Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 20:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Systray's battery icon
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 13:54    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the pet pemasu.
But I get
Code:
# ./1vattery
No apm data available.
Segmentation fault
#
I am in spup 311
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 15:15    Post_subject:  

Beem. Delete from the /root/Startup/1vattery script everything else but leave exec vattery-acpitool. It might help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 16:01    Post_subject:  

There is no vattery-acpitool in StartUp.
When executed in a terminal, i see acpitool is missing.
Apparently not included in spup 311.
I installed and vattery-acpitool gives the icon in the tray and blue as the battery is charged.
Strange that Micko didn't include the correct battery tool.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 16:10    Post_subject:  

Beem. I meaned script 1vattery in /root//Startup. Inside that script leave only exec vattery-acpitool, delete everything else. Vattery-ibam is not usable to all.
There was in my pet vattery-acpitool and vattery-ibam binaries which were installed in /usr/local/bin.

But installling acpitool seems to fix your problem also. I didnt know that. I have acpitool installed in all my builds and I install it firsthand when I test other Puppies.
My machine probably uses vattery-ibam for battery status and I havent noticed the dependency to acpitool based on above reasons.
That was good tip. Thank you Beem

So my pet needs acpitool and maybe that script editing if it does not work straight. Vattery-ibam (if it works), does not need acpitool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 16:21    Post_subject:  

You're welcome pemasu.
Also, your 'cold'puppy's are nice pieces of work.
I like them.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sjsrikanth


Joined: 28 Mar 2011
Posts: 114
Location: Chennai, India

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 22:37    Post_subject:  

@john3voltas

Since you say puppy knows about your battery status but shows only a grey icon...I guess there may be a problem with reading the inbuilt .xpm files.
Please back up your 'powerapplet_tray' file in your 'Startup' directory and try installing this pet (its the same applet with different theme). Hope this works!
- You will need to restart xserver after installation.
powerappletsjs-2.3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  powerappletsjs-2.3.pet 
Filesize  17.14 KB 
Downloaded  239 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
john3voltas

Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jul 2011, 18:06    Post_subject:  

It's gone worse.
Now I only have a small red cross icon instead of the battery icon.
This is driving me nuts.
Worst thing is, I do like 525 way better than 431 because of debian/ubuntu compatibility.
Sure wouldn't like to go with plain old 431.
BTW, 431's battery icon works flawlessly.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sjsrikanth


Joined: 28 Mar 2011
Posts: 114
Location: Chennai, India

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 02:03    Post_subject:  

Sorry it didnt' work, works well with my laptop...anyway. Hope you did back up the applet b4 you installed replace the new one with it if you want to go back to the grey icon. Meanwhile let me think of something else..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kenh


Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Tampa Bay

PostPosted: Sun 20 Nov 2011, 17:13    Post_subject:  

I'm now using Slacko Puppy 5.3 and the battery icon now works on my Eee pc 900. It shows the amount of charge that's left by the red level in the indicator. Now if I can get a working cpu temp indicator, I would be very happy. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 05:39    Post_subject:  

john3voltas wrote:
It's gone worse.
Now I only have a small red cross icon instead of the battery icon.
This is driving me nuts.
Worst thing is, I do like 525 way better than 431 because of debian/ubuntu compatibility.
Sure wouldn't like to go with plain old 431.
BTW, 431's battery icon works flawlessly.
Cheers


John, I've finally got some time to try to find an answer to this very same problem. I'm using 5.2.8 on a frugal install, but have the same problem here that I had with 5.2.5.

Did you find an answer?

Bones

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jdalink

Joined: 03 Jul 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 10:58    Post_subject:    

hi, i'm currently using Slacko 5.5 and have noticed that i have been experiencing the same problem but after test some of the advices of this post with no results, i manage to solve the problem.
By replacing the "powerapplet_tray" file located in "/root/Startup/" by the file who came with the Precise puppy version. And after an X restart the applet starts to show the status of my battery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2669
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 12:41    Post_subject:  

Thanks pemasu,

Just installed vattery-ibam under 5.28.005. Works great, so far!

(this is the first time that I had a laptop with enough battery that I could run wireless -- so battery capacity becomes relevant))

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0671s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]