Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 07:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.1.1 Final
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 12 [178 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 10:30    Post subject: Re:requested testing k-2.6.32.28
Subject description: Sorry, No Trouble Found
 

FeodorF wrote:
Dear Barry,

do you want me to try with less RAM(768MB, 512MB or 256MB+SWAP-partition)?

Cheers, FeodorF


Oh, I forgot one thing to mention (in common) about CD size.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CD-ROM

I have two very old spare drives; only being able to address 650MB(74min).

If you would have a drive like this installed with your SiS board, that could create md5sum errors to. (But only if the CD is filled up to the max with data.)


Thanks for doing that 'md5sum' test. That just eliminates that possibility. My PC with SiS chips that returns incorrect md5sums must have a hardware fault I think.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 10:37    Post subject: Re: Recommendation for SFSs  

gcmartin wrote:
What is the official method for LIveDVD Warry users to employ the DEVX SFS?

If there is no "official" method, what is a recommended method for employing any SFS on LIveDVD?

Thanks in advance.


I presume that you mean "multisession DVD"?
You posted this question at my blog and I have replied there.

As far as live-CD or live-DVD, they work the same. Loading an SFS file is well documented.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 11:04    Post subject: Re: Alsa issues FIXED (woohoo!)  

zekebaby wrote:
A few of you have probably remember my saga with disappearing sound on my Toughbook CF-T2. Sound would always be detected on a new boot (no warysave) but disappear 5-10 reboots later. This never happens in Puppy 4.3.1 or wary 030, but happens in all warys starting with 051.

Something in Shinobar's latest post inspired me. To make a long story short, I began comparing warysave files that have sound with ones that don't and started selectively morphing one into the other till I found the difference that broke things.

The final solution was to delete the 'snd' directory in /dev at shutdown. For some strange reason, the sound card is detected differently some times, making the saved device nodes wrong.

I'm still poking around the alsa changes to try to find out what actually broke things between 030 and 051, but for now, wary is usable and I can finally move on from 4.3.1 and run bleeding-edge software one this circa-2001 machine.


zekebaby,
Thanks for figuring that out. I have posted about this at my blog:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02168

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 11:15    Post subject: SKIPLIST  

Barry wrote:

Quote:
I am so puzzled about this. I don't know how you can get a malformed last line.

/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit generates /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf at every bootup:

Code:
rm -f /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist*.conf
BLACKLISTVARS="`echo "$SKIPLIST" | tr '\-' '_' | tr ' ' '\n' | sed -e 's/^/blacklist /' | grep -v ' $'`"
echo "$BLACKLISTVARS" > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf


That grep -v ' $' should have removed that malformed line.

Well, the thing to check next is the SKIPLIST variable, you will find it in /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG
-- would you mind posting the content of that variable?


Here is the current contents of the SKIPLIST variable as requested:

Quote:
SKIPLIST="SKIPLIST=' nouveau arcfb cirrusfb cyber2000fb cyblafb hgafb neofb pm2fb s1d13xxxfb sstfb tdfxfb tridentfb vga16fb aty128fb atyfb radeonfb i810fb intelfb kyrofb nvidiafb rivafb savagefb sisfb btaudio es1371 i810_audio kahlua trident ub usbkbd usbmouse via82cxxx_audio rt2800usb rt2x00usb '"


This is the value shown with the pristine pup_save (as it originally was.). This seems to correctly show the 2 Ralink rtXXXX modules that I want to blacklist (at the end of the SKIPLIST line. Logical enough.

Seems OK to me now, but why would this get malformed in the first place - i.e. before the pup_save file was replaced with a fresh one? - Interesting! Hope this helps to lead to the solution. Let me know if you need anything else.
_________________

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 19:22    Post subject: Re: SKIPLIST  

tronkel wrote:
Barry wrote:

Quote:
I am so puzzled about this. I don't know how you can get a malformed last line.

/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit generates /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf at every bootup:

Code:
rm -f /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist*.conf
BLACKLISTVARS="`echo "$SKIPLIST" | tr '\-' '_' | tr ' ' '\n' | sed -e 's/^/blacklist /' | grep -v ' $'`"
echo "$BLACKLISTVARS" > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf


That grep -v ' $' should have removed that malformed line.

Well, the thing to check next is the SKIPLIST variable, you will find it in /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG
-- would you mind posting the content of that variable?


Here is the current contents of the SKIPLIST variable as requested:

Quote:
SKIPLIST="SKIPLIST=' nouveau arcfb cirrusfb cyber2000fb cyblafb hgafb neofb pm2fb s1d13xxxfb sstfb tdfxfb tridentfb vga16fb aty128fb atyfb radeonfb i810fb intelfb kyrofb nvidiafb rivafb savagefb sisfb btaudio es1371 i810_audio kahlua trident ub usbkbd usbmouse via82cxxx_audio rt2800usb rt2x00usb '"


This is the value shown with the pristine pup_save (as it originally was.). This seems to correctly show the 2 Ralink rtXXXX modules that I want to blacklist (at the end of the SKIPLIST line. Logical enough.

Seems OK to me now, but why would this get malformed in the first place - i.e. before the pup_save file was replaced with a fresh one? - Interesting! Hope this helps to lead to the solution. Let me know if you need anything else.
_________________


Have you posted this exactly as it is in the file? It should be:

Quote:
SKIPLIST=' nouveau arcfb cirrusfb cyber2000fb cyblafb hgafb neofb pm2fb s1d13xxxfb sstfb tdfxfb tridentfb vga16fb aty128fb atyfb radeonfb i810fb intelfb kyrofb nvidiafb rivafb savagefb sisfb btaudio es1371 i810_audio kahlua trident ub usbkbd usbmouse via82cxxx_audio rt2800usb rt2x00usb '


What you have posted is malformed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 20:24    Post subject: Re: Some woof cleanup nits  

rerwin wrote:
Barry,
To remove the residue from my alternative implementation of mode switching, please remove the following files from woof:
- /etc/udev/rules.d/40-usb_modeswitch.rules (an unneeded link)
- /lib/udev/usb_modeswitch.sh (obsolete)
- /usr/sbin/pusbmodeswitch
- /usr/sbin/pusbmodeswitch_adapt

In my testing of wary 5.1.1, I see that it does not check my USB flash drives for being ready. Puppy does not display the "usb-storage" text after "usb", in the "waiting for modules" line during bootup. When I substitute for:
Code:
if [ "`cat /tmp/pup_event_backend/pup_event_module_devpath_log* | grep 'usb_storage'`" != "" ];then #see pup_event_backend_modprobe
the statement:
Code:
if [ "`cat /sys/bus/usb/devices/*/modalias | grep -m 1 'ic08'`" != "" ];then #110225 usb-storage modalias interface fields are ic08isc06ip50, if needed.
The text always appears, implying that the check was made for the the USB devices being ready. This seems a more direct way of determining whether to check for the readiness of USB storage devices.

Thanks.
Richard

Thanks, I have deleted those files.

The test for usb_storage seems ok to me as it is. For most PUPMODEs, usb-storage.ko has been loaded in the initrd and the wait for scan already done. Hence you will not get the "usb-storage" message at bootup.

However, in the case of a full hd installation, no initrd, then when pup_event_backend_modprobe loads usb-storage.ko it also logs that to file, then that test in rc.sysinit will test as true and the wait for scan complete will occur.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 21:10    Post subject: Re: Wary Puppy 5.1.1 Final
Subject description: lxterminal
 

Billtoo wrote:
lxterminal-0.1.9-i686.pet is a terminal emulator with tabs and can be
configured with various font styles and sizes,transparent background,
etc.
It needs vte-0.26.2-i686.pet installed as well or it won't run.


Billtoo,
Thanks for that. I have announce them on my blog:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02169

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 21:25    Post subject: Re: Wary Puppy 5.1.1 Final
Subject description: lxterminal
 

BarryK wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
lxterminal-0.1.9-i686.pet is a terminal emulator with tabs and can be
configured with various font styles and sizes,transparent background,
etc.
It needs vte-0.26.2-i686.pet installed as well or it won't run.


Billtoo,
Thanks for that. I have announce them on my blog:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02169


You're welcome, sorry that I didn't do a better job on the desktop file though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 03:43    Post subject:  

Barry wrote:

Quote:
Have you posted this exactly as it is in the file? It should be:

Quote:
SKIPLIST=' nouveau arcfb cirrusfb cyber2000fb cyblafb hgafb neofb pm2fb s1d13xxxfb sstfb tdfxfb tridentfb vga16fb aty128fb atyfb radeonfb i810fb intelfb kyrofb nvidiafb rivafb savagefb sisfb btaudio es1371 i810_audio kahlua trident ub usbkbd usbmouse via82cxxx_audio rt2800usb rt2x00usb '


What you have posted is malformed.


Yes, that was exactly the contents of the SKIP variable as it appears on my system. So it does in fact seem malformed (contrary to what I previously thought). The contents of SKIP on my system do not match your version (the correct one). So something is amiss there.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 03:52    Post subject:  

Quote:
I have two very old spare drives; only being able to address 650MB(74min).

Independent of the md5 issue, I have not found any drive old or new or any 'Linux' utility (Brasero, Xfburn, etc) that will reliably blank and/or re-burn 650Mb CD-RW s. Traxdata samples seem especially prone. Most of these discs have already been used successfully under earlier, much earlier, versions of a range of Linux distros, probably including Puppy back as far as series 1. In many cases, these can be fixed by running Nero under W98 ! Some of them were successfully restored using a trial Linux version of Nero, but the trial period ran out.

Progress: One step forward, two steps....?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 07:39    Post subject: mplayer and ffmpeg from Wary-0.3 to Wary-5.1.1 in i586  

I like Wary-511, it's great but mplayer and ffmpeg don't work on i586. On the other hand there was good (for i586) mplayer/ffmpeg in Wary-0.3. Is it possible to install somehow mplayer/ffmpeg from Wary-0.3 into Wary-5.1.1? Is there PETs maybe.
Solved: downloaded ffmpeg-2010-06-14.tar.bz from Barry's site, unpacked and made pet (without source files). After installing this package into Wary5.1.1 both mplayer and pmusic work on i586.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4362
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 15:56    Post subject: Problems: drag and drop from screen to screen from AbiWord  

Wary has many good things going for it. I have found one annoying problem that I MAY have reported earlier.

When I create a doc in Abiword and try to drag the screen's contents to some forums open in SeaMonkey, I am getting incomplete drag and drops. This is particularly annoying but, I am unsure about how to trap to provide additional useful information for resolution.

There also have been issues resulting from my drag to Geany and trying to save it. This gives me refusal messages from Geany about the characters in the file(s).

One character that comes to mind is the quote character (") where some of the websites just flat won't allow the drag-and-drop transfer.

I don't know if this is a clue, but on a completely different problem, here, it MAY HINT as what's wrong in WARY and ABIWORD. If this helps, please address this in WOOF and future WARYs.

Sometimes, we cut back so much in efforts to make things small, that we negatively affect the behavior of applications within the OS. i understand.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 20:56    Post subject: Re: Problems: drag and drop from screen to screen from AbiWord  

gcmartin wrote:

When I create a doc in Abiword and try to drag the screen's contents to some forums open in SeaMonkey, I am getting incomplete drag and drops. This is particularly annoying but, I am unsure about how to trap to provide additional useful information for resolution.

There also have been issues resulting from my drag to Geany and trying to save it. This gives me refusal messages from Geany about the characters in the file(s).

One character that comes to mind is the quote character (") where some of the websites just flat won't allow the drag-and-drop transfer.


Maybe some or all of the problems you are documenting is just something to do with the code page/Encodings the application is set up to use. For example, by default Geany (as seen in Edit menu > Preferences > Files) is installed to use Encodings: Western (ISO-8859-1). I have a feeling (but could well be wrong) that I've read somewhere that changing that to Unicode (UTF-8) is necessary for some character sets to be recognised correctly. Hopefully someone who knows more about such matters will comment.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 23:37    Post subject: Re: Problems: drag and drop from screen to screen from AbiWord  

mcewanw wrote:
Maybe some or all of the problems you are documenting is just something to do with the code page/Encodings the application is set up to use. For example, by default Geany (as seen in Edit menu > Preferences > Files) is installed to use Encodings: Western (ISO-8859-1). I have a feeling (but could well be wrong) that I've read somewhere that changing that to Unicode (UTF-Cool is necessary for some character sets to be recognised correctly. Hopefully someone who knows more about such matters will comment.

The encoding setting in geany is the bane of my life. (Well, not quite, but you know what I mean.)

Often I copy something from a web page into geany, edit it, then try to save to a file and it refuses because of encoding conflicts. So I have to tediously go through the document, editing out weird characters and typing in approximations. For example, I have to replace sloping apostrophes with the vertical one on my keyboard; replace a longer hyphen with the one on my keyboard, and replace a character consisting of 3 adjacent dots with 3 characters each comprising a single dot, and so on. This is a real PITA.

I have tried various encodings, via GEANY > Document > Set Encodings but when I find one that works it doesn't seem to stick for next time I use geany. Yes, I think UTF-8 might be the universal one to aim for.

I just tried your suggestion: Edit menu > Preferences > Files so will see if that sticks. I got rid of the bulky icons while I was there, too, don't need them taking up some of the editor window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar 2011, 00:30    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Upgrade for USB 3G modems!

If you have wary 5.1.1 (or 5.1 and you have applied the service_pack_wary-5.1-to-5.1.1.pet), I have created a Service Pack that upgrades usb-modeswitch to version 1.1.7. See my blog post:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02166

If you have a USB 3G modem, I would appreciate if you could test this Service Pack. I am particularly interested to get feedback on coldplugging versus hotplugging.


Until now I have been using the 5.1 CD + your zzz .pet. This has demanded hot booting.

Today I applied your 5.1 to 5.1.1 service pet, and also your 5.1.1 to 20110303 service pet.
I have switched off and find that upon switching on the USB modem is found if already plugged in (coldplugging). I have also switched off and find that upon switching on with the USB modem not plugged in, it is found if then plugged in (hotplugging). K3571-Z

This will make the start-up procedure just that much simpler. Thank you for your continued work with puppy, Barry.

Quote:
Note that if your 3G modem uses the 'hso.ko' kernel module, use Wary with the 2.6.32.28 kernel. I think that hso.ko is broken in the 2.6.31.14 kernel (?)

I have no idea what my modem uses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 12 [178 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1262s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]