Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 02:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Xorg Wizard cant get to work!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 04:27    Post_subject:  Xorg Wizard cant get to work!
Sub_title: Cant view linux
 

I tried on my school computer, i probe it and select the recommended (unconfirmed for monitor, OK for video card)
It used to work (1028x??i forgot x 16)
And I tried it again today.
There is a console telling me to type xwin to get it to work.
I typed it (i had never seen this before) and it failed.
How to get it working???
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 06:14    Post_subject: Re: Xorg Wizard cant get to work!
Sub_title: Cant view linux
 

Darkgame wrote:
I tried on my school computer, i probe it and select the
recommended (unconfirmed for monitor, OK for video card)
It used to work (1028x??i forgot x 16)


I suppose it's better to mess up a computer that isn't yours.

Type xorgwizard and see how it goes. Maybe Xorg won't work. Maybe xvesa will.

In a worse case scenario you can find a new school.

The resolution and color depth you were thinking of was 1024x768x16, if
that works you can try 'true color' 1024x768x24

~

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3387
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 06:45    Post_subject:  

Always nice to know the version.

""""""""""'

I have a Palsonic TFTV1920D

http://www.palsonic.com.au/archive/lcd-tv/tftv1920d.htm

What I do with Lucid is that when it finishes booting,
I hear the sounds..woof..woof..but I have a black screen.

I then hit....Cntrl ...Alt...Backspace...which returns me to the prompt.

I type Xorgwizard...and choose Xvesa

Select 1024 x 768....24 bit

Ouch! >>> back to the prompt.

I type...>>> xwin
and after a few moments I am back on the desktop.

///////////

If you are running Lucid...try Snow Puppy instead.
Works on this screen.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=63163

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 08:52    Post_subject:  

i havent try xvesa. Thanks! Lucid puppy works in my com though
just asking about snow puppy, is it stable? As im gonna use anything (wine, virtual box, etc) to get my games working.
Im booting from usb with syslinux from usb universal installer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0441s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]