Smartlink PCI card modem woes; I'm stuck

Booting, installing, newbie
sma7769

Smartlink PCI card modem woes; I'm stuck

#1 Post by sma7769 »

Total newbie, well almost to linux. I have an internal PCI smartlink modem can't remember chipset but it is on the compatible list. This modem installs and works with Knoppix & Linspire, it also worked with the live Puppy CD.
Now I have managed to load the Puppy to the HDD boots up great, installing modem same process (which was present during installation). Restarting etc, etc. tried install direct from the web, and extracted file from Smartlink web site (local install) with the same result.
It does not work, the ttySLO initially says failure, after country and PCI selection it shows success, and installed on IRQ= (which doesn't 'feel' right. Shouldn't that be a #) Anyhow, after rebooting etc, the modem now looks to be installed. GKdial come up when connecting, connection lost on all 3 configuration (PPP, CHAP etc). Wvdial cannot even find the modem. Xeznet - gives a PPPd failure. The Xeznet is the one I was able to dial out and surf the net on with the live CD. Only thing that has changed here is the Puppy now lives and boots from the HDD, boots on /dev/hdda1 there are no 'other' OS installed, although there is a /dev/hdd3 just a blank linux formatted partition. When installing I chose the hdd1 at all times.

Please can someone point me in the right direction to resolve this. I am sure it is something in a configuration somewhere as it worked before. And I don't know where to go to fix it.

I really love the idea of the linux based operating systems having worked with 'the other guys' for years. But have never liked the 'must have' this that or the other of their products, and restrictions on installation. Well you all now what I mean.