Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 20:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
wary 5.1.1 Cant shutdown?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 23 Mar 2011, 05:48    Post_subject:  

Mattrix,

A person who only knows Windows will have some kind of cultural adjustment to
make.

A person who knew Unix will feel right at home.

Our desktops are highly configurable and replaceable. They can be what we want
them to be.

I downloaded Puppy 215CE and booted it. A friend saw the desktop and marveled at
how beautiful and striking it was.

Try it for the price of a CD

Keyboard shortcuts:

To kill X server: leftAlt+leftCtrl+Backspace

The 'three finger salute' for rebooting: leftAlt+leftCtrl+Delete

Quote:
And to hit the kill switch to shut off the power supply.


If you mean what I think you mean, you will damage things. Not hardware, rather
software.

You need to be able to shut it off with proper commands, or at least get it to
the BIOS reboot level before using the Off Button.

Until then, you have a problem which needs to remain open and debugged.

Bruce

~

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mattrix

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 23 Mar 2011, 10:20    Post_subject:  

Quote:
If you mean what I think you mean, you will damage things.


No I dont! Poweroff shuts down puppy but doesnt shut down the ATX power supply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Mar 2011, 11:01    Post_subject:  

Hello mattrix

mattrix wrote:
Poweroff shuts down puppy but doesnt shut down the ATX power supply.


Have you tried adding "acpi=force" (without the quotes) to your GRUB entry for Wary ?

I am not familiar with Grub2, so i cannot give you specific instructions myself,
but hopefully the information in this link may help you

If you are unsure about anything, i suggest that you post in that thread and ask for help.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
phdzaps

Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 15:36    Post_subject: Re: wary 5.1.1 Cant shutdown?  

menu/shutdown/power-off computer
menu/shutdown/Exit to prompt
menu/shutdown/Reboot computer

What do I do now?


My solution:
I had a similar problem with wary 5.1.2 today.
What worked for me to fix it was to make the file
/etc/windowmanager contain jwm

After that all those work just fine. Something I did must have changed it. The shutdown programs in
/usr/bin sort-of look for the window manager so that they know what process to kill.
Hope this helps. It helped me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 16:13    Post_subject:  

The scripts to leave X are "wmexit" , "wmreboot" , "wmpoweroff" and "restartwm" . "which" command shows the location of executables .

Take a look into /tmp/xerrs.log for error messages .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 23:35    Post_subject: rc.shutdown written to  

Hopefully this is the best place to pose this question (if not, I am sorry Sad ) -

Using Lucid 5.2.8 on AMD Duron with 750 MB ram system

I've added a line to the rc.shutdown script at line 47 (just before "clear" and "exec 1> /dev/null 2>&1" lines) to shutdown xampp. it seems to work well, the problem is now when I reboot or poweroff the machine the system performs a filesystem check on boot. Confused

To clarify, system shuts down (shutting down xampp first) with no noticable changes/differences. Upon boot, the system performs a filesystem check (every time).

It's not much more than a hinderance Rolling Eyes at this point, but it does ssllloooowwwww the boot process as it also performs a filesystem check on the personal storage file.

Question is, does the line need to be placed somewhere else in the script? Should I place the line in each of the wm scripts? Is there a better way of doing this I have not found yet?

All help is appreciated Very Happy

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 23:53    Post_subject:  

You have an older computer that may have power management issues. Navigate to /boot/grub/menu.lst in ROX. Open the text file menu.lst, and add 'acpi=force' to the kernel boot parameters. Be sure to Save the edit before exiting.
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal acpi=force

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=671314#671314
EDIT: Sorry, CatDude, didn't see your post above, suggesting same.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 00:47    Post_subject:  

Thanks nubc,

I tried the code, but it didn't fix the problem; still does filesystem check at boot. Went back into rc.shutdown and moved the 'exec' line to after the "clear" and other code lines, got same result - filesystem check at boot. Commented out the 'exec' stopping xampp manually and rebooted - no filesystem check.

I am going to try "walking" the exec file down in rc.shutdown to see if I can find a place where it doesn't effect boot. after that, i guess i will try it in each of the wm scripts and see what happens.

Meantime, any more ideas/solutions are welcomed Very Happy

[update] So, placed the 'exec' line down to about line 93, just before the ". /etc/rc.d/functions4puppy" line and it seems to have helped. No more filesystem check. unless I find something different, i would say this one is solved. thanks for the assist!

E
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0637s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]