Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 07:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can't get Puppy to connect to Broadband. Solved
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
paullecorde


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Lexington, KY USA

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 08:07    Post subject:  Can't get Puppy to connect to Broadband. Solved  

I am new to Linux and not a programmer or computer tech anyway. So, I am pretty lost when auto configure programs don't work.... I have been interested in trying out Linux and Puppy has been the first distro to actually work for me and I am very happy with it.

I am trying to connect to my broadband internet with puppy but have 2 issues. (I am using a used Compaq Armada with 128MB ram and 6GB HD.)
1. Puppy isn't finding my PCMCIA 10/100 ethernet card. Does a driver exist for 3COM FE575C LAN 10/100?
2. Once I get Puppy to find the PCMCIA card will it be able to connect to the Linksys nr041 4-port router?
Looking at the settings in Windows I know my Address type is DHCP and
I know the address, subnet mask and default gateway, is there anything I can do with those that will help me get connected?

You are doing a great job with Puppy! I appreciate any help you can give me related to broadband connection.

Paul LeCorde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 08:13    Post subject:  

This is the wiki page
but it could do with updating

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/PCMCIA

anyone else have any advice/

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
paullecorde


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Lexington, KY USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2005, 18:01    Post subject:  

Very Happy Success!!!!
I am documenting what I did in case there are others in my situation.

I have Insight Broadband internet service.
I am using a 3Com FE575C PCMCIA ethernet card and a Linksys NR042
4 point router.

I found my answer here....

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Ethernet-HOWTO-2.html#ss2.8

3c575
Status: Supported, Driver Name: 3c59x

I then went to Start>Utilities>WizardWizard>Connect to Internet by Ethernet Interface
Clicked on Internet Wizard.
Chose driver 3c59x on the list and it found my card = the light came on on the plug.
Then, I did configure_eth0
and then test_eth0.
Then I opened Mozilla and it worked!!!!

Thanks to everyone for their suggestions.

I am very impressed with how well Puppy works and how easy it is to set up (once you find the correct driver #).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0471s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]