(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Sep 2020, 14:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Games
(Game) Quake2/Jake2
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 25 Mar 2006, 07:17    Post subject:  (Game) Quake2/Jake2  

http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Games/quake2/

Install Quake2 and run it from the Dotpups-menu.
It includes the Shareware-episode.

If you encounter Soundproblems, edit
/usr/local/quake2/quake2

The line:
sound=+set snddriver sdl

Instead of "sdl" try "alsa" or "oss" (see docs).
I chose sdl by default, as it was the only one that worked for me.
Concerning SDL-llibraries, read the notes for Quake1:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=7009

If you have Java installed, try "Jake2" in addition.
It is a little bit slower, but I think it has nicer colours.


If you have a full-version of Quake2, replace
/usr/local/quake2/quake2/baseq2/pak0.pak with the one from your version.

----------------------
UPDATE
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Games/quake2/quake2launch.pup (1 MB)

This adds Quake2 version 3.21.
It starts a bit slower, but has much nicer effects.
Blood stays on the walls, if you blow up an enemy.
The weapons use particles now instead of "balls", and explosions look much more realistic.

Example-screenshots (look strange, as difficult to grab, but show the difference)
Old:



New:



This comparison gives only a very small impression, I highly recommend it.

I added a grafical launcher to start different versions and additional mods:



Mods for Quake2 make problems in Linux, as they often include a game.dll, that was compiled in Windows.
This .dll is responsible, that the modified Game-menus work correct..
In Linux, if you click on "new game", nothing happens.

So the launcher allows to run mods using a shellscript, that runs a specified map to start the mod.
Details see "howtoinstallamod".
I also included a Windows-program "PakScape", that is run in "wine".
It has an explorer-like interface, to browse .pak -files.
Like this you easily can find the map -names of a mod, to create your own startscript.

I will upload new mods later.

Mark

Last edited by MU on Sat 27 May 2006, 23:10; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1552
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 25 Mar 2006, 21:38    Post subject:  

Mark,
Downloaded, but just got the game data, no engine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 26 Mar 2006, 12:05    Post subject:  

removed
Last edited by MU on Thu 01 Jun 2006, 22:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1552
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 26 Mar 2006, 17:53    Post subject:  

Sorry,
There was somthing wrong with my pup001. Removed it and rebooted and reinstalled. Now I get all the files.

Thanks Mark!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 27 Mar 2006, 20:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
# /usr/local/quake2/quake2
/usr/local/quake2/quake2: line 3: snddriver: command not found
QuakeIIForge 0.3
Added packfile /usr/lib/games/quake2/baseq2/pak0.pak (1106 files)
using /root/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
execing default.cfg
execing config.cfg
Console initialized.

------- sound initialization -------
loading oss sound output driver, ok
oss: buffer size is 65536, 32768 samples
sound sampling rate: 11025
------------------------------------
------- Loading ref_soft.so -------
LoadLibrary("ref_soft.so") failed: libvga.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Refresh failed
SNDDMA_Shutdown
recursive shutdown
Error: Couldn't fall back to software refresh!


I have a number 2 hard drive install, and this is what I get.
The game refuses to run.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 27 Mar 2006, 21:09    Post subject:  

I think with software-emulation it would be unplayable.
Your error says, it can not load the VGA-driver for that.
Try to install with PupGet Xorg-libGL.
Or the SDL-Gl from kirk:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Games/William/SDLmesa.pup

This would at least allow to run it, but very slow.

However, 3D-games like Quake just will be playable good with 3D-accelleration enabled, see:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=5244

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue 28 Mar 2006, 22:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
r128.o (Rage)


I have an 8 meg 3D Rage Pro video card. Will the above module work? Or is it for the 128 meg Rage Pro?

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 28 Mar 2006, 23:06    Post subject:  

Don't know, just try out Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 14:26    Post subject:  

Nope. r128 didn't work. guess I'll quit while my puppy still works.
_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Wed 10 May 2006, 06:18    Post subject:  

r128.o is for the ATI Rage 128 Pro, Rage Xpert 128, and Rage Fury Pro and similar with the Rage or Rage Pro chip and a 128-bit-wide datapath.

Rage Pro is a 64-bit datapath.

Try the mach64 drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 10 May 2006, 16:20    Post subject:  

Here is a new 3D-wizard to install Hardware-accelleration:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=7775
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 27 May 2006, 23:12    Post subject:  

I added a new version (see first message).
New:
Mod-launcher
Particles (light, smoke)
Blood

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 28 May 2006, 00:35    Post subject:  

I updated the launcher with a textfield to launch a game with options like "+set skill 1" (sets difficulty).

----------------------------
I also uploaded Quake2max for those lucky guys with fast graficscards.
It runs Quake with effects like dark areas, and has Pixelshader-support.

It comes with a cool menu and high-resolution-textures.
You can start it from the launcher.
Homepage:
http://www.quake2max.net/
Play around with the options in the menu for a good compromize among quality and speed.

--------------------------------
I also uploaded the mod "armageddon device" with new grafics.
http://www.planetquake.com/roseville
It is 32 MB extracted.

--------------------------------
I currently upload the mod "666"
http://planetquake.gamespy.com/View.php?view=Quake2.Detail&id=1258
http://www.planetphillip.com/posts/666-single-player-quake-2-map/
Review:
http://retroquake.planetquake.gamespy.com/blog/?p=179
It is 67 MB extracted.
I might remove this one again, when I need space on the server (40 MB-download).

Get all here:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Games/quake2/

Mark

Last edited by MU on Thu 01 Jun 2006, 13:18; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 31 May 2006, 17:49    Post subject:  

removed
Last edited by MU on Thu 01 Jun 2006, 22:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jun 2006, 12:21    Post subject:  

Some people like lostdog reported problems running Quake2.
I updated Quake2.pup and Quake2launcher.pup with a configfile in /root/.quake2/baseq2/config.conf.
That might fix it.

Quake2launcher now can run QuDos, a new engine, that inherits the particle-effects from Quake2max, and adds effects like reflecting water, glowing textures, fog and lensflares.

See the nice water here:
http://qudos.quakedev.com/linux/quake2/engines/QuDos/shots/QuDos_016.jpg
Unfortunately, this reflection will not work with my Ati Radeon 7000.
QuDos-homepage:
http://qudos.quakedev.com/

---------------------
I also added some new mods, that have more that 8 levels each.
Armageddon - the Earth war requires, that Armageddon-device is alreadyinstalled.

Homepage:
http://roseville.planetquake.gamespy.com//

--------------------
Other mods:
http://qic.planetquake.gamespy.com/spq2/
http://members.aol.com/rjdriver/quake2tc.htm
http://www.fileplanet.com/filelist.aspx?s=74218&v=0
http://3dmr.gamedesign.net/reviews/quake2/
http://www.planetphillip.com/posts/category/single-player-mods-and-maps/quake-2/
http://retroquake.planetquake.gamespy.com/blog/?cat=75

this is good: http://www.doomwadstation.com/idgames/Quake2/

Note, that many links are dead, as most mods were created back in 1998.

--------------------
Here are some screenshots, that compare the "official" Quake2 (3.21) with QuDos

Lights look in general more realistic,, texturees have more details.
Quake2:


QuDos:


In dark areas, the lensflare-lights give you better sight.

Quake2:


QuDos:


Mark

Last edited by MU on Fri 16 Jun 2006, 22:17; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Games
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0645s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0213s) ][ GZIP on ]