Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 23:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
HD install, unable to mount windows FAT32 partitions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
ngotranthuy

Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 06:26    Post subject:  HD install, unable to mount windows FAT32 partitions  

Dear all
I installed Puppy into my harddisk and dual boot with windows ME. But I cannot mount windows partitions. Please help me!

My fstab is:
/dev/hda7 / ext2 defaults 0 1
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts gid=2,mode=620 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,user,rw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,user,ro 0 0
/dev/win_c /mnt/win_c vfat umask=000 0 0
/dev/win_d /mnt/win_d vfat umask=000 0 0
/dev/win_e /mnt/win_e vfat umask=000 0 0

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 06:38    Post subject:  

open ROX

click the triangle top left
open mnt
open home

any good?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 06:40    Post subject:  

. . . or how about

start menu (that is the icon bottom right with a dog)
utilitiies
mount/unmount

any luck with that?

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 06:43    Post subject:  

and here is what Flash says:

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/MounTing

Thanks for asking Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ngotranthuy

Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 21:15    Post subject: Thanks, the second is OK  

Thank a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
ngotranthuy

Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 21:21    Post subject: How to mount automaticly when boot  

1. Could you tell me how to mount automaticly the window paftitions when I boot on to Puppy Linux?
2. Puppy Linux run without swap partition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 22:21    Post subject:  

There are many ways to do this. I will share my procedure with you. First run 'probepart', to see exactly where your windows partitions are.

I like mount points like /mnt/hda1, so I make them in rc.local

In /etc/rc.d/rc.local I put commands like this:

mkdir /mnt/hda1
mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1

Also, I umount all the partitions I mounted in rc.local before rebooting, I use a script file for this.

The script could be like this:

#!/bin/sh
umount /mnt/hda1
umount /mnt/hda5
umount /mnt/hda6

Also, everything the others say is true. It is just that there are many ways to do the same thing with computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 00:06    Post subject:  

Hi ngotranthuy,

you almost have your /etc/fstab file correct, just have to change these lines:

/dev/win_c /mnt/win_c vfat umask=000 0 0
/dev/win_d /mnt/win_d vfat umask=000 0 0
/dev/win_e /mnt/win_e vfat umask=000 0 0

the first parameter e.g. /dev/win_c is not right for your hardware, linux has different naming scheme for hard disk(s) and partitions, than what windows uses.

/dev is a directory that stores one file per device (usually)
/dev/hd is a prefix for IDE hard disks
/dev/hda (primary master hard disk)
/dev/hdb (primary slave hard disk)
/dev/hdc (secondary master hard disk)
/dev/hdd (secondary slave hard disk)

/dev/hda1 (primary master hard disk, first partition where files are kept)

You want to replace "/dev/win_c" with something like "/dev/hda1"

If you run the probepart program, click Start->Run->Rxvt terminal
and type in " probepart " you will see a list of devices that Puppy has found, this will give you a good idea of correct device name to put in /etc/fstab file.

Hope this helps.

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ngotranthuy

Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 00:21    Post subject: Thank you, it run well  

I corrected the mistake. Thanks for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0547s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]