Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 09:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dpup: Squeezed Puppy 4.99.2 bug reports and feedback :)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2011, 07:27    Post subject:  

Code:
VIDEO REPORT: Squeezed Puppy, version 4.99.2

Chip description:
 Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller
 Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution:  Depth 24  Depth: "Display"

network wizard connected wifi after second attempt. then dropped connection and required two more trys to get it connected again. frisbee is best.
continually flickering of text under/for "install" desktop icon. sometimes spreads to flicker other desktop-text.never seen this in any puppy before.

as with other woofs the initial mouseover info screen doesnt fit the screen.
pushing a window through the top of the screen drops it tthe bottom of the screen. i dont like it. cant see the bottom of big windows.
clicking "filename" in pfind doesnt sort the results by name.
mostly ok though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2011, 12:08    Post subject: Modifications of Xorgwizard & jwm config are required  

Hi All again,

After deleting SaveFile and rebuilding, I've explored some more. From prior posts, including my own experience, Xorgwizard currently does not ID the correct video driver. The work-around was to use the "choose" option == not particularly newby friendly. I'll add, that even doing so does not produce 100% acceptable results. My monitor will display at 1600 x 900: something all other Puppys enable. In Squeezed, selecting that resolution only results in a display of 1152 x 864.
Stu90's solution requires a woof rebuild. Also not very newby friendly. Is a modification via pet possible?

After rebuilding of SaveFile (and creation of protected copy while running another puppy) I again tried to add mtpaintsnapshot to jwm's tray. Same results: meaningless icon, no tooltip, clicking does nothing. I'll try to figure out how to install openbox --which from Lupus I decided is just as useful as jwm-- and see if it solves "apps in tray" problem.

I Just tried to open a spreadsheet on an ntfs partition. Squeezed reported error. Partition, directory & file opened, but the latter as "read-only." Note, I did not select "fido."

Still looking forward to developments as Squeezed seems to boot faster than others, and dpups seem (on the whole) to run better on my systems. Beyond that, with Ubuntu having decided that bloat is user friendly, debian IMHO remains the best source to woof.

[Side note for devs: Latest incarnation of Linux Mint has a new APT utility which will download (without installing) an application with ALL its dependencies. Perhaps it can be of some use if you don't mind running Mint. Or better yet, if it can be run in Puppy. But as this area is beyond my technical level, I've no way of comparing its utility to iguleder's pbthing].

Does anyone have a suggestion as to what I should test next, other than printers & scanners which I don't have connected? Would it be best to check fundamentals (which? how?) and then woof a new base ISO?

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5429
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2011, 03:38    Post subject:  

I grabbed an old Windows 98 box off the shelf so....... Squeezed 4.99.2 live pfix=ram.

Everything working on boot, internet, display and sound.


VIDEO REPORT: Squeezed Puppy, version 4.99.2

Chip description:
oem: ATI MACH64

Driver used by Xorg:
mach64

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 16 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video


-Computer-
Processor : Celeron (Mendocino)
Memory : 385MB (124MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue 24 May 2011 02:48:13 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ENS1371 - Ensoniq AudioPCI

-Processor-
Name : Celeron (Mendocino)
Family, model, stepping : 6, 6, 5 (Pentium II/Pentium II Xeon/Celeron)
Vendor : Intel
-Configuration-
Cache Size : 128kb
Frequency : 434.36MHz
BogoMIPS : 868.71
Byte Order : Little Endian

Ethernet controller : ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100
Multimedia audio controller : Ensoniq ES1371 [AudioPCI-97]
VGA compatible controller : ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage IIC AGP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cagwait


Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2011, 18:47    Post subject: Dpup: Squeezed Puppy 4.99.2 bug reports and feedback :)  

Successfully ran live via Cd. Video works , sounds works connects to wired internet on boot.
No media player as stated in the announcemont but ppm debian repos appears to work ok so i installed ffmpeg, mp3 now play ok, also installed debians branded ffox iceweasel browser, runs well.
however on my live run clicking on the desktop calendar icon to open osmo nothing happens, is anybody else having this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2011, 19:43    Post subject: Problems with Boot & adding mtpaintsnapshot to tray
Subject description: Pupsnap Could be added
 

I'm not sure what happened. After creating a SaveFile, Squeezed hung while booting. Required a hard reset. The second time it hung, I booted into any Puppy OS, deleted my active SaveFile, and copied my protected SaveFile to the active position. Booted OK.

Among the things I do is add a screenshot app to the tray so I don't have to wade thru menus when I want to use it. I attempted to add mtpaintshapshot.sh, but nothing happened. So I downloaded Pupsnap and was able to add it to the tray.

This is probably NOT a Squeezed problem. The reason I decided to try Pupsnap is because Snowpuppy 018 has both screenshot apps and I was similarly unable to add mtpaintsnapshot to its tray, but could add Pupsnap. Note, both Squeezed and Snowpuppy 018 were using JWM as its window manager.

If no one else has had a problem with adding apps to JWM's tray, I'll assume its an mtpaint or mikesLr problem.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2011, 18:44    Post subject:  

Hi, like to try but wl driver not included. tried Piratesmack pet driver guide but too much lack of skill on this end. Do you have a wl driver pet? thanks jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jun 2011, 15:03    Post subject: Cups Login  

Has anyone figured out why-
Id: root
Password: woofwoof

won't let you into the Admin part of cups to configure a printer?

I looked at the 'go to treads' on page 2 here, tried the config's recommended but that didn't seem to work either?

Do we need a different version of cups or something?

'Thanks'

>>>---Indian------>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8546
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 07:43    Post subject: Re: Cups Login  

sszindian wrote:
Do we need a different version of cups or something?

Try this.

1. Run
Code:
rm /usr/share/ghostscript/8.15

2. Go here and get CUPS 1.3.11. Just install Items 1, 2 and 5.

3. Download an older version of Ghostscript from here.

You may need to clear your browser's cache to make the new CUPS web pages display properly.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sat 11 Jun 2011, 19:41; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 12:27    Post subject: Cups Login  

Gave that a try rcrsn51... Same thing happens, root and woofwoof won't let me log-in to config a printer!

>>>---Indian------>
cups-admin.png
 Description   
 Filesize   9.76 KB
 Viewed   1080 Time(s)

cups-admin.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8546
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
Gave that a try rcrsn51... Same thing happens, root and woofwoof won't let me log-in to config a printer!

I just did a fresh install of sqzd-4.99.2 and it worked fine for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:49    Post subject: Cups Login  

Seems to be the story of my life with printers Sad

I noticed in BK's blog he had fixed some problems... maybe that was one of them? I downloaded my copy about a week or so ago. Maybe I should go for a fresh copy and try again! I just hate having to re-do stuff especially when you already have a lot of work on it in other areas of the program.. Oh well!

'Thanks for the help (you're always there when needed)'

>>>---Indian------>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8546
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 14:16    Post subject:  

Have you cleared your browser cache? This install of CUPS 1.3.11 shouldn't ask for a password at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 18:24    Post subject: cups login  

Hmmm... I checked the version on this one I have and it reports 1.4.3 Like I say, I probably have one of the earliest releases of 4.99, in fact I'm going to go into another program and HHD where I downloaded it and check, I don't seem to remember the .2 on the end of the download?

Be back....

>>>---Indian------>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8546
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 18:28    Post subject: Re: cups login  

sszindian wrote:
Hmmm... I checked the version on this one I have and it reports 1.4.3

Did you install both items stated above - CUPS 1.3.11 and the old Ghostscript?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 19:02    Post subject: Cups Login  

rcrsn51 said:

Did you install both items stated above - CUPS 1.3.11 and the old Ghostscript?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And sszindian says... I should bend over and let rcrsn51 give me a good swift boot... you know where!!!!

I completely overlooked that last line in your above post about the cups 1.3.11 and the old ghostscript I guess thinking it was just your signature like most others have... after awhile you kind of overlook them.

Anyway... you hit the nail right-on, my hp 1050 All-in-One j410 series printed a beautiful test page !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And again rcrsn51, 'Thanks for keeping after me' I was really getting disgusted after that mess we wnt through on the Cloud Puppy .iso (never did get a printer setup in that as yet, but still trying Sad )

Again thanks... I'm sure many who try this 4.99.2 will appreciate your efforts!

>>>---Indian------>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0803s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]