Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 06:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Booting Puppy from a live USB on both Mac and PC
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 22:23    Post subject:  Booting Puppy from a live USB on both Mac and PC  

So I just started using Puppy linux on my thumbdrive, and I love it! It's really zippy, a snap to use anywhere, and I would recommend it to anyone. I can't believe how fast it is. When I first booted it up on my dual core Intel just to give it a try, I burned a hole in my cat which happened to be sitting next to the monitor at the time. Shocked

Anyway, I was wondering if someone knew how to boot a live USB onto a Mac. I searched your forums and didn't find anything similar to my question. I want to be able to visit both PCs and Macs. My father has a Mac and I would like to be able to use Puppy linux on it (the rest of my machines are PCs).

Please and thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3195
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 22:28    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Puppy, IIRC, will boot on a newer Intel based Macs, but not the PowerPC chips... Also, I think there is a Puppy on PowerPC thread, I would look at it as well...Depending on your arch...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 22:34    Post subject:  

Well the Mac in question has Tiger OS (not sure which version)and an Intel chipset. I tried booting it and I got nothing Sad . I even tried holding down the option key, and all I got was a screen with the internal HD and an arrow :/ clicking on the arrow only got me to the regular boot sequence. The only thing I figured out when I poked around your forums is that Mac uses a EFI? bootloader instead of BIOS. Is there some file or different distro that I need to get?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 22:42    Post subject:  

If it matters, I used the lupu-525.iso to make my live USB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lakedude

Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 23:09    Post subject:  

AFAIK an Intel based Mac is very nearly the same thing as a PC cept for software.

See of booting from USB is setup in the BIOS, or alternately if booting from USB can be selected in a special boot menu. On a PC this is done by hitting either f12, f2 or delete during the boot sequence (it varies by machine).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 12:55    Post subject:  

I tried all three and I got nothing. I also tried f1 and it showed me a gray and white world drawing which I have never seen before, but I thought that it was just apple trying to tell me that they want to take over the world. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 14:47    Post subject:  

So... I guess puppy doesn't work on macs Sad Oh well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 15:09    Post subject:  

Puppy will run in Mac Parallels;

also this:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1037463779&t=43262

Used Puppy on cd in both cases.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 17:57    Post subject:  

But... I don't want to install it... I just want to run it off the thumbdrive Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Sun 10 Apr 2011, 00:40    Post subject:  

So I can only use puppy on a Mac if I buy Mac Parallels? That sounds bogus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Sun 10 Apr 2011, 12:48    Post subject:  

What if I make a USB on my dad's Mac, will that work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 10 Apr 2011, 13:38    Post subject:  

XxionxX wrote:
So I can only use puppy on a Mac if I buy Mac Parallels? That sounds bogus.


Nothing more bogus than a mac owner quibbling about money.

How to run parallels from external usb hard drive;

http://www.maclife.com/article/howtos/how_run_parallels_virtual_machine_external_usb_drive

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
XxionxX


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon 11 Apr 2011, 00:59    Post subject:  

....?

The Mac is not mine -_- It's my dads. And it was given to him because someone spilt coffee on it and they didn't want to try and sell it. If I had money I wouldn't be saying things like:

XxionxX wrote:
So I can only use puppy on a Mac if I buy Mac Parallels? That sounds bogus.


I am sorry that I don't have money and can't spring for the paid option. I didn't know that wanting free software was a bad thing. I guess I shouldn't use any free Linux OSs then. -_-

Really? You are ripping on me because I would like to save money? I am a student, I work 2 days a week, go to school, and I don't have money for unnecessary software.

If Puppy Linux does not work on a Mac (That is not mine) without this software, just say so. I didn't ask to be Mac bashed, I just wanted to know if it could work. It seems like if you can do it on a PC without buying software then the same would be true for a Mac. If its not possible then so be it.

I know Macs are expensive, that's why I don't own one. Because I am poor. I just wanted an answer to my question, not some pay for option with a side of guilt. If you don't like my question, you don't have to answer. I will just ask somewhere else if you can't, or won't give me a straight answer to my question.

Besides, if I wanted to use a virtual machine then VirtualBox works just fine on both Mac and PC. Please don't push your software on me, I hate spam. Not to mention, I am not going to install that software on every Mac I come in contact with. There are like 200 at my school (But at school I just use the PCs because they are everywhere).

I don't mean to start flamewars, I just want an answer to my question. Maybe this isn't the best place to ask, because you all seem busy with other stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 11 Apr 2011, 01:24    Post subject:  

XxionxX wrote:
....?

Besides, if I wanted to use a virtual machine then VirtualBox works just fine on both Mac and PC. Please don't push your software on me, I hate spam.


I don't own, use, or sell Mac stuff.

This is a Puppy forum.

If what you want to achieve is not possible with other Linux or Windows it's not likely to be possible with Puppy either.

If you know what Google is, you can find offers of "free" parallels.

When you start searching for help, be prepared to supply the
make and model number, and specs of the machine you are
using.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 11 Apr 2011, 03:13    Post subject:  

Will the mac boot from a puppy live cd?
That would be a good indicator of if the mac will support Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0818s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0144s) ][ GZIP on ]