Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 17:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 102 [1517 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 100, 101, 102 Next
Author Message
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1438

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 02:45    Post subject:  

harii4 wrote:
I'm looking for an minimalistic slackware Distros .
Really like the slackware tools pkgtools, slapt-get and gslapt.
Thank you BIG_BASS for that - i'm hooked Very Happy
For now its 3.02 "StarDrop" and TXZ_PUP - slackware with training wheels.


Basic Linux is a minimalistic Slackware distro. It's the one I started out with, but I don't know if it's still being developed;

http://www.volny.cz/basiclinux/

I have fond memories of BasicLinux from 2005, surfing the Internet in Opera 5 with a Pentium P100 with only 32 MB of RAM. Smile

However, there are more options now. I'd say try Turbo Puppy (or Turbo Extreme) if you've got a really old computer, or possibly Puppy PULP, before you try anything else.

_________________
Compaq Deskpro Pentium III (866 MHz), 512 MB of RAM, 30 GB hard drive running Puppy Fire Hydrant Inferno, Puppy Precise 5.71 Retro, Puppy 5.5 Wary, Puppy Legacy OS4 Mini and Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS.

Last edited by Colonel Panic on Fri 26 Aug 2011, 06:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10518
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 05:51    Post subject:  

Thanks Laika, that solution is a good one too. It means that you could have it on a stick with you and it is already set up to go? Unless the hardware on that computer act up in some way.

Good that you told me that one could do such a thing. That way hopefully it would also remember åäö and that I want to be root Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laika


Joined: 15 Jan 2007
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 09:52    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
It means that you could have it on a stick with you and it is already set up to go? Unless the hardware on that computer act up in some way.


Good point, nooby! That method copies configurations for the particular hardware on which it's running at that time, so the resulting iso might not behave well on another machine with different hardware. Also, it copies whatever passwords and other information on the machine at that moment, which is something to consider from a privacy/security aspect.

Also, there may be a boot option with SliTaz to instruct it to mount a home directory at boot. Maybe a knowlegeable person could make that an equivalent to a savefile? Read the splash screen or hit F5 (or is F6?) before she boots for more instruction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tikbalang


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 10:31    Post subject:  

laika wrote:


Also, there may be a boot option with SliTaz to instruct it to mount a home directory at boot. Maybe a knowlegeable person could make that an equivalent to a savefile? Read the splash screen or hit F5 (or is F6?) before she boots for more instruction.




slitaz works in the opposite manner as puppy. it is the root filesystem that is compressed in rootfs.gz and userspace is specified in "home=UUID". there is no need to save rootfs unless the user wants to keep core changes, newly installed apps. application config are stored in /home/username/*.

Code:


title SlitazX
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /slitaz/slitazx.lst
kernel /boot/bzimage rw root=/dev/null home=4039-E1EC autologin lang=en_US kmap=us vga=789 screen=1024x768x24
initrd /boot/rootfs.gz



above is my configfile for grub4dos and it works for usb and hd frugal install. one just need to specifiy the correct UUID for "home=".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laika


Joined: 15 Jan 2007
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 13:15    Post subject:  

tikbalang, thanks for making that business of a persistent home userspace for SliTaz clearer! It's not something that I've tried, but I may well put that trick to use. Very good of you to spell it out for us.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10518
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 13:34    Post subject:  

tikbalang wrote:


Code:


title SlitazX
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /slitaz/slitazx.lst
kernel /boot/bzimage rw root=/dev/null home=4039-E1EC autologin lang=en_US kmap=us vga=789 screen=1024x768x24
initrd /boot/rootfs.gz


above is my configfile for grub4dos and it works for usb and hd frugal install. one just need to specifiy the correct UUID for "home=".


Code:

title SliTaz cooking
  kernel (hd0,2)/slitaz3boot/bzImage rw root=/dev/null slitaz vga=771 nosmp acpi=off
  initrd (hd0,2)/slitaz3boot/rootfs.gz


What does this part do? /slitaz/slitazx.lst why should it do autologin?
Thanks, I managed to boot without the UUID. You mean it can only save changes if one give it the UUID thing.

What was it one did to get UUID

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tikbalang


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 16:20    Post subject:  

home=4039-E1EC
- sets the partition to use for persistence
- in fat32, UUID = serial number of partition
- in linux console, type "blkid" to get a list of UUID's for your own disks.


autologin
- autologin as tux/tux in slitaz
- only needed once for hd/usb install


lang=en_US
kmap=us
vga=789
screen=1024x768x24
- sets desktop options at boot time


/slitaz/slitazx.lst
- grub4dos configfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10518
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 16:26    Post subject:  

Thanks but that is why I don't use this one.
Code:

autologin
- autologin as tux/tux in slitaz
- only needed once for hd/usb install


I could be wrong but if one delete that one then it ask for log in and that allow me to make it more puppy like buy entering root there and then I can save to the hdd I booted from hopefully? I did a test and Slitaz allow me to save text files to the same hdd that I booted in frugal install Smile Very good.

So slitaz has it's own grub list. that is kind of cool Okay.

Edit the more I think about it. I mean wow. Slitaz is good apart from it being very slow using midori. I guess it has to do with toram I most likely fail to tell it to load into ram? But Slitaz is even better than Knoppix is it not?

Better than TinyCore so

1. Puppy
2. Slitaz
3. ...

4. ...

5....

all the others Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tikbalang


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 02:24    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Thanks but that is why I don't use this one.
Code:

autologin
- autologin as tux/tux in slitaz
- only needed once for hd/usb install


I could be wrong but if one delete that one then it ask for log in and that allow me to make it more puppy like buy entering root there and then I can save to the hdd I booted from hopefully? I did a test and Slitaz allow me to save text files to the same hdd that I booted in frugal install Smile Very good.



autologin is only need once for hd/usb install because it will get written to the login manager configfile (/etc/slim.conf). it is required only for the bootcd so user immediately goes to the desktop.



nooby wrote:


So slitaz has it's own grub list. that is kind of cool Okay.



that is only my own grub4dos setup. the original bootcd uses isolinux bootloader.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10518
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 06:39    Post subject:  

Godane on his blog seems to have experimented on Slitaz.

Godane's Development Blog

godane.wordpress.com/

Godane's Development Blog ... I hope to have slitaz source iso out later this week but that is not in stone. ...

https://bitbucket.org/godane/my-cookutils/overview ...

What became of that thing? did he improve on it. Did the others like it? He made a script that let one chose what it should include from scratch. A kind of chose your slitaz and build it like Arch?

I know too little him has been silent for some two month about it now so I guess school or work is taking up all his time.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 08:46    Post subject:  

nooby

did you see this one?

https://bitbucket.org/godane

this looked interesting, too....maybe suited to puppyfying?

http://godane.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/time-flys-when-working-on-mirror-iso/

Nooby, it seems godane's also involved in arch/archbang hacking

....perhaps you could email him and introduce him to puppy? Wink

https://github.com/godane/archiso2

http://godane.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/archbang-live-20100306-release/

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10518
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 09:19    Post subject:  

Thanks Aitch. I have read his blog and the comments there and as I get it him is doing study and work for living at same time and now have no time for computing? His main computer got broke and he could not afford a new one so somebody sent him a used computer so he changed from Arch to Slitaz because that new computer did not have the resources to do serious development for Arch on it. Too demanding I guess. Lack of RAM or something. So that is how him got into Slitaz

I maybe don't remember correctly.

But I did try his version of Archiso. It was the only Arch version that got to boot on my Acer so he seems to be good at what him is doing.

do you get what he wanted to accomplish with Slitaz?
Some kind of build script for modular creating of an iso?

One can decide on each app one want and in the end have a very unique set up?

That would be cool. Now that Slitaz almost works as good as Puppy does? Even save in a save file???
Small and have very much in it from scratch too and big repo?

I am kind of impressed by Slitaz but I know too little to get engaged into it and them would hate me if I joined their forum.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laika


Joined: 15 Jan 2007
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 17:02    Post subject:  

Nooby wrote:
Some kind of build script for modular creating of an iso?

One can decide on each app one want and in the end have a very unique set up?


Nooby, isn't that what SliTaz's Tazlito Tool does? I Haven't bothered to learn
it as SliTaz 3.0 was almost exactly the the distro that I would make for myself if
I knew how.

And speaking of near perfect distros, I'm using Tman's Wary Tiny at the
moment. Very nice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10518
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 18:48    Post subject:  

Yes but Godane wants his own twist on things he did that to Arch too and them had such tools already. He loves to experiment I guess.

But you know more about Slitaz than I do. Could he maybe not have known about it him starting way back in March? maybe them learned it from him or has it existed for a long time? How do them differ?

Anyway I would love to ahve Slitaz on my ntfs and save to some kind of savefile on same partition. How does one set such up?

no use to join their forum them would get upset and tell me to read the manual and I would tell them I fail to read such. And then I get banned for being nasty soemthing. I am not good at being a Linux pupil. So if you know how to do it I would love that you share with us

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1438

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2011, 08:16    Post subject:  

Just one more thought on this; has anyone else tried Swift, which is based on AntiX? I've just upgraded to the new version and it looks like a very good option for someone with an old computer;

http://antix.freeforums.org/post21802.html#p21802

The only real problem I've had with it so far is that my attempts to add new programs from the debian repos have been very "hit and miss", but that's a problem for their user forum rather than Puppy's Smile

_________________
Compaq Deskpro Pentium III (866 MHz), 512 MB of RAM, 30 GB hard drive running Puppy Fire Hydrant Inferno, Puppy Precise 5.71 Retro, Puppy 5.5 Wary, Puppy Legacy OS4 Mini and Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 102 [1517 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 100, 101, 102 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0886s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0113s) ][ GZIP on ]