Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 10:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Wireless connect w/Puppy 5.01
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
jhecht


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 142
Location: New York City (Manhattan)

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 12:56    Post_subject:  Wireless connect w/Puppy 5.01
Sub_title: cannot get (secured) wireless working - works under Win XP
 

Could someone point me toward a good how-to on how to get a recent Puppy release (5.01/5.2) to connect wirelessly with WEP security? I know the hardware works, as I can do so under Win XP. I'm booting Puppy from a CD.

I tried disabling my router's WEP security and all works! So it must be something in how I'm using the Puppy Network Wizard (the full one, not the simple one). But I can't figure out what (sigh). This is booting from Puppy 5.2 as a test - but likely results will be the same with 5.0.1

Here's the hardware:
*Acer Aspire 1 netbook w/Win XP loaded. External DVD drive for Puppy to boot from.
*ZyXEL X550N wireless/wired router. I'm running 128 bit WEP encryption, with a 13 character ASCII key.
*eth0=Realtek RTL1869
*wlan0=Atheros Communications AR5001 - had to boot Puppy 5.2 to get this info. Puppy 5.0.1 just identified it as AR5xxx.
*eth0 driver=r8169 loaded
*wlan0 driver=ath5k loaded

Puppy sees the two interfaces, eth0 and wlan0, and connects with no WEP, so I'm sure there's some setting or sequence I'm doing wrong - but what it is eludes me.

Thanks in advance! Smile

_________________
John Hechtman
www.zenarrow.com
jhecht@ix.netcom.com
"Computer help in NYC"
917 628 0192 - cell
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jhecht


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 142
Location: New York City (Manhattan)

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 14:35    Post_subject:  

Argh! Over 70 views and no leads? PLEASE, can someone help me out with this? Thanks!
_________________
John Hechtman
www.zenarrow.com
jhecht@ix.netcom.com
"Computer help in NYC"
917 628 0192 - cell
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 14:45    Post_subject:  

jhecht wrote:
Argh! Over 70 views and no leads? PLEASE, can someone help me out with this? Thanks!


Don't know if this tip will help; worth a try.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=809274163&t=51145

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 14:53    Post_subject:  

You'll want to get the HEX key, or maybe entering "s:<password>" into the passkey box will convince the tool to convert it for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3431
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 17:57    Post_subject:  

Use Pwireless2.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=468071#468071

//////////

My fix is a scrambled eggs approach.
Not recommended but did the job.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60702&start=705

" My Netgear router uses a hidden wireless network.

The name is split............. and I have 15 keys

and >> WPA2-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access 2 with Pre-Shared Key)

Acer Netbook >> eMachines eM350-21G16i


" pwireless2 >> did not see any wireless...Aghhhh!

OK! It is an Atheros 9285 wireless on this little Acer.

So I ran the older Network Wizard again.
Which of course picks up the Atheros.

Selected >> wlan0

Hit >> Test wlan0

Next I selected >> AutoDHCP >> Network Configuration of Successful
Hit >> Done

Exit the program

Run pwireless2 >> which now sees >> wlan0

Shows all wireless available >> shows 1 hidden wireless

Setup my network name >> blah blah >> hidden network

Type in password....and I'm on maybe 20 seconds later. "

""""""""

First you need to install and run pwireless2…

This is mandatory ....or it seems to fail.

Obviously >> pwireless2 ....will see nothing.

Next run the classic Network Wizard.

Select >> wlan0

Then select >> Test wlan0

Select >> AutoDHCP >>

A message then shows Network Configuration Successful

Hit >> Done

A further box pops up to keep this as the Default.

Do not do this. >> Close it. Do nothing.

Now run pwireless2 >> Select >> Connect >>
which now sees your >> wlan0

Because it now shows all wireless available >> it also shows any
hidden wireless networks.

Select what you think is your one

Type in your Network name of your >> hidden network

Type in your Password....and you should connect in 20 – 30 seconds later.


Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0520s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]