Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 16:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dpup: Squeezed Puppy 4.99.2 bug reports and feedback :)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 19 May 2011, 17:15    Post subject: Dpup: Squeezed Puppy 4.99.2 bug reports and feedback :)  

Frugal install to acer revo nettop.
I got to the desktop after choosing the nv driver.

Thu 19 May 2011 Operating System: Squeezed Puppy-4.99.2 Linux 2.6.32
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation ION VGA (rev b1)
oem: NVIDIA product: MCP79 Board - hornet-0 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nv
X.Org version: 1.7.7
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU 330
Core 0: 1600 1: 1600 2: 1600 3: 1600 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.

This pc has an ION graphics chip so I downloaded the
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-270.41.06.run driver and installed that.

Thu 19 May 2011 Operating System: Squeezed Puppy-4.99.2 Linux 2.6.32
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation ION VGA (rev b1)
oem: NVIDIA product: MCP79 Board - hornet-0 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.7.7
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (373x231 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU 330
Core 0: 1600 1: 1600 2: 1600 3: 1600 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.

Installing that removed the nv driver, hardware acceleration is
working now.
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.22 KB
 Viewed   1729 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 19 May 2011, 18:04    Post subject:  

I wonder if the problem with xorgwizard and the nouveau driver is that when "xorg -configure" is run (it's needed to create /etc/X11/xorg.conf) there is an option for nouveau that that includes the "%" (percent) char. Barry has code in xorgwizard that converts all "%" chars to a new line (\n). So, what happens is there ends up a syntax error in the xorg.conf.

A simple workaround is to edit the xorg.conf in mp after you get dumped at the prompt.
Code:
mp /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Look for a stray " (double quote) , it will be on a line on it's own in the driver section. It should be on the previous line with the "%" char.. (you'll see the"percentage" entry there). Fix that and run xwin, away you go.

It's all well and good to say nouveau is buggy but it has improved substantially over the last 12 months. I can get decent hardware acceleration with it now.

_______________________________________________________

EDIT:.. I just tried dpup and the above is not the problem.The nouveau kernel module is not included, so nouveau may as well be ditched as this is needed for nouveau to load.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 May 2011, 20:18    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

_______________________________________________________

EDIT:.. I just tried dpup and the above is not the problem.The nouveau kernel module is not included, so nouveau may as well be ditched as this is needed for nouveau to load.

good Idea mick, I was looking for the missing " but couldn't find it, That explains it well.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 00:01    Post subject:  

Cannot setup Xorg. Boot and enter X-mode with Xvesa
sqeeze use CUPS 1.4. But I can't enter web-Interface to add printer with username="root" and "password="woofwoof".
Connect to Internet with USB 3G Huawei 173Eu -> Good (I'd posted this message to forum)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 03:17    Post subject:  

I feel very unsure about this. How do I know he just not set it up like that so I expect too much.

It failed on my gear to play any music video clip from youtube. While his Wary play almost all and most other puppies does too.

Maybe he wants me to dl the needed music player? So I have no idea.

Picture viewing was different too. one could not use + or - to change the size of the picture.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 06:10    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
I feel very unsure about this. How do I know he just not set it up like that so I expect too much.

It failed on my gear to play any music video clip from youtube. While his Wary play almost all and most other puppies does too.

Maybe he wants me to dl the needed music player? So I have no idea.

Picture viewing was different too. one could not use + or - to change the size of the picture.

Yes the picture viewer needs to be changed it does have fotoxx and mtpaint in the menu, either would make a better viewer. hmmm a bit late to test youtube, I already compiled/installed ffmpeg + others.
But other than that it ran ok on your pc?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 06:22    Post subject:  

I guess his priority where to get access to Debian repo the highest priority.
That is totally okay with me. if one know this at boot Smile

Like other Debian the JMW is set to not allow 1024 x 768 if one screen of two has only 600 resolution while Lupu don't care about such and if I chose 1024 x 768 then it force that one on both screens I guess and I prefer it that way.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 16:31    Post subject:  

I installed FRUGAL Lin'N'Win.

First problem: After selecting probe I only got to the X-prompt.
I then typed xorgwizard and did take choose and then the radeon driver.
I got the desktop then.

Second problem:
The X-keyboard stayed us altho I configured latin1-be.
But in the X-prompt the keyboard is latin1-be. Don't see how I can get the correct keyboard.

I then rebooted and was prompted for a save file. When entering the save file name I realized the keyboard was latin1-be. Well.

So not very usable for me.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 17:07    Post subject:  

Frugal installation on an ext3 partition. Booted fine with an nv driver, hope that a nvidia driver will be available soon. Everything appears to be working on my hardware.

Only issue so far is that a user name and password are required to install a printer. Anyone remember those?

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 17:45    Post subject:  

I have seen posts about this.
Try searching with the puppysearch link in my sig on password cups

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 17:59    Post subject:  

Printer issues were discussed in the previous squeeze thread. Karl Godt provided solution in that thread and it worked for me when I made experimental squeeze build using Iguleders work.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=454013#454013

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=453676#453676
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 19:17    Post subject:  

1) Thank you Béèm and Pemasu
Solved Printer's Prob in Sqzd Pup

2) Connect to Internet via 3G USB ZTE MF100 RoHS: Good
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 19:47    Post subject:  

vanchutr wrote:
1) Thank you Béèm and Pemasu
Solved Printer's Prob in Sqzd Pup

2) Connect to Internet via 3G USB ZTE MF100 RoHS: Good
Glad to hear you got it sorted.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2011, 06:28    Post subject:  

Hi tuuxxx,

regarding the xorgwizard:
In woof i swapped squeezed xorg_base package for lucid525 xorg_base package and i am now able to get to the desktop with xorgwizard / probe with out getting dropped back to prompt or having to select a driver.

Here is both xorg_base packages in case you want to compare.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/gbr7pdt0p10lldb/xorg_base.tar.gz

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 818
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 20:31    Post subject:  

Hi All,

Just starting to explore Squeezed Puppy. Like Beem, I have Ati Raedon so had to "choose" it from the initial Xorgwizard routine. I discovered that by accident. Initially, I must have accidentally selected Vesa. I didn't realize it until I had created a Savefile. On reboot, seeing that the desktop icons were too large and unable to find a way reduce them I tried to re-run Xorgwizard. Squeeze wouldn't let me. That's the important point.
Booted into another Puppy, deleted the SaveFile and rebooted, this time selecting "choose." Selecting "probe" resulted in "fbdev" being offered, with like results to Ttuuxxx's.
So hopefully, Stu90's solution will resolve all Xorg issues.
As I run four XP app under wine, and Opera and Firefox from mnt/home, I installed greendome's Wine-1.3.13-Lucid52.pet, and then ran a pet I created that installs one XP app, creates a menu entry for it, and menu entries the three XP portables and Opera and Firefox all on mnt/home. The pet was created in Snowpuppy: Lucid 5,11. Ran into one hitch. The Opera.desktop file in /usr/share/applications and/or the script in /my-applications/bin to call Opera were not recognized. Deleted them and ran the Opera_extra_distros.pet DaveS created, which worked. Not sure why 5 scripts would work and 1 won't. Is Squeeze using a different BASH?
At any rate, both Opera 11 (downloaded and unpacked from Opera) and Firefox 4 (downloaded and unpacked from Mozilla) now work, including Flash.
By the way, if you run wine, try Foxit Reader portable. It's far superior to any other pdf reader: permits highlighting and annotations.

Really looking forward to developments of this puppy.

mikeslr

Added: Just tried to add mtpaintsnapshot to the tray. Initially got an unrecognizable icon without tool tip which did nothing. Figuring I did something wrong, I tried to edit it. Lost the tray entirely. Will have to delete SaveFile and start again. Should have created a protected SaveFile before exploring an "alpha" puplet.

Edit: Re "not being able to re-run Xorgwizard" -- I was used to separate menu entry. One has to select "Wizard Wizard" to reach it.

Last edited by mikeslr on Mon 23 May 2011, 11:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0941s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]