SimpleSHOT

Miscellaneous tools
Post Reply
Message
Author
stu90

SimpleSHOT

#1 Post by stu90 »

Here is a simple Yad front end gui for scrot that enables you to take desktop screenshots.

Image

Shot type:
Full screen (the whole screen)
Top Window (top / active window)
Selection (draw a retangle on the screen and capture that)

Format:
.jpg (image format)
.png (image format)

Quality:
0-100 (image quality)

Delay:
0-100 (delay in seconds)

Save in:
directory to save images in (remebers directory choice)

Name:
default is time + date ( you can enter your own screen shot name)

Dependencies:
Yad - Available for download on this link (lucid puppy .pet):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 647#539647

Scrot - Available for download below:
Attachments
simpleSHOT-0.1.pet
version 0.1
(1.38 KiB) Downloaded 601 times
Last edited by stu90 on Sat 09 Jul 2011, 03:04, edited 1 time in total.

Sylvander
Posts: 4416
Joined: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 11:06
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

#2 Post by Sylvander »

Would it be possible to include the cursor in the screenshot?

I can't get this to run [in Lupu-525] for lack of the dependency = libimlib2.so.1

stu90

#3 Post by stu90 »

Sylvander wrote:Would it be possible to include the cursor in the screenshot?

I can't get this to run [in Lupu-525] for lack of the dependency = libimlib2.so.1
Hi Sylvander,

Not sure about the mouse pointer - i will have a look at the man pages see what i can find out.

regarding libimlib2.so.1 it is a (missing) dependency for scrot - i am watching a film right now but i will make a .pet for scrot wiht included dependancies after and upload.

cheers.

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: SimpleSHOT

#4 Post by L18L »

Hi stu90,
you wrote:Here is a simple Yad front end gui....
and I am here again trying to make it simpler to use :)

Including the cursor... would be great !

Though I did not have a need in making screenshots in another way as
using the default mtpaint thing, scaled, and png converted to indexed, I have been playing some hours with simpleshot in drake01:

Please copy the next lines

Code: Select all

  # show result
  image="$GDIR/$GNAME.$t"
  yad --title="$TITLE Result: $image" --image="$image" \
      --button="display in Vienior:2" \
      --button="scale in Mtpaint:1" \
      --button="gtk-quit:0"
  next_app=$? 
  
  kill `pidof viewnior` 2>/dev/null # avoid multiple instances
  case $next_app in   
    1) mtpaint  $image && $RESTART && exit ;;
    2) viewnior $image &
       $RESTART && exit ;;
  esac
  ;;
  # end show result
to the end of the script between

Code: Select all

  eval $SHOT
and

Code: Select all

  esac
Have fun
cheers

PS: my screenshot has an invalid filename
Edit
PPS: my screenshot had an invalid filename
before converting to indexed filesize was 344k
Attachments
simpleshot-01.png
view or edit screenshot
(11.24 KiB) Downloaded 1113 times

stu90

#5 Post by stu90 »

Hello,
I have a look through scrot man and --help and unfortunately couldn't find anything with regards to capturing the mouse cursor :(

As ever L18L, nice update 8)

i changed it about a bit more and added the option to delete the screen shot - and the preview image now uses a thumbnail instead of the original image to stop the preview window going very large on full screen shots.

Yes maybe something else could be used for a default image name?

Image

cheers.
Attachments
simpleshot.gz
version 0.1b
(1.09 KiB) Downloaded 549 times

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

SimpleSHOT

#6 Post by L18L »

stu90 wrote:something else could be used for a default image name?
Date is good
but
year-month-date-hour-minute (ISO date)
would sort it correctly

I think it is just the colon that is not allowing upload on the forum.

Cheers :)

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: SimpleSHOT

#7 Post by L18L »

I think the ISO date is nothing for simple apps.

We need just avoid overwriting existing files.

Code: Select all

  ## get screen shot name ##
  GNAME=`echo $SETUP | cut -d "|" -f 6 | tr ' ' '_' `
  if [ ! "$GNAME" ]; then
  ERROR1=$(yad --title="$TITLE Info" --text=" Make sure to enter a screen shot name " --button="gtk-go-back") 
  $RESTART && exit
  fi
# the following is new:
  if [ -e $GDIR/$GNAME.$t ]; then
  ERROR2=$(yad --title="$TITLE Info" --text=" $GNAME already exists in $GDIR. " --button="gtk-go-back") 
  $RESTART && exit
  fi
 
Or ask if overwrite
and in case of "go-back" not loose the previous input. :)
Cheers

User avatar
alienjeff
Posts: 2265
Joined: Sat 08 Jul 2006, 20:19
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

#8 Post by alienjeff »

Nice. Lots of features. However, I believe I'll stick with tapping my meta and z keys to take fast screenshots. No opening and waiting for a GUI, nor maneuvering around and clicking a mouse.

Remember: meta - z

Hotkeys FTW
[size=84][i]hangout:[/i] ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
[i]diversion:[/i] [url]http://alienjeff.net[/url] - visit The Fringe
[i]quote:[/i] "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker[/size]

Pelo

Not in the menu !

#9 Post by Pelo »

Is it possible to create a menu entry in the pet (graphics) ?
Thee aim is to go fast.
I use screeny with just a button to click in bottom tool bar.
I opened Simpleshot with the terminal, that is not wonderful

Post Reply