Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 04:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Akita Linux, Beta 16 ISO
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 32 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3250
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 14:16    Post subject:  

Here's the script that I use in Right-click to make an
archive from a folder.
It could be simplified further.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# A simple script to tar.gz all folders in a directory
# AUTHOR:         vovchik

myspec="$@"
mydir=`dirname "$myspec"`
cd "$mydir"

# ---------------------
function mk_archive()
# ---------------------
{
   if [ -n "$myspec" ]; then
      echo "Archive object: ""$myspec"
      mynewspec=`basename "$myspec"`
      echo "Processing under way..."
      tar -pczf "$mynewspec".tar.gz "$mynewspec"
      echo "All done."
   else
      echo "Usage: mktgz"" [dir] or [file]"
      echo "in dir which contains target dir or file"
   fi
}

# ---------------------
# MAIN
# ---------------------

mk_archive

# ---------------------
# END MAIN
# ---------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3250
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 17:43    Post subject:  

The screenshot Browser program needs an icon
/usr/share/pixmaps/gtkam.png

Most of the other puppies have it, which is why I used it. Laughing

A link to a camera icon should fix it. Laughing

________________________________-

I tested mhwaveedit and I found that it can open
both .ogg and .aif (popular with MAC users)

So it would make sense to have right click options
for these formats.

'Edit with mhwaveedit'

__________________________________-----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 16:08    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
Quote:
How large are the mp3 files we're talking about?


Actually, the audio book in question was/is a single 210MB mp3 file. I have now used the mp3 splitter pet that don570 linked to on the previous page, and the smaller mp3 files play.

However, somewhere in Akita I saw that my original file was a 64kbs mp3 format -- and the split files all show up as 32kbs. Pmusic (in Three-headed Dog) shows the original 210MB file as a 32kbs mp3...

I would like to thank all concerned for their assistance!

Has anyone successfully connected to a wireless ad-hoc connection via Frisbee in Akita5beta? It has always worked for me in Akita4beta, but 5beta has yet to work. Since this is my only connectivity method, I need to get it sorted on my end (posting from Lucid ATM).

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 17:39    Post subject:  

Don, thanks for mtpaint and mp3-splitter, and other scripts, that's great stuff..

The right click options do need updating, I was leaving this for another time, as its a bit laborious.. BETA 5 mainly has 'fixes' to make sure Akita can later be released with a newer kernel, better PPM+packages, wider choice of WMs, etc..

I'll take another look at PupZip, unrar, undeb, etc.. they've all been working in the past Rolling Eyes I could not reproduce the problem with .htm files though, tested from a fresh boot.

There is actually a way to get MD5 sums - Puphash.. In the SendTo meu - I forgot to make a ROX-App, which I planned to add, as it is somewhat hidden away - which is why I forgot about it!! Laughing

I will take a look at the issues you found soon enough..

For now though, I should note the 'View contents of archive' thing needs the 'AVFS' daemon started from the 'Startups' programs, or 'Boot Manager>Startups'.. It was working fine last time I used it, a while back, but not now.. Even after the daemon is running... Couldn't fix it.. Might remove it..
________________________________

Roy, no idea what;s gone on there, the mp3s I tested were all quite low bitrate, but I don't remember what!! I wonder if you have a Wary 5.1.x install, if it says 32kbs or 64kbs - Akita and Wary 5.1.x *should* behave the same!

I don't think I did anything to Frisbee, I'll have a re-look and check..
I plan to update Frisbee anyway, so that'll either fix it or break it more!

Maybe try the Frisbee .pet - install it to just overwrite what's there, it should work out of the box.. Maybe boot with pfix=ram to test..

I know very little about Wireless and limited things to check, but I had most success with SNS I reckon.. Although I understand this may not fit your needs - sorry I can't be of more help...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2826
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 17:49    Post subject:  

sc0ttman, I sent you a PM about Akita... I'm wondering how it will perform on lower-spec systems in general and a system I'm working on in particular... if you can let me know, and depending on other factors (when some needed hardware arrives) I may or may not be able to help beta-test Akita.

EDIT: if I could do it without hijacking the thread somehow, I'd be glad to post my system's specs here...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 567
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 20:30    Post subject:  

Cheers sc0ttman,
I thought I would try and muddle my way through some feedback on Akita5. Still 2 weeks of skool "holidays" remaining (!) so in desperation I thought I'd lego together a new games and multimedia 'entertainment' system for them from the bits and pieces I have around the house, and try your latest puplet. Well, due to cpu and ram deterioration issues, plus a sprinkling of IDE cable fails, I managed to whittle it down to a third trainwreck that seems to be staying alive:
1) The testbed - EP-MVP3C2 / 500MHz (AMD)K2-6 / 256MB RAM (here's the full horror: http://www.motherboard.cz/mb/epox/ep-mvp3c.htm)
...but I've added a 2-port USB2.0 PCI card, an Ensoniq ES-1371 soundcard+gameport, and in keeping with my cannibalistic interests in modularising components efficiently as possible- the HD is a 2Gb SD-card on an IDE adapter, and I have a library of avi movies on a USB caddy with a 250Gb ATA formatted with NTFS. In theory, if the machine goes 'ping' in a way that it shouldn't I can flip the latter 2 components immediately into another system. This Frankenstein is plugged into a big LCD TV as a monitor.

2) The machine is the ultimate in Net-nanniship and is not connected online. We don't have the bandwidth to share with the kids at present, so they have to miss out on FRIV and other flash-rich sites, meantimes. This makes it harder to upgrade via PPM and dependency checking as I've had to ferret everything from the online desktop elsewhere in the house, via USB flash drive. (sorry, "ferry" everything. But I have been through your repository like a dose of salts, sc0ttman - thanks especially for all those games!)

3) INSTALLATION. I used gparted to format the SD-card as ext3 and made a 512MB swap for it (I normally use only 256MB but I thought doubling that would help general running performance. Am I correct in thinking that?)
I've always stuck with GRUB1 for my frugal installs/dual boots on other machines, and this is My First Grub4DOS experience. Strange - even though I'm sure I was opting for a full install via the Universal installer, Akita installed frugally. I might have to wipe and start again...
Not your fault, but I have never been able to get a correctly-recognised install with the Universal installer's "USB-FLASH" pmedia coding in the menu.lst. I inevitably get this weird "pup_420.sfs not found" error unless I change the entry to "pmedia=idehd". Perhaps my mod here contributes to strange pmount /icon behaviour with sda0 showing up as a floppy, and often residual ghosts of mounted USB drives from previous sessions (not just restarting X, even after rebooting). I note too that I can't change my pmount preferences, e.g. have all detected drives shown on one page. Is this only a glitch for me?

4) Akita5 Wouldn't recognise the NTFS-formatted usb caddy until after some number of reboots and after installing an ntfs-3g pet from shinobar's puppy4 repository. (Even after install I was frequently getting a "NTFS-3G probe: Device is missing" error dialogue, but it's gone now.) Alas, I see now from your notes you're working on the VLC issue as nothing I tried was able to get a movie opening.

5) I installed FF7 and Standalone Flash11 player from your repositories, (via my usb-shuttling) but FF7.01 gives a string of missing dependencies, and I get a "browser library" error for the flashplayer. Maybe I should have installed the browser first (!) and got the dependencies hunted down early. We have quite a collection of swf games downloaded via the 'Games' thread of the puppy forums, but they'll have to sit pretty for a while...

6) Hmmm tried to install My First Linux Joystick. No luck as yet with the Quickshot QS-189, doesn't seem to be picked up by your joystick.daemon (joystick.pet?) even after I edited modprobe.conf to enable joystick=1 (that is, gameport=on). Think that *might* have lost retrovol in my attempt, and I can't get it back showing on the tray even after trying all the alsa wizard options (the original wizard keeps dropping out, too). I've been hunting around for solutions for correctly configuring the gameport on the ES-1317, but it's not a big deal for me at the moment.

7) Java. Went with shinobar's most recent pet, but then remembered that I should have tried ttuuxx's version with 'jar' files opening automatically via his exec bin he included (for numbkins like me). I've got a string of "little" jar game files (ignoring the java overhead for the present) I'd like to provide the kids.

So, in closing it seems that I'll have to wipe for another tilt at a full install, paying closer attention to your (great) 4-stage install options (how can I find and run those again like the desktop preferences, perhaps?). Again, this setup is just a stopgap so when the replacement CPU arrives for the larger project (maxed out ASRock K7S41GX mobo) I can just slot the SD card over. And while I'm in the real world - the kids received for Christmas a "mancala" boardgame which they are crazy about. Could you consider adding that ancient African strategy game to your repository (other names and variants include awari, wari) - championed by muggins (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27569&sid=40fbb554508186245fe83a1520dffc72,http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19809,http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21638&sid=5628324f2e7de9431826004da3901540 he was puppifying a tlc version that has been updated since the issue was last visited on these forums http://www.nongnu.org/awale/. I think it would be a worthwhile addition re your earlier post of games suggestions,
Many Thanks!

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 18:01    Post subject: geany, petget  

Desktop drive icons work now. But geany does not open files. petget does not work. I can't remove installed packages. Some error in terminal.
Code:
# geany
geany: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/gio/modules/libgiognutls.so: undefined symbol: g_tls_backend_get_type
# petget
gtkdialog4: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/gio/modules/libgiognutls.so: undefined symbol: g_tls_backend_get_type
gtkdialog4: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/gio/modules/libgiognutls.so: undefined symbol: g_tls_backend_get_type

My 3G-modem Cricket A600 is not switched, but I guess it's normal for Puppy-4. In works normally only in Wary or Slacko with Barry's zzz-package. I still can use it in Akita, but first I have to boot into Slacko to switch it into modem mode and reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 13:31    Post subject: Re: geany, petget  

Thanks for testing guys, sorry to hear abut the problems!

rodin.s, I have just booted a fresh frugal install of Beta 5, but I cannot reproduce these problems..

- I haven't had any problems using geany
- I am not getting any libgio errors ..
- I have just successfully installed/removed about 10 packages...

- It's true that some packages do not remove themselves, but 90% will..
- Most of the packages that won't remove have a newer format of petspecs file
- (they were built for much newer pups/puplets)

However, the whole 3G thing is a mystery to me,
if someone could make a usb_modeswitch or zzz_ .pet for Akita, that would be great..

Puppyt, a bigger swap should help I think, yeah..

- The Universal Installer does need testing, after its gtkdialog4 updates (esp. 'RETVAL' stuff)

- I have fixed the pmount Preferences error, prefs now work as expected
- Try uncommenting lines 162-169 in /usr/sbin/pmount to fix floppy weirdness
- The other pmount stuff (leftover drives, etc) is new to me....

- Do you have the URL for shinobars ntfs-3g pet? I can't find it..
- Try `vlc /path/to/file` to see why VLC won't work for you (another weird one!)

- about the joystick: maybe `insmod joystick`
- the device is apparently supported by 2.4 kernel!

- The Firefox 7.0.1 pet does indeed list many missing deps, but should work fine
- Found a bug when using Browser-Installer to install Firefox and run it straight away, though

- "FlashPlayer 11" in the PPM needs the "browserlibs" dependency, which is installed automatically, using PPM
- Also, the "Flash Installer" downloads a gtk1 Flashplayer to /root, then installs it, if you want that one instead

- Good point, I'll move custom startup stuff to a separate script, then it can be re-run very easily
- I will add the game to the repo... If I get it working..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 567
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 23:16    Post subject:  

Thanks for all that legwork, sc0ttman -
in haste, first up apologies for getting my facts wrong earlier - I had used shinobar's JRE (v x.x.30 - from memory) and not ntfs3G as stated earlier - that was from chrome307 (http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=432739#432739). I raided shinobar's puppy 4 stuff here - http://182.164.210.245/puppy/pup4/opt/.
Thanks for the tip on the joystick - just found extra details here that I'll follow on shortly : http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=14025#14025. I'm totally in the dark about 'insmod' and 'modprobe' commands, and will find out whether they make persistent changes to setup as only when I make typos do I see that my commands (might have) made any effect. Thanks too for all the tips on preferences and for VLC- I'll try them out later too.
RAM problems with this machine - 2 SDRAM and one EDO for the 3 slots available, so performance is slowed to the lowest common denominator (the EDO). If I can dig out another SDRAM I might be able to scoot along better - until the new CPU arrives for the other machine at least.
Thanks for the interest in mancala. I was actually thinking of dividing the games on here in different sections - light (tcl/tkl games and consoles), medium and heavy (including "Beret", which showed promise in this super-slow setup). Unfortunately the kids skip over the console games nearly immediately, maybe some of the tcl that MU had organised (pups) might provide them with sufficient 'bling' to keep them exploring. I'll give it a go,

Many Thanks!

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 15:05    Post subject: Akita error - fixed by new save file.  

My mistake. Everything works with new savefile. Maybe old one was corrupted by unclear shutdown.
Passwords in /usr/sbin/pupdial are invisible. I changed the code a little to make it visible openly as letters, not as dots. It's ok for me, but maybe not for everybody else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 15:11    Post subject:  

note, my site, and hence the repo, will be down for a day or two... sorry..
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2826
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 14:01    Post subject:  

What happened?

Also, sc0ttman, as soon as it's back up I can begin assisting with the beta-test of Akita on the system I had told you about. I quite look forward to this!

For the rest of ya'll: system is a second thin client (the first was what introduced me to puppy; good story there, but not for this thread). 400MHz VIA Eden CPU, "Esther" core. 512MB RAM. 4gb MicroDrive in adapter*. Extra 2 USB ports on back, replacing (useless to me) parallel port dongle connector. Tested with Puplite 5, worked quite nicely from CD. Planning a full install of Akita, with a 512mb swap partition.

*This was what caused the hangup so that I couldn't do it till today -- had to get both a new MicroDrive (used the other one elsewhere) and CF->IDE adapter to connect it (the drive uses a CF/CompactFlash connector).

EDIT: couple of small requests, ahead of time... may have asked this before... (1) is there any way in Akita to make the drive icons dynamic like in, eg, Wary 511...? (2) please please PLEASE make there a place in the boot menu to edit the boot: command string... very annoying (to me) not to have that ability.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 16:11    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
What happened?

Low on cash.

Quote:
(1) is there any way in Akita to make the drive icons dynamic like in, eg, Wary 511...?

Yep, its in the 1st boot menu - Akita will ask if you "want to enable the ROX desktop".. Or go to the terminal and type

`toggle-rox-desktop start`

Quote:
(2) please please PLEASE make there a place in the boot menu to edit the boot: command string... very annoying (to me) not to have that ability.

Akita uses GRUB.. Just hit the 'e' key on a boot entry to edit its contents.. That should be stated somewhere at the bottom.. Note, to change the boot options permanently you have to edit menu.lst, which can be done after Puppy is installed somewhere..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2826
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 16:44    Post subject:  

Thanks, sc0ttman, for the tips. Sorry to hear about the "low on cash" bit... if you have paypal, I'll send you what I've got (all of a whopping $2) if you'd like... I'm not saying it's much, I'm just saying it's what I got.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3250
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 17:35    Post subject: wacom bamboo tablet  

Wacom bamboo tablet works on Akita 6


I used wacom-0.8.4-4-k2.6.25.16.pet <-- For Puppies 4.1.x and 4.2.x (non-retro)
I found here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1253837929&t=16491

Here's mtpaint pressure output


____________________

Last edited by don570 on Thu 19 Jan 2012, 15:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2083s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0529s) ][ GZIP on ]