Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 03:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.1.4 - 29 August 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 29 [425 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 14:07    Post subject:  

Did the sound test on my full install.

It knocked out sound and wireless module. (same as the others)

Caused the dreaded long count of usb, pcmcia modules to return.

Just reran upgrade from cd to fix everything.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grndoor

Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 18:08    Post subject: BarryK's replacement for "pup_event_backend_modprobe"  

The permission level for BarryK's replacement for "pup_event_backend_modprobe", extracted from his "pup_event_backend_modprobe.gz" file, is not set "executable".

If you change the permission level to "executable", most of the previous problems should hopefully disappear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 19:31    Post subject:  

Guys,
I should have said that...

Right-click on /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe, choose "Properties" and make sure that the "execute" checkboxes are ticked.

You guys who reported failure, would you kindly do the test again?

Anyway, for the future, always remember:
Whenever you install any script that has been downloaded, you always have to check that it is set to be executable.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 19:44    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Guys,
I should have said that...

Right-click on /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe, choose "Properties" and make sure that the "execute" checkboxes are ticked.

You guys who reported failure, would you kindly do the test again?

Anyway, for the future, always remember:
Whenever you install any script that has been downloaded, you always have to check that it is set to be executable.



Yes, I did the exercise again and changed the permissions.
After rebooting to create the save file sound and network are good.
image-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.89 KB
 Viewed   1366 Time(s)

image-1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 19:46    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
5.1.1.56

Interesting! LiveCD initially gives : 'Mouse hasn't moved so maybe...' message: ignored and deleted. Give a man a chance to get there!
Waving souris over message box at top gives blank screen for 30(?)s. - too long; but patience is eventually rewarded.
No sign of fido - yet.


I was nonplussed by Sage's report, still am partly, but finally I kind of understand how the "blank screen" is occurring ...maybe.

When X is started for the first time, if the mouse pointer is not moved within several seconds, a window pops up asking if your mouse is working. If not, you can choose, by keyboard input, usb/ps2 or serial mouse. However, if your mouse is working, the text in the window says this:

"If your mouse is working, choose <Cancel> button"

It seems that Sage ignored that information and made the choice of mouse interface, which causes X to restart. On my laptop, with only 1.4GHz CPU and 512MB RAM, X restarts in about 3 seconds.

I presume that if Sage is using an ancient CPU, the restart could be longer than that, but I have no idea how the blank screen of 30 seconds could happen -- a 140MHz CPU?.

Sage's report above states that waving mouse pointer over the "message box at top gives blank screen" -- no it doesn't, the message box just disappears. It is only after making a selection in the mouse-choice window as described above, that the screen becomes blank for a short time.

Anyway, I have taken out that mouse-choice window. I introduced it for the case of X auto-starting without running the Xorg Wizard. I have added a condition into /usr/bin/xwin such that the mouse-choice window will only popup if X has been started without the Xorg Wizard.

Bottom line: the mouse-choice window is gone.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 19:49    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Boot off LIve CD
Select Xorg video
Wait 10 seconds
Get the "Your mouse has not moved" message
Select usb/ps2 and click OK (the mouse is USB)
Screen refreshes
Mouse pointer disappears!
A full reboot is required.

Boot off Live CD
Select Xvesa
Don't get the Welcome popup message
Mouse works correctly


That puzzles me. See previous message. I tested by choosing usb/ps2, and X restarted, usb mouse still working.

Anyway, that window has been taken out.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JonT

Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Location: northeast Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 21:34    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
You guys who reported failure, would you kindly do the test again?

Redid it. Sound and network working fine. No alsawizard needed. Will remember to check executable boxes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 01:07    Post subject:  

Redid the sound test and everything is fine this time; I wasn't
having sound problems in the first place.

On initial install, did have to change time setting by 2 hours on
this laptop and 5 hours on the pc.

Still needs the rox right click icon menu popup fix, like earlier versions.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 01:35    Post subject:  

Quote:
I was nonplussed by Sage's report....

- and so am I by a snappy response!

Basically what I reported is correct and I am no longer using any cpu <=~2GHz or <=512Mb mem. despite the intended aims of Wary.
It is true, however, that I am not clicking the <Cancel> button on the mouse discovery box - since it is/was abundantly evident that the mouse is/was working correctly; I simply deleted the mouse discovery box with top right X because the appearance of this box, now deleted, was counter-intuitive at best, misleading and erroneous at worst.

And so to the top message box - it behaves exactly as reported. It has/had nothing to do with the mouse box. The screen blanking continues to occur for highly irreproducible periods, although its occurrence is reproducible, All my present video cards might be considered 'modern' 3-notch' 1.5V AGP or later. If I am testing really old HW, this will always be stated. This is particularly important when I use old ISA sound cards which provide superior performance than recent junk.

Respect for users of SW is just as vital to the well-being of the IT field as coders: no users, no point. Linux only began its surge after nearly a decade of users being treated as third class citizens by developers. That it is now succeeding is as much due to hatred of the nasty capitalist greed of Redmond as the thrill of seeking out new solutions and co-operation with folks of equal intellect from different disciplines. All men are born equal but may possess different talents. At death they yield more or less the same amount of cobalt atoms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 10:23    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:

Quote:
no users, no point


or also:

Quote:
no real-world benefit, no point


Yes, this is a fundamental truth as far as computing is concerned.

All computer programs are a model or abstraction of something in the real world. No point in programming a model that is useless for any purpose.

Theoreticians/researchers may well disagree with this, but the real purpose of their efforts is to make something useful albeit later rather than sooner.

IMHO

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 15:41    Post subject: screen saver bug  

wary 5.1.1.56 and 5.1.1.53 screen saver bug

Menu > Desktop > pupX set properties of X > Screensaver
+ enable screen saver
+ check blank screen rather than pattern

+ wary starts screen saver with blank screen,
+ but key or mouse will only return to show the mouse pointer,
+ can reboot computer blindly

+ uncheck blank screen,
+ screen saver "X" is displayed and
+ returns to wary ok

both of these settings work ok in wary 5.1.1

IBM ThinkPad X30
-Processor-
Name : Mobile Intel(R) Pentium(R) III CPU - M 1200MHz
Family, model, stepping : 6, 11, 4 (Pentium III/Pentium III Xeon/Celeron)
Vendor : Intel
-Configuration-
Cache Size : 512kb
Frequency : 1198.90MHz
BogoMIPS : 2397.80
Byte Order : Little Endian

122732 report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 5.1.1.56

Chip description:
Intel Corporation 82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]
Intel Corporation 82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

-Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 16:23    Post subject:  

broomdodger;

All I do is uncheck blank screen.
Click okay. Nothing else, works fine.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1468
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 18:31    Post subject: Sound change report - with- and without ALSA modem  

On my PC with only a normal (intel8x0) sound card and the two files, upon reboot, the sound operates normally. And further reboots are also normal.

However, if I start the alsawizard and then immediately either cancel out of it or say "no" to saving the new settings (after making no changes), the sound no longer works. Running aplay from a console yields the following:
Quote:
# aplay /usr/share/audio/2barks.au
ALSA lib confmisc.c:768:(parse_card) cannot find card '0'
ALSA lib conf.c:4154:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_card_driver returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib confmisc.c:392:(snd_func_concat) error evaluating strings
ALSA lib conf.c:4154:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_concat returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib confmisc.c:1251:(snd_func_refer) error evaluating name
ALSA lib conf.c:4154:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_refer returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib conf.c:4633:(snd_config_expand) Evaluate error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib pcm.c:2211:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM default
aplay: main:608: audio open error: No such file or directory
#
But rebooting after that restores the sound function. Also, if I say "yes" to saving the new settings, the sound continues to work.

I then tested the new files on a Thinkpad with a built-in (ALSA) modem. All (including pupdial) went normally until I tried the alsawizard test. After canceling out of the wizard, neither sound nor the modem would work. Modemtest could not see the modem. But a reboot restored both.

I then tried the alsawizard test on wary without the fix and found that it behaves the same as above after the cancel-out. So, this is apparently a longstanding issue. The search for sound cards must damage the current settings; the wizard probably should restore them if the new settings are not saved.

As a further test, I ran the wizard and let it save the new settings. The sound continued to work, but the modem could not be seen by pupdial/modemtest. (I trust that a reboot would again restore the modem.)
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 22:57    Post subject: re: screen saver bug  

rjbrewer wrote:
broomdodger;
All I do is uncheck blank screen.
Click okay. Nothing else, works fine.
Yes... I mentioned that in my post.

The default is blank screen, it is broken and needs fixing.

It was working in wary 5.1.1

-Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 23:26    Post subject: Re: re: screen saver bug  

broomdodger wrote:
rjbrewer wrote:
broomdodger;
All I do is uncheck blank screen.
Click okay. Nothing else, works fine.
Yes... I mentioned that in my post.

The default is blank screen, it is broken and needs fixing.

It was working in wary 5.1.1

-Bill


? Default is working okay too.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 29 [425 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0909s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]