Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Aug 2017, 07:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 170 of 175 [2620 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175 Next
Author Message
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 721
Location: Mid-mitten, USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 19:09    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
(I like the desktop clock).


Hi Colonel - that's cairo-clock (w/Radium clock face), installed from the Yum Extender package manager. Actually, all of the apps in the pic were in the default repos - MtPaint, Galculator, Gcolor2 - and TeeJee's Conky Manager was there as well (providing the conky in the lower right). Cool

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 703
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 21:20    Post subject:  

Windows 7 Professional >gak<

So I was recently given a Motion Computing CL900 slate /tablet: 2GB RAM, 1.5GHz Z670 Atom CPU, bluetooth keyboard, GPS - all very nice, and I'm really grateful. My usual plan is to debride the M$ OS of all but the essential software (ala Tiny7 etc), clean up and defrag muchly to provide a decent area on the hard drive to enable a dual boot with Puppy, or in this case a Tablet-focused Linux distro of some description. Somehow I couldn't get into the BIOS to check for boot ordering etc, to simplify distro testing on a SD card etc before squeezing it onto the 52GB HDD. Pressing the F2 key or touching the splash screen on startup doesn't do the deal for me. Still working on it - has been innumerous opportunities during restarts at abortive attempts to automatically "update" the "system". Perhaps there's an incantation I should be using...

Everything *was* working really nicely until I relented to the harping pop-ups that I needed updating for like, 2 years of protection for All That Is Good in the M$ Universe / Income Stream. I have been largely sheltered from M$ since jumping to Puppy before Vista became a "thing", but from my recent experience I simply cannot fathom that billions of M$ users (??) tolerate (and will until 2020) this level of service from their hard-earned. So many dead ends to get around the automatic "update" issues (finally found this instructional and working through it https://www.howtogeek.com/255435/how-to-update-windows-7-all-at-once-with-microsofts-convenience-rollup/). I haven't been using this OS - frankly, I feel that whatever is left of my sanity or intelligence has been used, and abused. I'm not currently writing from the CL900 - it says it has another 45 minutes to complete updates (read: another 3 wasted days). It is sitting over in the corner, glowering at me like a Monster Book of Monsters, teasing me with an infinite loop of "Searching for updates on this computer..." So I'm writing from my Trusty TahrPup 32 desktop, and feeling the stress slowly ebb away from my attempts at mastering the Dark Arts of M$.

Rant over

_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1895

PostPosted: Thu 23 Mar 2017, 14:10    Post subject:  

Moat wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
(I like the desktop clock).


Hi Colonel - that's cairo-clock (w/Radium clock face), installed from the Yum Extender package manager. Actually, all of the apps in the pic were in the default repos - MtPaint, Galculator, Gcolor2 - and TeeJee's Conky Manager was there as well (providing the conky in the lower right). Cool

Bob


Thanks.

I've just installed Neptune 4.5.2 and upgraded it to the latest release (4.5.3), and as usual it's a good Debian-based distro, albeit one with systemd (so not for people who want to avoid the latter).

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Korora 25 Mate, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8, Sparky 5.0 Game On and AntiX 16.2 (32-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Retro1989

Joined: 29 Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Location: England UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 15:51    Post subject:  

My main distro is actually Linux mint 18 mate and i have been using mint since version 11, usually prefering to stick on the LTS editions.
I use puppy on my media centre box as its only low end with 1 700mhz P3 CPU and 512mb RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 655
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 19:41    Post subject:  

Still using MX-15 (with constant upgrades). Works perfectly. Not a problem in months and months, and MONTHS. Recently installed Refracta Linux (sharing the same hard drive on main computer). Put Refracta on other, older computer. Very good results! MX is totally great for a higher-powered computer,..(really flies)....and Refracta works so well on older (low-powered) computers. Both are just really great (non-System-d) Debian based OS for any computer. Used to love Vector Linux, (Slackware-based)...but they seem to have gone by the wayside lately. So impressed by Refracta, though,....(and MX has no equal, in my book).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 655
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 13:43    Post subject:  

Installed Absolute 14.2 on my second computer (one that I use quite a lot). Couldn't get my network going. Nothing I tried worked. Then I remembered a previous post here by Colonel Panic......
(the one where he says that a LQ thread mentioned using "dhclient eth0" in terminal). By gummie, that works! Thanks Col. P. (nitehawk very happy).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1895

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 15:01    Post subject:  

Thanks for telling me that too nitie, it's great to know I was able to make a difference! That's the joy of a forum like this one; you never know when something you've written in the past
about a problem you've had, and managed to find a solution to, may be of benefit to someone else having the same or a similar problem.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Korora 25 Mate, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8, Sparky 5.0 Game On and AntiX 16.2 (32-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 655
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Mon 03 Apr 2017, 13:10    Post subject:  

...yes,..still very happy with Absolute. Only BIG problem, is no sound! I guess it's a problem with Slackware 14.2 itself. Nothing I try works,...but I've been over to LQ to try and find a solution. Refracta (that I have on another partition)...won't boot anymore when I added SlackO 6.3 to a partition (and added Grub4Dos). That's a "Devuan" thing, since I had that very same thing happen to an install of Devuan.
I just put on MX-16 on that partition ....problem solved. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1895

PostPosted: Mon 03 Apr 2017, 14:34    Post subject:  

nitehawk wrote:
...yes,..still very happy with Absolute. Only BIG problem, is no sound! I guess it's a problem with Slackware 14.2 itself. Nothing I try works,...but I've been over to LQ to try and find a solution. Refracta (that I have on another partition)...won't boot anymore when I added SlackO 6.3 to a partition (and added Grub4Dos). That's a "Devuan" thing, since I had that very same thing happen to an install of Devuan.
I just put on MX-16 on that partition ....problem solved. Laughing


Hi again Nitie,

Slack 14.2 has moved over to PulseAudio, which I don't like and doesn't work well on my computer. Usually when distros insist on loading Pulse I can just get into alsamixer and select the sound card manually, but if I remember rightly I had to reinstall a couple of packages including PulseAudio itself and alsa-utils before I could get sound working. I agree, it's a nuisance but it might work with your machine.

Grub4DOS ... I feel your pain with that too. It doesn't seem to like booting distros based on Devuan / Ubuntu together with ones based on Slackware, and will just ignore all the non-Slack ones (or at least the kernels).

I'm not an expert on Grub and generally try and let the distros take care of it automatically when I install them, but that hasn't been working out too well recently and I might try and set the config file up manually instead next time (or use a different boot manager such as Plop).

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Korora 25 Mate, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8, Sparky 5.0 Game On and AntiX 16.2 (32-bit).

Last edited by Colonel Panic on Tue 18 Apr 2017, 07:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 655
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 11:28    Post subject:  

Well,...never could get the sound working in Absolute Linux. Switched over to Salix,...and discovered that I like it a LOT! It's a keeper on my "most-used" computer (Got Windows7--MX--Salix--SlackO 6.3 on a Tb hard drive).

Now,...only problem I see with Salix,..is that it is too big for a CD now. I used a flashdrive (and unetbootin) to install. I want to put the 32 bit version on a really OLD Dell Optiplex,....but I'm all out of DVD disks,..and the Dell won't boot from flashdrives. DRATS! Maybe it's Antix and Puppy for that old computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1895

PostPosted: Wed 12 Apr 2017, 03:37    Post subject:  

nitehawk wrote:
Well,...never could get the sound working in Absolute Linux. Switched over to Salix,...and discovered that I like it a LOT! It's a keeper on my "most-used" computer (Got Windows7--MX--Salix--SlackO 6.3 on a Tb hard drive).

Now,...only problem I see with Salix,..is that it is too big for a CD now. I used a flashdrive (and unetbootin) to install. I want to put the 32 bit version on a really OLD Dell Optiplex,....but I'm all out of DVD disks,..and the Dell won't boot from flashdrives. DRATS! Maybe it's Antix and Puppy for that old computer.


I agree nitie, Salix is too big for a CD now. Vector Light still runs (and installs) off a CD though, so that might be worth a look.

There's a new version of Salix Live (14.2.1) out this week, and I might test it out if I get some time this weekend. For now though, since I've had a lot of trouble getting this machine to boot recently I've taken the bold step of refomatting my hard drive and using it exclusively to store Puppy save and .sfs files - sort of a halfway house towards a frugal install, but without installing Grub on the hard drive's MBR. I'm mostly using PuppEX (Exton) Xenial, though I've also been using Tahr64 606 and PuppEX Slacko 6.3.0.

I've tried installing distros (especially MX) on a flash drive, but it's almost glacially slow to load an application from USB and I'm afraid I just don't have the patience to persevere with that.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Korora 25 Mate, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8, Sparky 5.0 Game On and AntiX 16.2 (32-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 1921
Location: Wisconsin USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Apr 2017, 09:01    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
I've tried installing distros (especially MX) on a flash drive, but it's almost glacially slow to load an application from USB and I'm afraid I just don't have the patience to persevere with that.


Don't you have access to USB3? Maybe a USB SSD or USB HDD might help.

_________________
....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1895

PostPosted: Wed 12 Apr 2017, 10:16    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
I've tried installing distros (especially MX) on a flash drive, but it's almost glacially slow to load an application from USB and I'm afraid I just don't have the patience to persevere with that.


Don't you have access to USB3? Maybe a USB SSD or USB HDD might help.


Thanks for the advice, but I've got a 2008 computer so I'm reluctant to spend a lot of money to fix anything with it. The easiest way of fixing this by spending more money would be to buy a new internal hard drive; a 500 GB hard drive is about £25 on Amazon and it would still be bigger than the one I have now.

As it is, I've got a solution that works; I've just got to remember where my Puppy disks are so that I don't mislay them for when I get up in the morning (and so far I've managed not to).

[EDIT: actually I don't even need to do that. If I leave the lupu CD in the CD drive when I power the machine down, when I boot it up again it will load itself and then its savefile of its own accord without my needing to select any.]

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Korora 25 Mate, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8, Sparky 5.0 Game On and AntiX 16.2 (32-bit).

Last edited by Colonel Panic on Sat 15 Apr 2017, 05:10; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
realwigums

Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 12 Apr 2017, 13:22    Post subject: other OS's  

i run slackware almost exclusively anymore. im really liking slacko too

ive also dev'd on yoper linux and vector linux and am starting another which will be called principia (slackware based) which will include zfs on root and dep handling of official slackware packages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 721
Location: Mid-mitten, USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Apr 2017, 15:35    Post subject:  

Just tried the new Ubuntu Gnome 17.04, released today. Ugg. Confused USB live session, and Wifi detected but wouldn't connect. Fail!

I don't at all "get" Gnome 3 - everything is so "dumbed down" - too-big icons/titlebars (utter waste of screen space), clumsy finding/accessing applications via the dash/menu/launcher/whatever, severe lack of native functionality/options in many applications and widgets, difficult to customize the desktop/layout without jumping through hoops (if even then), aesthetically too simplistic and flat.

The environment makes it feel like there's a "wall" of sorts, between the user and the operating system and it's functions... and either you accept things as they are OOTB, or "...tough luck". Question

Seems to me that Linux tends to attract "power users" - people who like full and easily-accessed features that allow setting up and customizing the system to their preferences/workflow needs (one of the great, traditional characteristics of Linux) - Gnome 3 is so dumbed down as to completely work against that kind of power and flexibility. Anti-Linux, really. Why?? I have no idea what's behind their intentions/goals (mimic the flawed Windows 10 UI, I suppose...) - but it's an overall blatant failure, IMHO. I've tried (and failed) to like it in the past, and tried again (and failed) today with the latest stable version. Yechhh!! Sad

Mate, Xfce and Lxde, FTW (none of which are perfect, but still vastly superior overall) .

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 170 of 175 [2620 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0826s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0226s) ][ GZIP on ]