Code:
cd /
sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-173.14.28-pkg1.run


Unfortunately the result (and messages) was exactly the same as described in my previous post. Sad

Do you have any other suggestions i could try. Question

If required, i could start with a fresh frugal install and re-run the steps above,
then attach any log files you think may help sort out the problem.

Just let me know what log files you may need.

Thanks again
CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 07:24    Post_subject: Re: Seamonkey 2.0.12 doesn't work
Sub_title: SM&FF working fine with Quirky-130
 

FeodorF wrote:
Has anybody got Seamonkey 2.0.12 running on Wary 5xx (k-2.6.xx.xx) ?

Firefox 3.6.14 is also a no go with Wary 5xx

In Quirky 130 SM&FF just working fine.


Regards, FeodorF



update about SM and FF

Puppy Wary 5.1.1 K-2.6.31.14 and Puppy Wary 5.1.1 K-2.6.32.28 are missing the following files:

for Firefox-3.6.15 it is:
/usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3.4.0 and its link /usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3

for Seamonkey-2.0.14 it is:
/usr/lib/libdbus-glib-1.so.2.1.0 and its link /usr/lib/libdbus-glib-1.so.2

Those files can be found f.e. on your Quirky-120.iso CD/DVD.

Note:
If you start Firefox-3.6.15 you will be asked to update the Adobe Flash Player to version 10.2.152.27 - if you do so you will get a little surprise. Trio’s Youtopup wont work. The Flash Player is to be blamed - the video stream is put to /tmp in a different way now! Dam. !!

Regards,
FeodorF
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cowboy


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 247
Location: North America; the Western Hemisphere; Yonder

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 13:40    Post_subject: wary sound issue  

I think I'm experiencing the same sound issue reported by "zekebaby" earlier in this thread. Intel soundcard, after creation of new savefile, sound and sound tray icon are fine for about 5-10 boots. Then, the tray icon disappears and I have no sound. Tried running alsawizard to no avail.

I can still see "retrovol" in the multimedia menu, but when I click on it, nothing happens. Also tried what seemed to work for zekebaby, deleting /dev/snd, and rebooting, but did not seem to work.

Don't seem to have this particular sound issue with either 4.3.1, or with LuPu 5.1.1 or LuPu 5.2.

_________________
"Everywhere is within walking distance, if you have the time." - Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 14:30    Post_subject:  

If I have a window open in Wary 51, and then move it too close to the edge of the screen, it pops over to the other side. Is there a way to prevent this? Puppy 431 doesn't do this, and I much prefer it that way.
BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dean


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 47
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 15:07    Post_subject:  

ravensrest wrote:
If I have a window open in Wary 51, and then move it too close to the edge of the screen, it pops over to the other side. Is there a way to prevent this? Puppy 431 doesn't do this, and I much prefer it that way.
BS


I stop this by downgrading to jwm 492

_________________
------------
HP 510 Notebook CPU 1.4 GHz Pentium M / RAM 2GB / 15.4" WXGA BrightView 1280 x 800 / 40GB HD / OS Manjaro 0.8.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 17:00    Post_subject:  

Hmm, just a few dozen questions here.

1) if one version of jwm does it and another doesn't, wouldn't this likely be a configurable feature?
2) how might one configure it?
3) how do I know what version I am currently running?
4) where does one find the appropriate software to install if 492 is to be run instead?
5) how does one install same?

There are various pets available in the repositories for jwm, but they seem to be labeled 1.0, 2.0, etc. There are also separate pets for jwmconfig. What all it needed and how does one install?

I have read the online material on configuring jwm, but see nothing obvious in it that relates to this particular problem. I edit my .jwmrc file quite a bit on occasion, but I've never seen anything in it that would prevent the flip-flop of the window.

It seems wrong to install the latest distro and then deliberately retrograde it. Is there not another fix?

Thanks,
BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zekebaby


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun 13 Mar 2011, 12:00    Post_subject: Re: wary sound issue  

cowboy wrote:
I think I'm experiencing the same sound issue reported by "zekebaby" [snip] Also tried what seemed to work for zekebaby, deleting /dev/snd, and rebooting, but did not seem to work.

Try deleting the entire /dev directory structure before rebooting - that's what I do. Maybe there are some other sound card related devices installed by the driver needed by your particular card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1545

PostPosted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 05:42    Post_subject:  

I had a vexing but hopefully temporary problem with Wary last week, on my own machine; once, when I had about three or four apps open at the same time, my cursor disappeared and wouldn't work even though I could sometimes see where it was by its effect on the buttons of the apps I had open. A reboot cured this for the time being, but it'd be nice to solve it once and for all.

Best,

CP .

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS, Puppy Precise 5.71 Large, Muppy 008 and Puppy 3.00 Fire Hydrant Inferno.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 18 Mar 2011, 00:15    Post_subject: Bug in pfix=ram allocation of memory  

I have found an issue that needs the developers to review and explain with PUPs system setup on a RAM.
Seems that several of us are running 4GB RAM and PUPs are NOT using or reporting incorrectly.;

See this.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1052
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 00:12    Post_subject:  

barry, has said previously Embarassed (i got caught once before with firefox and the last wary) that dbus and dbus-glib aren't there by default. Pet's are available and can be found if you want them, at:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-wary5/

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 01:05    Post_subject: Re: Bug in pfix=ram allocation of memory  

gcmartin wrote:
I have found an issue that needs the developers to review and explain with PUPs system setup on a RAM.
Seems that several of us are running 4GB RAM and PUPs are NOT using or reporting incorrectly.;


All 32 bit Linux kernels (without PAE enabled) are limited to using about 3.2 to 3.4 Gb of ram ........minus reserved ram for onboard graphics, etc. It's a kernel limitation that applies to all distros...not just Puppy.
As an example, I just booted Ubuntu 10.10 in a box with 4 Gb ram.... it only showed 2.7 Gb ram .....the 3.2 minus 512 Mb for the graphics equals the 2.7 Gb that shows.
The solution is a PAE enabled kernel or run a 64 bit version.

See here
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/32-bit-os-and-4gb-memory-limit-707762/#post3458590

HTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seccolor

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 21 Mar 2011, 11:51    Post_subject: USB failure on Full Install
Sub_title: a USB Internet key is not recognized if booted on full install, it works normally on liveCD
 

I make a reference to post from Country Bumkin on March 1st "uSB Mouse failure on full install".

My ZTE MF627 3G usb modem is not recognized when I boot from a Wary 5.1.1 full install, but works perfectly if I boot from the liveCD.

When I run 'lsusb':
- in liveCD mode, I get the list of my two USB ports;
- in full install mode, the result is nil as there is no output at all and I'm back to the command line prompt.

It is well beyond my knowledge to understand what is happening, but I volunteer to perform any test you might suggest to troubleshoot this issue.

Regards,
seccolor
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Indy452


Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 10:47    Post_subject:  

Does anyone know why 5.1 won't recognize that a hard drive is installed?

Use an IBM A20P everything works out of the box great other than the fact that either 5.1 Wary or Lucid 5.2 see my hard drive....Gparted sees nothing when running live. Bug? Or is there a fix?

Thx...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Indy452


Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 10:48    Post_subject:  

whoops double post for some reason...sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
navegante

Joined: 16 Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Location: Montevideo

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 14:20    Post_subject: Pupsavefile corruption  

wary-511-k2.6.32.28.iso Old Toshiba laptop, no hdd, 256mb ram, pendrive 4gb. Pupsavefile corruption trouble on usb install, (sound icon dissapaired, Alsamixer gives input/output error). Corruption after a crash, a (barbarian) poweroff, fsck or no cause at all. I tried with both kind of upsavefiles, with the native usb installer, with the usb install of the generic installer, with unetbootin, tried to backup pupsavefile..... No solution for the corruption issue of the pupsavefile. I worked nearly a week on it (I had to achieve this).
Solved it with frugal install on ext3 partition and saving to filessystem, no pupsavefile. Installed Pupsaveconfig pet and configured it to save only manual, not even saving session by shutdown. 1gb of swap partition on the same pendrive for viewing online videos. It works fine, very fast and seems stable. Even after crashes, fsck or button-poweroff it works fine with no corruption.
Viewing Powerpoint slides only possible online, Libreoffice too heavy for this h.w., no working browser plugin, no decent working viewer for puppi, Wine + Powerpointviewer is too heavy for this h.w.

Only Puppi saved this h.w. from scrap, tried other Linux distros, Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, DSL, old and new, mimimal, maximal, .....didn´t work or were too slow. Best Puppi: Wary
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0983s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]