Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Jun 2016, 01:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
QtWeb - fast portable browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 7 [102 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Author Message
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 514

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jun 2014, 13:27    Post subject: Opera 10.63 also works on P55C (2010)  

12.10 and 11.64 illegal instruction
mplayer tells me I have a P55C
QtWeb and Opera 10.63 are usable
in 192MB memory, tho slow at some sites.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 514

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jun 2014, 14:01    Post subject: QtWeb uses less RAM than Opera 10.63 or Firefox 3.6.8  

Tested on a P55C 166MHz 192MB
Firefox 3.8.6 (2010) 53-94% RAM, 88% CPU
Opera 10.6.3 (2010) 54% RAM, 90% CPU
QtWeb 3.7.2 (2011) 37% RAM, 90% CPU

Tested at google.com with the animated logo.

Firefox takes forever to load.
Opera messes up ebay and google voice.
QtWeb works at both and loads fast.

Again, many thanks for the pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 267
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2015, 11:50    Post subject:  

I am not sure if this thread is still active. If it is I am looking for some help. I downloaded version 3.8.5 which is the latest version from http://www.qtweb.net/download.html I unzipped it outside my save file. I made the resultant QtWeb executable. However, If I click on this the browser does not open. If I open it in a terminal I get a very long output, most of which I don't understand, then "end of script press enter to exit". I see somebody else reports this earlier in the thread. Has anybody found a solution? I can run the .pet offered in the thread but cannot import favorites in the form of .html. Has anybody got a solution for this?

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 7837
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 05:05    Post subject:  QtWeb is still active
Subject description: Check missing dependancies via the menu 'setup'
 

QtWeb is still active, default browser in unicorn puppy LegOpen from Hungria, for instance.
QtWeb is part of many Quickpets. This browser is light when Qt is already part of the Puppy (Tahrpup, Vividpup, and so on)
Check missing dependancies via the menu 'setup'

_________________
Puppy breizland bagadoù (Britain) para Olympic Games del Brazil !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11918
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 10:04    Post subject:  

I tried QtWeb too, in Werewolf64, with the same result as keniv.
"Check dependencies" in the Setup menu only works on installed packages, which QtWeb is not, at least not when you download it, make it executable and click on it. There is a command that can be used from the console to check dependencies, but I've forgotten it. Can anyone help me out here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 6544
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 10:13    Post subject:  

ldd? No, it's NOT dynamic. And if it's not Werewolf's libc version, it may need gconv.

In fact, since 528 can't run the latest, I make due with this version.

HTML files can be drag'n dropped onto Qt's bkmrks bar.
qt_ss.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.62 KB
 Viewed   376 Time(s)

qt_ss.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 267
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 15:11    Post subject:  

That's the same one as I run. It has a few problems but loads very quickly and is fast when browsing. With some sites it seems to stop loading and leaves an incomplete page. At first I thought it was the amount of stuff being downloaded from the site but the wifi try icon stops flashing as well. I am using a low spec machine and so it could be that.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 205
Location: Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 17:11    Post subject:  

keniv wrote:
I can run the .pet offered in the thread but cannot import favorites in the form of .html. Has anybody got a solution for this?

Regards,

Ken.


A workaround for this problem is when you "Import from HTML" go to the directory with your bookmarks file, all you need to do is manually type in the bookmarks.html (or whatever the file name is) to the file name box and then hit <Enter> and it will import the file.

_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 6544
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 17:31    Post subject:  

Bravo!
_________________
>>> Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people. <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 267
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 17:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
A workaround for this problem is when you "Import from HTML" go to the directory with your bookmarks file, all you need to do is manually type in the bookmarks.html (or whatever the file name is) to the file name box and then hit <Enter> and it will import the file.


Thanks for that I'll try it. I've found it will import as .xbel so once you get a bookmark list it's easy to import if you install qtweb in another Pup.

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 7837
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Dec 2015, 01:39    Post subject: QtWeb 3.8.4 browse the web in Puppy unicorNOPen
Subject description: The best audio and video i have ever got with Puppy !
 

QtWeb 3.8.4 browse the web in Puppy unicorNOPen
The best audio and video i have ever got with Puppy ! but i ignore if QtWeb is the cause
Nevertheless, i will try QtWeb 3.8.4 by the musher0 method. If ever i failed, Musher0 would be of some help because he speaks french fluently.

_________________
Puppy breizland bagadoù (Britain) para Olympic Games del Brazil !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 7837
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 21 Dec 2015, 16:37    Post subject: Qt dependancies are included in bin  

Qt dependancies are included in bin, told me Medor, in french here That is the reason ldd has no result.
QTWEB works perfectly at home, excepted uploading videos to You tube..
But i don't experience a lot of sites. Facebook and our forum are ok (one browser refuse to access the Puppy forum, i dont remember which one) Confused

_________________
Puppy breizland bagadoù (Britain) para Olympic Games del Brazil !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 7 [102 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0914s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0260s) ][ GZIP on ]