Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 13:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SFStray
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 18:42    Post_subject: Re: my sfsexe version  

maxerro wrote:
OK, I'm gonna list several options and program responses, because if I put it on paper maybe I'll find out that it makes no sense...
This would be my theoretical "sfsexe" program:

Code:
#sfsexe
sfsexe v0.0 NOT loaded
Usage: sfsexe [OPTIONS] [DIR] [SFS]

Options:
  -a, --add=DIR          Add a new directory to the list of available SFSs
  -r, --remove=DIR     Remove directory from the list of available SFSs
  -l, --load=SFS          Load a specified SFS
  -u, --unload=SFS      Unload a specified SFS
  -w, --window            Opens a loading/unloading dialog window
  -m, --menu-refresh   This is self-explanatory
  -e, --execute=FILE   Executes a specified .desktop file from the SFS, or if started without parameters - checks if there's only one .desktop file in the SFS and executes it



maxerro,

Thanks for that further explanation. I think you're looking for a kind of SFS file manager. Most of these functions can be handled by rox or other filemangers.

For examples;

Add or remove files or directories. (rox)
Mount an SFS (rox left-click)
List of sfs files in a directory (SFS-exec-dir)
Unmount an SFS (rox left-click)
Union and execute an SFS (SFS-Exec on rox-right-click)
ununion (SFS-exec-unloader).

This idea is interesting....
"Executes a specified .desktop file from the SFS, or if started without parameters - checks if there's only one .desktop file in the SFS and executes it"

My view of SFS files is that they contain only one large program that you'd prefer not to install. Perhaps an SFS file composed of several programs might be useful with some sort of interface to select one. Let me think about that.

Cheers,
s
(Good ideas can also be placed on electronic forum paper Smile )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 18:58    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:


My workaround do work with imported icons from internet for 4 of the 5 progs. I placed them here

/usr/share/pixmaps/



nooby,

Glad you got it working and yes SFStray tries to find the icon in the SFS file, but doesn't always have success due to either a missing icon or an unusual location. So sometimes you'll need to find an icon yourself, modify the tray config file (as you did) and then copy the file to /usr/share/pixmaps so that JWM can find the icon.

You mentioned that 4 out of the 5 programs were missing icons and you had to get them from the internet - was that because the icons were not in the SFS files?

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 02:55    Post_subject:  

I did not know or knew enough how to find them. I will edit my description above.

Opera had them here
/opt/opera/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/opera-browser.png

But that is gone when you reboot so I took that one and moved it to
/usr/share/pixmaps/opera-browser.png

so now it looks like icon="/usr/share/pixmaps/opera-browser.png">
in the code. The icons may be there in all of them and me was not aware of how to find them. Still are not. Smile Linux to me is like a very difficult CrossWord, one guess and guess and only hit the right solution after years of frustration.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 14:53    Post_subject:  

nooby,

I took a look at the opera sfs file and found it had 6 icon choices in 6 different directories.

This confused SFStray and when that happens she gives up.

The code could be modified to take the first found icon like this - around line 54 of SFStray change the following:

Code:
 
PROGICON=`find /mnt/"$P"/ -iname $PROGICON`


to this line
Code:
 
PROGICON=`find /mnt/"$P"/ -iname $PROGICON -print -quit`


Let me know if that improves it for other sfs files as well.

(Of course, you may not like the icon size it finds and end up editing the config tray file anyway Smile

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 15:36    Post_subject:  

Thanks the most needed improvement maybe would be to figure out what one are supposed to tell it so it does not find all the lupu525.sfs and wary511.sfs and puppy-431.sfs and many many others and the most confusing thing was to see just dev_save and mnt and nothing else in the left field.

Not a single sfs file anyware.

One need to be rather savvy to figure out what to change after seeing that text for to to get it to work.

I spent hours on it and have no idea how I finally got progress and finally a kind of low level success to have a working system.

Not your fault it does work on your set up but totally failed on mine.

But I love that you tried though.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 11:34    Post_subject:  

nooby,

I've changed SFStray so that if no directory is specified on the command line, it defaults to look only in the /root and /mnt directories. This should cut out all those extra entries .

Sorry you had those difficulties and thanks for giving me good feedback.

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 12:27    Post_subject:  

Thanks I could test that one on some other puppy than the one it is already installed on now and which I use daily for everything. Don't want to risk messing up that one.

But would be cool if many test the set up. it sure looks nice having such a "Dock" like thing popping up and one can click on the icons and get instant load and then unload when one shut it down. So handy

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2011, 13:33    Post_subject:  

seaside wrote:
nooby,

I've changed SFStray so that if no directory is specified on the command line, it defaults to look only in the /root and /mnt directories. This should cut out all those extra entries .

Sorry you had those difficulties and thanks for giving me good feedback.

Regards,
s


I test this one now in Midnightsun puppy I get back within a 30 minutes maybe

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2620
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2011, 14:16    Post_subject: SFStray
Sub_title: /mnt/home
 

seaside wrote:
nooby,

I've changed SFStray so that if no directory is specified on the command line, it defaults to look only in the /root and /mnt directories. This should cut out all those extra entries .

Sorry you had those difficulties and thanks for giving me good feedback.

Regards,
s

I am in fresh lupu525 now.
/mnt/home is link to /initrd/mnt/dev_save

HTH
SFStray_lupu525.png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.97 KB
 Viewed   925 Time(s)

SFStray_lupu525.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2011, 15:41    Post_subject:  

Sorry long delay. It failed to find a single sfs file. So like L18L also indicate here above my post something fails. Apart from it works good.

I asked pemasu about Midnight Sun Puppy and he told me it is very close to Lupu525 and it did not show any result.

I copied from the one I had in Snow puppy 5 so I have workings ones now but the program itself did not any SFS.

Maybe one should have the unloader too just in case. Sometimes the program fail to unload.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxerro


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 02:28    Post_subject: extra protection?  

Seaside, somewhere in the depths of your code...

Code:
while read P; do

SFSFILE=`grep "$P" /tmp/proglist`
mkdir /mnt/"$P"
mount -t squashfs "$SFSFILE" /mnt/"$P" -o loop
...
umount /mnt/"$P"
rm -r /mnt/"$P"

done < $HOME/.SFStray/sfstray_list


I think I can reconstruct a total WIPEOUT scenario with this code, but I need to find my dusty AMD for this test...

The rm line needs so much more protection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 03:19    Post_subject:  

What does that part do then?

umount /mnt/"$P"
rm -r /mnt/"$P"

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxerro


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 08:42    Post_subject:  

Here's one wipeout version:

Code:
add() {
   echo -e "$APP" >> $HOME/.SFStray/sfstray_list
}


When you hit the Add button while nothing is selected (or there are no SFS files in the required dir) it creates a non-empty "empty" sfstray_list, and when you hit Apply it sends all writable mounted media down the toilet.

@nooby: Stop experimenting until a few code lines are changed.
@seaside: Unmount everything except some unneeded partition(s) if you try the above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nancy reagan

Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 518

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 17:35    Post_subject: your sfs dirloader 4 not working in 5 series ?  

Hi seaside,

I liked your sfs dir loader in 4 series a lot

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=44601



Could you tell me how to get it to work in 5 series ?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2011, 11:47    Post_subject:  

While we wait for seaside to find this thread. Smile

I use it on Snow puppy 5 which is Lupu13 sort of.
It all dependends on how one use it. It has some clitches that one can learn to live with. Not fool proof. Safest is to go through the Menu and not do right click which sometimes shuts down the xorg.

I 've also tested his SFStray not as easy to set up. So try SFS dir first

I use it on Frugal install on NTFS.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0858s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]