Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 14 Dec 2018, 02:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-520 beta 1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
myke


Joined: 15 Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2011, 10:57    Post subject: Report  

I did an update: 511-->520. Booted up right into the desktop with WPA2 wifi accessed from frisbee automatically.

Had a problem with firefox 4.01 but had seamonkey. So, I checked: lost symbolic link to Downloads in fatdog64 directory. (Own fault as had renamed original directory to fatdog64-old). Remade link as absolute from spot directory.

Tried firefox again from menu and then from desktop, failed. Tried from console from rox-firefox on /usr/local/bin failed with no application.ini.

Downloaded firefox 5.0 - Aurora via wget -c into Downloads and installed successfully.

Thank you,

myke

_________________
AA1 D255E-keucr slacko 5.3;luci;mijnpup; tw-os; with:Emacs,gawk,noteboxmismanager,treesheets, freeplane, libreoffice, tkoutline, Sigil, calibre, calendar. magic&Noteliner(wine), kamas (DOS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
myke


Joined: 15 Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2011, 11:42    Post subject: Further Report  

Somehow, my hardware clock preferences were lost during the update and so I edited rc.country by hand to get UTC hwclock with my time zone.

Firefox is very fast and responsive (I don't use NoScript but use dictionaries for the languages I use plus adblock plus, element helper and no popup plus ghostery without the alert showing).

All in all, like it very much.

myke

_________________
AA1 D255E-keucr slacko 5.3;luci;mijnpup; tw-os; with:Emacs,gawk,noteboxmismanager,treesheets, freeplane, libreoffice, tkoutline, Sigil, calibre, calendar. magic&Noteliner(wine), kamas (DOS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2011, 12:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
Playdaz,

Are you using HdMI?


HD 3850 is using the analog connector for a Viewsonic A90. radeon.modeset=1 was added to the menu.lst for grub booting. With modeset the computer boots to a frozen white screen--it's like the monitor can't handle the signal. I think the pattern on the screen changes when hitting the keyboard. CTRL-Alt-BS changes to a blank screen. Booting the CD with fatdog radeon.modeset=1 gives the same behavior, except the frozen screen is multi-colored. After CTRL-Alt-BS the light on the monitor goes out after a few seconds of the blank screen.

HD 4650 is using the DVI connector for an Acer 1680x1050 LCD monitor. radeon.modeset=1 was added to the boot parameters booting the CD (fatdog radeon.modeset=1). This one booted to a blank screen--and after a few seconds the light on the monitor went off as if it weren't getting a signal.

Without radeon.modeset=1, both computers boot with the radeon driver and have the problem with bad movement on screen and bad scrolling. After changing to the radeonhd driver, both cards work fine.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3635
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2011, 17:06    Post subject: Fatdog64-520 beta 1
Subject description: nvidia driver on full install
 

I did a full install on my acer desktop which has the nvidia 8600gt
graphics card in it.
I used sfs_load-1.1.pet to load the devx and I used the bootmanager to
blacklist the nouveau kernel module.
Then changed the kernel line in the menu.lst file to:

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro fatdog nomodeset pfix=vesa

and rebooted,exited to the prompt and ran the NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-275.09.07.run
driver,did xwin to get back to the desktop, and changed the menu.lst line
back to original.

OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce 8600 GT/PCI/SSE2
Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 275.09.07
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
51323 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10264.538 FPS
51360 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10271.984 FPS
51392 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10278.376 FPS

that's better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
myke


Joined: 15 Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2011, 22:33    Post subject: zile  

As I said before, I like Emacs and I had tried and failed to get a 64bit Ubuntu package to install in fatdog64.

So I did the next best thing, which is to compile zile, a CLI, mini-version clone of Emacs. I attach a pet, which installs to /usr/local/bin but it runs from any console.

myke
zile-2.3.23-i686.pet
Description  simplified CLI Emacs clone installing to /usr/local/bin
pet

 Download 
Filename  zile-2.3.23-i686.pet 
Filesize  122.17 KB 
Downloaded  363 Time(s) 

_________________
AA1 D255E-keucr slacko 5.3;luci;mijnpup; tw-os; with:Emacs,gawk,noteboxmismanager,treesheets, freeplane, libreoffice, tkoutline, Sigil, calibre, calendar. magic&Noteliner(wine), kamas (DOS)

Last edited by myke on Thu 23 Jun 2011, 12:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12381
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 04:42    Post subject:  

CUPS issues:

1. The file /etc/cups/snmp.conf needs to be world-readable. Otherwise, CUPS cannot detect network printers.

2. The folder /usr/share/cups/model is missing. Some printer installers will fail if they can't find that folder.

3. When attempting to change the Server settings (eg. to share published printers), CUPS asks for a password. But "root" and "woofwoof" doesn't work. The easiest solution is to comment out line 42 of /etc/cups/cupsd.conf.
Code:
Require user @System


Also, I notice that Fatdog does not contain nmblookup from the Samba client package. Could it be included?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 10:35    Post subject:  

@Myke, I see how Emacs has a place.
Should the community use GNU-Emacs or even XEmacs?
Thoughts

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
myke


Joined: 15 Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 12:27    Post subject: Emacs  

Gcmartin,

XEmacs at 21.4.22 (2009) does not seem to be that active. I use GNU Emacs at 23.3 (2011.03) whenever I can. For fatdog64, I tried the amd64 deb from Ubuntu and it failed to install (incompatible dbus version). I have installed zile and also notGNU, two Emacs clones. The advantage of notGNU is that it has abbrev-mode. (For notGNU, you need to:

ln -s libncursesw.so.5 libtinfo.so.5 in lib64).

I prefer the full Emacs as I use it normally for e-mails, text and document starter files with text-mode and longlines-mode. That way I get a soft EOL, which is disregarded when copied into e-mails, etc. (You can set the column break for the longlines). The chief reason is that I am dyslexic and need to use Ctrl-t constantly.

zile has highlighted region, registers but only auto-fill-mode, no others. Docs, hard to find, are at ftp://ftp.ipv4.heanet.ie/disk1/www.gnu.org/software/zile/manual/index.html

notGNU from http://www.mistl.org/notgnu/ has abbrev-mode. and a fuller command set than zile. You can get a 64bit binary for notGNU (a/k/a not) from the url above. I copied it to /usr/local/bin.

I was wrong in my previous post. You can run either one from any console.

myke

_________________
AA1 D255E-keucr slacko 5.3;luci;mijnpup; tw-os; with:Emacs,gawk,noteboxmismanager,treesheets, freeplane, libreoffice, tkoutline, Sigil, calibre, calendar. magic&Noteliner(wine), kamas (DOS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3635
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 12:41    Post subject: Fatdog64-520 beta 1
Subject description: netbook ati
 

I installed 520b1 to a 4gb flash drive and am running it from my acer
netbook which has ati graphics but it didn't need any change to the
menu.lst kernel line to boot and go to the desktop.
Broadcom wireless is working fine too.

Thu 23 Jun 2011 Operating System: Fatdog64-520 Linux 2.6.38.8
5.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: RS880M 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1024x600 pixels (270x158 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RS880 9712) 20090101 TCL
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.2

AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Core 0: 1695 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 0
2937 frames in 5.0 seconds = 587.272 FPS
2962 frames in 5.0 seconds = 592.394 FPS
2962 frames in 5.0 seconds = 592.236 FPS

edit:
I moved the 4gb flash drive to my laptop and it booted to the
desktop, changed the resolution automatically.
I had to right click on frisbee icon to get the wireless network going
again but that's all it took.
Thu 23 Jun 2011 Operating System: Fatdog64-520 Linux 2.6.38.8
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Manhattan [Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: PARK 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa Project
OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.2

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430
Core 0: 2260 1: 2260 2: 2260 3: 2260 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
2973 frames in 5.0 seconds = 594.518 FPS
3716 frames in 5.0 seconds = 743.060 FPS
3258 frames in 5.0 seconds = 651.529 FPS
desktop.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   115.38 KB
 Viewed   1355 Time(s)

desktop.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Thu 23 Jun 2011, 15:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 12:55    Post subject:  

Running LiveCD, I was having some video anomolies. But, I've rebooted using 'fatdog nouveau.modeset=1 pfix=ram" and so far, the video is OK.

May want to add TazOC's "report-video-glx" PET to replace the report-video. It gives a little more information which could prove useful.

Findings
When the hostname is changed (required to not have 2 PCs on the LAN with the same hostname...so I am, like most, required to change from the default) the /etc/hosts file is NOT being updated reflecting that change.

Further, some of the lines within /etc/hosts are bogus as they do not apply to my local LANs. Some routers and some LAN admins do NOT USE 192.168.1.x. So for FATDOG purposes, this information is errant when the LAN IPs in that file are NOT in that current real IP range.

What I've found out is that simple changing the etc file with a single line showing current IP and current hostname seemingly is addressing all uses for ROX speed and local PC desktop needs.

Please review current hostname handling and confirm what I report. And, there are probably some automated ways to have a correct single line of information in the /etc/hosts file at startup

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1532
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 14:39    Post subject:  

rcrsn51,

Thanks for the CUPS info. The fixes will be in beta2. I made the change to cupsd.conf, but it makes me a little nervous. If I get some time I'll try to figure out why that's not working. I put in nmblookup, I left it out originally due to it's size and LameSMBexplorer manages not to use it. It's in the repo, part of the samba-extras pet, if you don't want to wait for beta2.

Myke,

I'll put your zile package in the repo.

I've been working on the Radeon problem. I got it working last night with KMS and the Gallium3d Mesa drivers. I was still having one issue with it last night. If I let Xorg load the radeon.ko module, Xorg would think KMS was not enabled. If I manually loaded the radeon.ko module and then started X, all was good. So I've rebuilt the kernel with KMS enabled by default for radeon, hopefully that does it. I'll find out tonight. Since I rebuilt Mesa, I got the latest version 7.10.3. If I get radeon working well tonight I'll upload beta2. Beta2 will have Seamonkey instead of Firefox and Thunderbird. For final there will be a Seamonkey iso and a Firefox iso. Might just make Thunderbird a pet package, don't know yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 15:12    Post subject:  

There seems to also be a LiveCD problem. I am getting a kernel panic after 1st Save-Session to CD on reboot. The shutdown-save session-reboot progress normally. The Problem comes on reboot of the Live media.

Systems starts to initial F2 message, then continues, I can see messages where the initial loads are occuring, but I am getting the panic when it get to the part where it should be loading the save-session layer.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6728
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 15:33    Post subject:  

FWIW, no problems here running Fatdog 64-520 from multi-session cd.
Posting from it right now.
fd64-520.png
 Description   
 Filesize   37.34 KB
 Viewed   1236 Time(s)

fd64-520.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 16:24    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
FWIW, no problems here running Fatdog 64-520 from multi-session cd.
Posting from it right now.
Thanks @James C.
I see you have a video driver logged in your earlier report. My system DID NOT capture a video driver for my adapter at boot time. And, Kirk asked us to NOT use the REPO PETs. My system captured an "unknown" for my video adapter. The adapter, a PCI-e nVidia 250 is logged in my report earlier for this X2 system. I have been saving FATDOG 511 sessions continually on this desktop. But, have just run into this problem on this FATDOG 520 beta.

What is the chance that the problem is related to my system's difference? Is your video on the MB?

My CD which looks remarkably similar to yours except I only have 1 save-session, currently. The LiveCD works fine for pfix-ram.

Kirk indicates he is aiming for a system update, tonight. I'll wait and report after the next update, unless there are other ideas. My earlier system log contains a layout of my system and its peripheral. Maybe then, Kirk will give the OK on video driver PETs for FATDOG 520 allowing me use a better suited driver for this platform.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6728
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 17:12    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:

What is the chance that the problem is related to my system's difference? Is your video on the MB?


That may very well be what is causing your problem. My video is on the mobo on this box - Nvidia GeForce 7025/nForce 630a - and Fatdog booted straight to a correct desktop here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0951s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0260s) ][ GZIP on ]