| Author |
Message |
cftgbnj
Joined: 28 Feb 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Tue 01 Mar 2011, 09:35 Post_subject:
anonymouspup Sub_title: a simple puppy remaster with polipo and tor added |
|
http://anonymouspup.webs.com/
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
P123
Joined: 05 Sep 2009 Posts: 89 Location: Northern Ireland, UK
|
Posted: Tue 01 Mar 2011, 14:08 Post_subject:
|
|
I didn't bother downloading this puplet because of - see screenshot!
| Description |
|

Download |
| Filename |
Screenshot.png |
| Filesize |
103.41 KB |
| Downloaded |
487 Time(s) |
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
_Mark_
Joined: 24 Sep 2009 Posts: 97
|
Posted: Tue 01 Mar 2011, 15:44 Post_subject:
|
|
So this is SPAM then?
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
nooby
Joined: 29 Jun 2008 Posts: 9476 Location: SwedenEurope
|
Posted: Tue 01 Mar 2011, 17:04 Post_subject:
|
|
Wow that was a smart way to do advertising. To lure us to a site where they have something else first or maybe the only thing there is?
On one forum me started they had a 15 posts before one where allowed to link to something. Could that be a good thing here too.
Even have a first time posters part of teh forum where people tell about themselves and we cheer them up and answer typical questions how we first heard of Puppy and for how long we have been using it and what we recommend and such to get to know them and then after them posted x times then they are allowed in other parts of the forum and can link to things?
Just my naive thoughts
_________________
I'm a noob so I use Google Search of Puppy Forum
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
CLAM01
Joined: 22 May 2010 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 19:52 Post_subject:
Spam or Not Spam? |
|
I clicked the link to see what it would lead to and was taken to http://anonymouspup.webs.com/
There I found the following:
"" * Home
ANONYMOUS BROWSING WITH anonymouspup
anonymouspup is a remaster of puppy linux 4.3.1
with polipo and tor added for anonymous browsing ...
You can download the iso from this link -
http://filesmy.com/0IM5-
Set your browser proxy settings for -
http - 127.0.0.1 : 8123
ssl proxy - 127.0.0.1 : 8123
socks host - 127.0.0.1 : 9050
from the menu start polipo, then start tor.....
Check your settings -
https://check.torproject.org/
Browse the web anonymously ...
""
The "Complete Survey to Continue" link comes with clicking the http://filesmy.com/0IM5- link.
If you close the survey you get:
""
anonymouspup.iso
Size: 108.40 MB
MD5: 84dcfa761b5d5fced86eedd2c5acd405
""
With two download options, "regular" and "premium"
Click "regular" download, you get a selection of surveys. close the pop-up window, you are back at the "anonymouspup.iso" download page, where you may select "regular" or "premium" again.
Selecting "premium" might get you a download, for a service-payment
Selecting a survey question, answering it and supplying personal information, (email address, name surface address, age, sex) might get you to download a version of puppy 4.3.1 that will allow you to surf the web, "anonymously", but no longer anonymous, since filling in all the required information gets you onto the auction-block, for spammers to buy.
I did not have a spare identity-virgin to throw into the volcano, so I was not allowed further. Someone with some spare personal info to sacrifice might find out more (web email servers are becoming more touchy, so these take more effort than experiments like this are worth)..
I assume completing the survey, or paying for "premium" service would start a legitimate download of a pretty much stock puppy 4.3.1:
Since a stock first issue puppy 431 weighed in at 105mb, the "anonymous" version offered would have about 3.5mb more.
I suspect anonymouspup is a way to sell either "premium" download subscriptions, or to obtain live victims to sell to advertisers and spammers.
A sweet little grift, if this is the case.
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
DPUP5520
Joined: 16 Feb 2011 Posts: 759
|
Posted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 20:33 Post_subject:
|
|
Saw this pop up in a few Puppy and PC related sites today and yesterday and the general consensus is that it is spam, no one that I know has actually attempted to try to download it.
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Terry H
Joined: 29 Mar 2009 Posts: 54 Location: Pickering, ON Canada
|
Posted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 22:17 Post_subject:
|
|
This is spam.
There are no details, just a spurious link from a member with 1 post only.
This thread should be deleted by the forum mods.
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
nooby
Joined: 29 Jun 2008 Posts: 9476 Location: SwedenEurope
|
Posted: Thu 03 Mar 2011, 07:32 Post_subject:
|
|
Yes we can not link to such. That would be wrong. Seriously!
_________________
I'm a noob so I use Google Search of Puppy Forum
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
|