Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 04:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.1.4 - 29 August 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 20 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 13:55    Post_subject: double post  

double post
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 13:59    Post_subject:  

I did a crude hack of a script I got from
Lighthouse 503 by Nathan Fisher and Tazoc

The pet package opens xz archives in a convenient fashion
with right clicks

It works nicely with Wary

Available here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=555239#555239

__________________________________________


Also Bacon Recorder 2.3 works with Wary as well.
It's just a simple script with an icon
Available

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=669735990&t=69237


___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 15:40    Post_subject:  

I am using the Exprimo Puppy but it has a flaw.

I use a Linux-only machine and the time is incorrectly set.
I set it properly with set_hwclock_type
however there is a better method of doing the adjustment.

Shinobar wrote the firstrun application in Countrywizard,
but that's complicated stuff. So I wrote a simple script to
do the adjustment.

That got me thinking. Is it possible to put a GUI script
in Woof so that all Puppies would adjust their time with
a GUI interface rather than a console text window.
The benefit would be that it could be localized for foreign
languages.


Here's a picture of what my script looks like.
It's available at the Exprimo thread



_______________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 19:40    Post_subject:  

don570 wrote:
I am using the Exprimo Puppy but it has a flaw.

I use a Linux-only machine and the time is incorrectly set.
I set it properly with set_hwclock_type
however there is a better method of doing the adjustment.

Shinobar wrote the firstrun application in Countrywizard,
but that's complicated stuff. So I wrote a simple script to
do the adjustment.

That got me thinking. Is it possible to put a GUI script
in Woof so that all Puppies would adjust their time with
a GUI interface rather than a console text window.
The benefit would be that it could be localized for foreign
languages.


Ok, found it:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70399&start=540

...I'll try it!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5972
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2011, 00:03    Post_subject:  

Quick fresh manual frugal install of Wary 5.1.3.2 on my main Linux box.Sound,internet and display all correct and working on initial boot.No glaring "bugs" yet but testing has just begun.


VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 5.1.3.2

Chip description:
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

Driver used by Xorg:
nv

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video


-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1034MB (90MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue 23 Aug 2011 11:17:38 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa GLX Indirect
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235

Ethernet controller : Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x]
wary-5.1.3.2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.71 KB
 Viewed   1000 Time(s)

wary-5.1.3.2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2011, 07:36    Post_subject:
Sub_title: bacon
 

Barry,
Please include hug.so in the iso. It was left out at 513.
Volhout
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2011, 07:52    Post_subject:  

5.1.3.2
Fortunately, had my old Cq Armada E500 V300 + mods free this morning. It has no screen or k/b so these are external additions.
Booted up fine but touchpad was inactive. Didn't have a USB mouse to hand. Touchpad activity needs to be detected and switched in at boot-time. Perhaps there's a boot code? Don't normally mess with laptops - my views may be known!
Boots and functions just fine on all tin boxes.
Whatever happened to underscore leading alphabetic for k/b-only operation?

Update:
Purloined a USB mouse (which works) to look at mouse setup. It says "Touchpad Mouse : ON"
However, not entirely surprising that a pop-up message shows:
"Can't access shared memory area: SHMConfig disabled?"
There is a tab to disable 'Guest Mouse' which is unticked - the USB mouse has control.

Later:
Retrovol not working from Menu nor console

Much later!:
Eventually got sound up and working using the ALSA wizard + some poorly characterised fiddling. It has an on-board ESS1978 chipset, possibly the chipset that has given me most grief this last half-centruy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2011, 21:33    Post_subject:
Sub_title: bacon
 

Volhout wrote:
Barry,
Please include hug.so in the iso. It was left out at 513.
Volhout


It can't have been left out. It is used by the "Welcome1stboot" window. I am running 5.1.3.2 right now, it is there, at /usr/lib/hug.so

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 03:16    Post_subject:
Sub_title: hug.so
 

Thanks Barry,

The hug_imports.bac expected it somewhere else, in /usr/share/BaCon I assume, so that is where I looked. Found it and changed hug_imports.bac to find it. Sorry for the question.

Something completely different:

When I use SNS in my typical environment (many wireless RF carriers) the list to pick from grows so large, that the SNS windowsize grows and that forces the "connect" button to disappear outside the desktop window. Is there any way you can repair that? See attached (attached screenshot is from lucid525). If this feedback is misplaced here, then I appologize. I didn't know where the post this feedback.

Regards,

Harm
sns.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  sns.jpg 
Filesize  152.82 KB 
Downloaded  215 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 04:24    Post_subject:  

5.1.3.2
Unable to make any progress on the touchpad and Retrovol non-appearance issues with Armada.
Any comments/assistance appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 00:36    Post_subject:  

Sage wrote:
5.1.3.2
Unable to make any progress on the touchpad and Retrovol non-appearance issues with Armada.
Any comments/assistance appreciated.


I just tested Flsynclient on my laptop, controls my touchpad, no problem.

Never had that problem with Retrovol, don't know what to suggest.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 02:08    Post_subject:
Sub_title: hug.so
 

Volhout wrote:
Thanks Barry,

The hug_imports.bac expected it somewhere else, in /usr/share/BaCon I assume, so that is where I looked. Found it and changed hug_imports.bac to find it. Sorry for the question.

Something completely different:

When I use SNS in my typical environment (many wireless RF carriers) the list to pick from grows so large, that the SNS windowsize grows and that forces the "connect" button to disappear outside the desktop window. Is there any way you can repair that? See attached (attached screenshot is from lucid525). If this feedback is misplaced here, then I appologize. I didn't know where the post this feedback.

Regards,

Harm


That screenshot is from Lupu; not Wary.

Alt>left click-drag, to move oversize window.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 02:22    Post_subject:  

Thanks for those comments, BK. In desperation (before seeing your item this morning), managed to get a more recent Acer C1.5 laptop up and running last evening - it had no issues with 5.1.3.2, except couldn't get 'tapping' to work (accessed the 'tapping' tab in mouse settings) so used lh button. I vaguely recall a range of discussions on quirks with Cq Armadae, but that may have been a couple of years or more ago?
The present problems are entirely reproducible and don't have any of the characteristics of finger trouble. So the question is how many folks still use those old clunkers and is it worth bothering?! Frankly, the sooner everyone junks old laptops the better - nothing but trouble, physically and SW/FW-wise.

Once ARM devices take over completely, the better! Same with the Intel multiple cores - completely unnecessary - introduced to hide their design failures and provide marketing push with bragging rites aimed at one nation in particular. Who will rid the world of that worthless company and their principal running dog?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 16:11    Post_subject:  

Scottman told me that jasper is not needed in Puppy

wjaguar =Dmitri has a comment here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67811&start=255&sid=67ba5a842b9759c61b8fb2fdd34d639f

It's easy to compile mtpaint without jasper

just use 'nojp2' option.

There is a new version of mtpaint that has been
released 3.34.68

____________________________________

Another way of saving space (albeit small)
is to modify the icon

/usr/share/examples/ps-pdf/Acrobat.pdf

so it has only some textual info promoting
Adobe inside.

_______________________________--
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 19:10    Post_subject:  

don570 wrote:
Scottman told me that jasper is not needed in Puppy

wjaguar =Dmitri has a comment here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67811&start=255&sid=67ba5a842b9759c61b8fb2fdd34d639f

It's easy to compile mtpaint without jasper

just use 'nojp2' option.

There is a new version of mtpaint that has been
released 3.34.68

____________________________________

Another way of saving space (albeit small)
is to modify the icon

/usr/share/examples/ps-pdf/Acrobat.pdf

so it has only some textual info promoting
Adobe inside.

_______________________________--


Ayttm (chat client) uses Jasper for webcam support for Yahoo.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1006s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]