Page 1 of 1

How to bridge my wireless interface to Ethernet port?

Posted: Mon 16 May 2011, 10:03
by niteendlewis
Hi,

I have an IP phone that only has Ethernet over Copper, I was thinking of connecting it to my Ethernet port on my desktop that I run Puppy Linux 5.2.5, by bridging these 2 interfaces. Is this possible? I believe Puppy needs the bridging utils but not sure how to go about it, any help will be appreciated.

What I am trying to achieve:

Linksys Wireless router ---> Linksys USB Wireless adapter on desktop --> bridged to Eth0 on desktop ----> IP Phone

Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-I]

Posted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 01:11
by tempestuous
Get bridge-utils-1.5.pet from
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68127
and install.

Now comes the part I'm a little unsure about - you definitely need to bridge your wifi interface to your ethernet interface, but I think (?) you need to first establish a wifi connection to your router.
So run the Network Wizard, and set up an internet connection using the "wlan0" wifi interface.
Now you need to disable DHCP on the wlan0 interface, with these commands -

Code: Select all

rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid
Now you're ready to create the bridge, with these commands -

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0 0.0.0.0 up
ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0 up
modprobe bridge
brctl addbr br0
brctl addif br0 wlan0
brctl addif br0 eth0
Now run the Network Wizard again. Don't touch the "wlan0" settings.
Set up an internet connection using the "br0" (bridged) interface, by clicking on the "Auto DHCP" button.

Now connect your IP phone to the ethernet port on your Puppy computer, and see if the phone can acquire an internet connection.

EDIT: May 29 2012
Your wifi interface might not be "wlan0"
It might be "eth1" or "ath0" or "ra0" or "rausb" - the Network Wizard will tell you.
Obviously, substitute "wlan0" with the correct name of your interface.

Posted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 11:54
by tempestuous
It would have been nice, and appropriate, if the outcome had been reported.

Posted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 09:11
by niteendlewis
Apologies tempestuous I did not notice the replies to my post... I did not have to use this as I got a software IP phone that forwards call to my mobile.. thanks for the help though..am sure someone else will come looking for this and will find it useful...

Posted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 10:52
by 8-bit
My setup has a DSL router with wireless attached to my eth0 port on my PC with another wireless router/no DSL attached to the DSL router.
So I have a private network, second router as well as the DSL router and 2 wireless access points. This setup allows me to have one configured with a key and the other open.
I live too far from the nearest neighbor to worry about encryption though.

How to bridge my wireless interfact to Ethernet port?

Posted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 05:08
by lshawk3
I have a similar need to bridge wlan0 to eth0. However I'm getting this error message:

Can't add wlan0 to br0: Operation not supported

I'm running Puppy 5.2.8 on an AMD Duron with 512MB memory.

My goal is to connect the rental apartment's public WiFi through a router to my own local and secure network. Currently I'm expecting it to be this way:

{Apartment's WiFi} <-wlan0-> [Puppy] <-eth0-> [Router] <-lan->[Desktop Win7], [Laptop 1 WinXP], [Laptop 2 WinXP], [Apple Ipod], [NextBook], [Printer] and [Network Storage]

Am I being too ambitious?

Posted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 17:03
by Aitch

Bridge

Posted: Mon 28 May 2012, 18:11
by claude
Is there any bridge pet available for wireless adaptor with rt73 driver (tp-link TL-WN321G) ?

Thank you very much.

Claude

Posted: Tue 29 May 2012, 03:59
by tempestuous
The bridge-utils-1.5.pet
package mentioned above is compatible with all wifi interfaces.

It's attached to the same forum post as hostapd-0.7.3.pet
- but don't download that package - it's for a specific purpose, and it only works with Prism2/3 and early Atheros wifi devices.

... also see my updated instructions above.

bridge

Posted: Tue 29 May 2012, 14:23
by claude
I tried bridge-utils 1.5 with Puppy Slacko 5.3.1:

I can't add interface wlan0 to the bridge interface (br0) created:

msg output: can't add wlan0 to bridge br0: Operation not supported

eth0 interface was added ok.

eth0 was configured as 0.0.0.0
wlan0 was configured as 0.0.0.0

Claude

Posted: Tue 29 May 2012, 17:51
by tempestuous
claude wrote:msg output: can't add wlan0 to bridge br0: Operation not supported
Yes, I just tested the bridge-utils-1.5.pet package now in Slacko 5.3 ...
you're right, it doesn't work.

I compiled this package in Puppy 5.1 (Lucid) and it definitely works there.

So you will need to ask one of the Slacko developers to compile this package for Slacko.
The source code is here -
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bridge/files/

bridge and slacko

Posted: Wed 30 May 2012, 15:38
by claude
I downloaded devx_slacko_531.sfs and the source for bridge-utils 1.5:
I compiled bridge-utils under slacko 5.3.1 but I got the same output msg if I try to add wlan0 interface to my bridge def.

Any other suggestion would be welcome.

Thank you very much.

Claude

Posted: Thu 31 Dec 2015, 07:44
by noswal
I wonder if there is any update to bridging Wlan0 to eth0 am running puppy 5.7.1 and installed bridge-utils but it fails to recognize add bridge commands

modprobe bridge
FATAL: Module bridge not found

brctl addbr br0
add bridge failed: Package not installed

brctl lists all commands, so it is installed.

Posted: Thu 31 Dec 2015, 16:01
by rcrsn51
Just to clarify: Your computer currently has Internet access through its wlan0 interface and you want to share that access out your eth0 interface, possibly to an Ethernet switch?

Posted: Thu 31 Dec 2015, 16:04
by noswal
That is correct.

Posted: Thu 31 Dec 2015, 16:06
by rcrsn51
I am sending you a PM with some things to test.