Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 19:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Full install: universal installer forgot initrd, sfs file.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
DavidMcCann

Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 20:36    Post subject:  Full install: universal installer forgot initrd, sfs file.  

I ran the installer and put Puppy on my "guest" partition. I didn't install grub, as I would be keeping the existing grub.

When I got to making an entry for Puppy, I found that the installer had only installed vmlinux: no initrd. I copied that and tried to boot Puppy: oops, no sfs file. Now I've copied that, all's well. But shouldn't the installer have done it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 20:48    Post subject: Re: Universal Installer
Subject description: Full install incomplete
 

DavidMcCann wrote:
I ran the installer and put Puppy on my "guest" partition. I didn't install grub, as I would be keeping the existing grub.

When I got to making an entry for Puppy, I found that the installer had only installed vmlinux: no initrd. I copied that and tried to boot Puppy: oops, no sfs file. Now I've copied that, all's well. But shouldn't the installer have done it?


Nope, not for a full install.

A full install doesn't use the sfs , see the screenie for the filesystem on a full install. The vmlinuz is located in the "boot" directory.
HTH.
full install filesystem.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.85 KB
 Viewed   1741 Time(s)

full install filesystem.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 20:52    Post subject:  

For a frugal install, the sfs, initrd.gz and vmlinuz are copied.See screenie again.This is a frugal install of Luci 257.
frugal install.png
 Description   
 Filesize   51.01 KB
 Viewed   1682 Time(s)

frugal install.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DavidMcCann

Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 10:37    Post subject:  

I've just made the experiment of removing the sfs file and attempting to boot into Puppy. I got

lupu_520.sfs not found
Dropping out to init-ramdisk console
/bin/sh: can't access tty

So it won't run without the sfs. Does this mean that when I asked for a full install I got a frugal one? And it certainly should have installed the initrd image: how else could it start?

I had this problem last year when I tried Puppy 5.0, but I never realised that I'd obviously got the wrong install done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 11:13    Post subject:  

DavidMcCann wrote:
I've just made the experiment of removing the sfs file and attempting to boot into Puppy. I got

lupu_520.sfs not found
Dropping out to init-ramdisk console
/bin/sh: can't access tty

So it won't run without the sfs. Does this mean that when I asked for a full install I got a frugal one? And it certainly should have installed the initrd image: how else could it start?

I had this problem last year when I tried Puppy 5.0, but I never realised that I'd obviously got the wrong install done.


Instructions for full install:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=201565&search_id=1358540782#201565

Unfortunately, the new lupu, wary installer doesn't do the grub
install automatically any more; grub has to be run separately.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5373
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 18:02    Post subject:  

Your problem is Grub does not have the proper info for the type of install you have.
I suggest after doing the full install
Before rebooting
Look in menu->system
Run Grub4dos bootloader config program
It will setup everything with no manual input needed.
This info may help.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60302

You can also run Grub4dos from the Puppy Live CD
Just make sure to boot the CD with the option Puppy pfix=ram.
When you get done running the CD do not make a save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 19:55    Post subject:  

Grub 4 dos may be acceptable for a dual boot with Win; but
it's more complicated, convoluted, and completely unneeded
for a Puppy install to an empty drive.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DavidMcCann

Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 12:20    Post subject:  

After actually stopping to think, I realised that by copying initrd and the sfs files, I manually created a frugal install! So, I started again.

I re-installed from scratch and followed the instructions on what to put in Fedora's grub.conf. The result on rebooting was
Kernel panic : not synching : VFS : unable to mount root FS on unknown block (0,0)

Then I started a fresh live-CD session and ran the tool to create grub. This invited me to put it in /dev/hda3 when it should have said /dev/sda3, but grub was duely installed. I then altered Fedora's grub.conf to use the chainloader approach. The result this time was
Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format

If someone has actually made a full install of Puppy, I'd be delighted to know how they did it; but please don't refer me to the on-line instructions, because they aren't working on this computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 12:56    Post subject:  

DavidMcCann wrote:
After actually stopping to think, I realised that by copying initrd and the sfs files, I manually created a frugal install! So, I started again.

I re-installed from scratch and followed the instructions on what to put in Fedora's grub.conf. The result on rebooting was
Kernel panic : not synching : VFS : unable to mount root FS on unknown block (0,0)

Then I started a fresh live-CD session and ran the tool to create grub. This invited me to put it in /dev/hda3 when it should have said /dev/sda3, but grub was duely installed. I then altered Fedora's grub.conf to use the chainloader approach. The result this time was
Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format

If someone has actually made a full install of Puppy, I'd be delighted to know how they did it; but please don't refer me to the on-line instructions, because they aren't working on this computer.


Have no idea what Fedora is using for a bootloader.

Can you post your /boot/grub/menu.lst?

This is what my full install list looks like:

# GRUB configuration file '/boot/grub/menu.lst'.
# generated by 'grubconfig'. Tue Aug 31 23:27:56 2010
#
# The backup copy of the MBR for drive '/dev/sda' is
# here '/boot/grub/mbr.sda.12568'. You can restore it like this.
# dd if=/boot/grub/mbr.sda.12568 of=/dev/sda bs=512 count=1
#
# Start GRUB global section
# timeout 10
color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
# End GRUB global section
# Other bootable partition config begins
title Windows (on /dev/sda1)
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
# Other bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy 431 (on /dev/sda2)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy 412 (on /dev/sda3)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Luci246 (on /dev/sda5)
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda5
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Wary098 (on /dev/sda6)
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda6 pmedia=atahd
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Luci 257 (on /dev/sda7)
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 pmedia=atahd
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Wary 5.11 on /dev/sda8)
root (hd0,7)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda8 pmedia=atahd
# Linux bootable partition config ends
#pause Insert a formatted floppy disk and press enter.
#root (hd0,1)
#setup (fd0)
#pause Press enter to continue.
#title Install GRUB to Linux partition (on /dev/sda2)
#root (hd0,1)
#setup (hd0,1)
#pause Press enter to continue.
title - For help press 'c', then type: 'help'
root (hd0)
title - For usage examples, type: 'cat /boot/grub/usage.txt'
root (hd0)

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5373
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 13:00    Post subject:  

Full install of Puppy Linux Lucid 5.2
Boot with the Puppy Live CD.
If you do not already have a Linux formatted partition or hard drive.
Run the program Gparted.
Format a partition or hard drive to a Linux format ext2, ext3, ext4
For full install need partition of at least 1GB ( I would make it much bigger, room to add stuff)
Run the Puppy Universal Installer.
Chose to install to partition or Hard drive you formatted.
Choose full install.
Do not install grub if asked by installer.
After installer is finished.
Before rebooting.
Look in menu->system
Run Grub4dos bootloader config program.
Use default settings.
It will find everything, setup the boot loader, with no manual input needed.
Remove the CD.
Reboot.
Because you where running with the CD it will ask if you want to make save file. Say no.
On reboot.
Should see boot menu with everything on computer listed.

This works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DavidMcCann

Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 05:46    Post subject:  

Without Grub in Puppy, Fedora's grub.conf had
title Puppy 5.2
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3 pmedia=atahd
initrd /boot/initrd.gz

With grub in Puppy,
title Puppy 5.2
rootnoverity (hd0,2)
chainloader +1

Why grub4dos? I've never heard of that, but the name suggests a Microsoft partition, which I do not have.

Although I've been experimenting on my desktop, my real interest was using Puppy on my old notebook (Thinkpad X31). Last night I tried running the live CD on that, and got an immediate kernel panic. Under the circumstances, I think there are too many bugs here for me. Thank you all for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1455
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 12:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
Why grub4dos? I've never heard of that, but the name suggests a Microsoft partition, which I do not have.


Me neither. But it sure makes multibooting easier. Running combination of Frugal and Full Installs. My grub4dos menu.lst below.

Code:
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy cuz I have 3 Doggies

title Bruno pup-431 (sdb1/pup431)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies /pup431/initrd.gz
  kernel /pup431/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=pup431 pfix=fsck
  initrd /pup431/initrd.gz

title Bruno pup-431 (sdb1/pup431) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy withot pupsave
  kernel /pup431/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=pup431 pfix=ram,fsck
  initrd /pup431/initrd.gz

title Macpup-511 (sda1/puppy511harry)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies /puppy511roky/initrd.gz
  kernel /puppy511harry/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy511harry pfix=fsck
  initrd /puppy511harry/initrd.gz

title NOP pup-431 (sdb2/puppy431)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies /puppy431/initrd.gz
  kernel /puppy431/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy431 pfix=fsck
  initrd /puppy431/initrd.gz

# Full installed Linux is Gooooood

title antiX 11 test2 at hda7, kernel 2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp root=/dev/hda7 nomce quiet nosplash vga=normal
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
boot

title      AntiX 11 test2 Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.37-0.dmz.5-liquorix-686
root      (hd0,6)
kernel      /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.37-0.dmz.5-liquorix-686 root=UUID=215cde80-eeb6-451f-929f-5fb9493e7932 ro nosplash quiet vga=normal nomodeset
initrd      /boot/initrd.img-2.6.37-0.dmz.5-liquorix-686

title sdb5/boot/initrd.img-2.6.34-stevo,/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp (sdb5/boot)
  root (hd1,4)
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.34-stevo root=UUID=fc2d5f0c-f1f8-4976-a315-121c4ad2b977 ro nosplash quiet
  initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.34-stevo

title Puppy Linux 120 full install in sda8
root (hd0,7)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda8 pmedia=atahd nosmp

# Windows Virus is bad for my Doggies
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
  errorcheck off
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /bootmgr
  chainloader /bootmgr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /ntldr
  chainloader /ntldr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd   /io.sys
  chainloader /io.sys
  errorcheck on

# additionals

title Find Grub2\nBoot up grub2 if installed
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /boot/grub/core.img
kernel /boot/grub/core.img

title Grub4Dos commandline\n(for experts only)
  commandline

title Reboot computer
  reboot

title Halt computer
  halt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 13:15    Post subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
Quote:
Why grub4dos? I've never heard of that, but the name suggests a Microsoft partition, which I do not have.


Me neither. But it sure makes multibooting easier. Running combination of Frugal and Full Installs. My grub4dos menu.lst below.


I have lots of Puppys booting fine from traditional Grub.

Maybe this grub4dos explains why I was unable to get an Aniti-x full
install booting from an external usb hard drive; after following
your instructions.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1455
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 17:58    Post subject:  

@rj

I installed AntiX Grub to / in Antix. When install was done, I ran smxi script to install Latest Liqourix Kernel which was kernel 2.6.37-0.dmz.5-liquorix-686 at the time. I also let smxi do a apt-get update and at-get dist-upgrade also. Grub in Antix was automatically upgraded via smxi aslo.

I then went into Bruno Pup (my first installed Puppy which has grub4dos installed)

Let it do automatic upgrade. Closed it and opened it up again. Then changed Strategy.

Ran it again and I opened grub4dos and told it to NOT automatically update and to not make any changes. In other words. Don't change or touch anything.

Next Window I hit the edit button for menu.lst for grub4dos.

I opened /boot/grub/menu.lst in Antix in Bruno with text editor. I copy and pasted what entries I wanted from /boot/grub menu.lst because now I had UUIDs which found my Antix file system better than grub4dos could. I edited out the grub4dos entries that were simplified Antix entries without the UUIDs. Saved and exited. All my Distro boot and run fine. Hope that makes sense.

Posting in Antix 11 right now

Code:
@bikertest2:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host bikertest2 Kernel 2.6.37-0.dmz.5-liquorix-686 i686 (32 bit) Distro antiX-M11-686-pt2 22 January 2011
CPU:       Single core Intel Pentium 4 (-UP-) cache 256 KB flags (sse sse2) bmips 3589.14 clocked at 1794.574 MHz
Graphics:  Card nVidia NV6 [Vanta/Vanta LT] X.Org 1.9.5 Res: 1024x768@0.0hz
           GLX Renderer Software Rasterizer GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.10 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller driver Intel ICH at ports 1c00 1840 BusID: 00:1f.5
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.23
Network:   Card Intel 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller driver e100 v: 3.5.24-k2-NAPI at port 2000 BusID: 02:08.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 100.1GB (21.8% used) 1: /dev/sda IC35L040AVVA07 40.0GB
           2: /dev/sdb SAMSUNG_SV6003H 60.1GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 7.9G used: 3.7G (50%) fs: ext3 ID:swap-1 size: 1.17GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
           ID:swap-2 size: 1.16GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Info:      Processes 87 Uptime 6:17 Memory 253.7/1135.3MB Runlevel 5 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 18:55    Post subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
@rj

I installed AntiX Grub to / in Antix. When install was done, I ran smxi script to install Latest Liqourix Kernel which was kernel 2.6.37-0.dmz.5-liquorix-686 at the time. I also let smxi do a apt-get update and at-get dist-upgrade also. Grub in Antix was automatically upgraded via smxi aslo.



Thanks for the tips;

Will give it a try on my external drive.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1212s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]