Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 12:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Macpup 525 & Macpup 528 & 528v2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 27 of 32 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Next
Author Message
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2012, 17:54    Post_subject:  

This is cool Very Happy :

http://www.pcmech.com/article/macpup-the-great-looking-tiny-linux-distro-youve-been-looking-for/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 433
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 06:23    Post_subject:  

Hi runtt21

Thanks for your quick reply .
Followed your advise. Mixer module now working fine .

One more time ....Macpup is a real fantastic distro .

Fast- sophisticated- elegant .

See you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 16:51    Post_subject:  

And sometimes it even works on backi's computer. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2012, 14:44    Post_subject: Macpup528
Sub_title: Chrome browser
 

Hi
I'm new to Macpup. I haven't read all the way through the 25 pages on this thread so apologies if this query has already been answered. Installed the latest Macpup528 from your download mirror.
Firstly - wow it's fast. I had a vanilla install of Racy pup which was also quick but I guess running in memory really helps. My Acer Aspire laptop has twin Intel U4100 CPUs with 4 gigs memory so there's plenty of headroom.

I used Quickpet to download chrome browser which I have been using quite a lot - I love the sync feature so that I have essentially the same browser on all my desktops (about 10 or so if you count all the distros and derivatives and WinXP for my wife and compatibility sometimes!).

The sync feature in chrome just hangs - I can navigate to most pages I (only got "aw snap" for the chrome store) but no sync.
Any similar experiences or advice to offer?
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2012, 16:45    Post_subject:  

I don't use chrome so I can't say for sure. But Firefox keeps all of it settings ,bookmarks and stuff in /root/.mozilla . If you can find where chrome keeps it stuff you can copy the file into macpup and have all of your "stuff".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 11:53    Post_subject: Chromium Browser  

I decided to try and use puppy package manager to see if I could find a later version. Only the same version of the Chromium Browser that I already had installed came up so I decided to activate the puppy-lucid-main repository (Warning: it takes a looong time to download and update).
I then searched again with that repository checked, and there were several versions of the Chromium browser to choose from.
I picked the most recent and after a slooow download from ibiblio.com I now have the latest Chromium browser installed, synced and working great.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 13:05    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Geeqie
 

I found a Geeqie pet that works for Macpup (much prefer it to Viewnior)

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=44049

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 20:43    Post_subject:  

New video....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITvBqejP3SU
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2012, 22:12    Post_subject:  

Just finished a new build of e 71440 will start testing tomorrow if all goes well I should have another update for mp528 and mp528v2 soon.

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 01:48    Post_subject:  

Using Macpup 528 v2
I have a partition on my laptop that is ext4 (it has Mint 12 loaded on it).
The version of Pmount in Macpup doesn't recognize an ext4 partition.
I get a red box with an error message "unable to load load sda7" but when I exit to other distros there is no problem with the partition.
I believe there is a version of pmount out there that is ext4 friendly.
Any plans to use a version of pmount that will recognize and mount ext4 partitions?

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 05:07    Post_subject:  

runtt21 wrote:
Just finished a new build of e 71440 will start testing tomorrow if all goes well I should have another update for mp528 and mp528v2 soon.



Congrats !

Tried to built the core modules eina eet evas was ok but failed to build ecore and further .

Will stick with edje_[de]cc . I used to switch to b_a_w grill_light when i want to use the configuration panel to be able to read some lines .

Btw Macpup511 had no language modules installed . The lang .mo from Opera2 worked fine on Macpup5111 .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 17:10    Post_subject:  

Barburo wrote:

I believe there is a version of pmount out there that is ext4 friendly.


Where did you see this?

@ Karl, "to be able to read some lines" try using older style themes like smoke or night bling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 18:01    Post_subject:  

Barburo wrote:

I believe there is a version of pmount out there that is ext4 friendly.


Frugal install of Macpup 528 v2 ......... no problems mounting and accessing ext4 savefiles.. FWIW.
528 v2 ext4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   32.83 KB
 Viewed   874 Time(s)

528 v2  ext4.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 18:53    Post_subject:  

I know that the Lighthouse Pup derivatives all recognize ext4 partitions so I assumed that it was pmount that did it.
So ... I copied the pmount exec from LHPup 503 (Tazoc's latest 32-bit LHPup which correctly identifies my /dev/sda7 partition as ext4), and executed it in Macpup528.

It ran perfectly but listed my ext4 partition as ext3!
So I'm wondering where and how does Macpup identify the partitions?

I looked in fstab (after booting into macpup 528) and all I see is:
Quote:
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts gid=2,mode=620 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,rw 0 0

which doesn't tell me much.

I looked in LHpup /sbin and saw that Tazoc had another exec - pmount3 with a note that it was changed to recognize ext4 partitions. It ran properly on LHPup 503 but when I copied it to Macpup it only ran far enough to display the swap partition then it quit. I ran it in a terminal and it showed an error message .
Quote:
sh-4.1# /pmount3
Killing old window
/pmount3: line 770: 20400 Terminated yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Puppy Drive Mounter

Please wait, probing hardware..."

I'm not up to any more investigating than that so I pass this ext4 puzzle onto someone who's more tech capable than I am.
B

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 16:59    Post_subject:  

@Barburo , Macpup's pmount and the way it identifies partitions isthe same as lucid's.


I have almost finished my testing of the new updates and should have them uploaded in a few days. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 32 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0837s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]