Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 10:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
How to use the composite video jack of my laptop?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
bugminer

Joined: 25 Jul 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 22:19    Post_subject:  How to use the composite video jack of my laptop?
Sub_title: To hook up an extra display.
 

Hopefully I'm starting a thread in the right spot this time, lol! On my Toshiba Tecra 8000 laptop it has a composite video out rca socket. Today for something to do I decided to hook up a monitor to it and see if it was going. Nope! Not surprising though.

I looked in system information for clues to how to get working, I noticed when I clicked on "Display" that under "Extensions" it says "Composite". Does this mean there is some way to turn it on?

I don't desperately need the rca video out but I thought it could be fun.

could it be used as a second monitor in linux?

Thanks for any advice/help. I have puppy linux 5.2.5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 23:14    Post_subject: Re: Display extensions?  

bugminer wrote:
Hopefully I'm starting a thread in the right spot this time, lol! On my Toshiba Tecra 8000 laptop it has a composite video out rca socket. Today for something to do I decided to hook up a monitor to it and see if it was going. Nope! Not surprising though.

I looked in system information for clues to how to get working, I noticed when I clicked on "Display" that under "Extensions" it says "Composite". Does this mean there is some way to turn it on?

I don't desperately need the rca video out but I thought it could be fun.

could it be used as a second monitor in linux?

Thanks for any advice/help. I have puppy linux 5.2.5.


Composite video goes to something like a vcr or tv with a composite
input jack; much like svideo.

Works okay with Ubuntu, but haven't found a Puppy that will do
it right. Usually doesn't do color when it is partially working.

Could be the laptops I tried weren't up to the task. (Dells)

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bugminer

Joined: 25 Jul 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 23:25    Post_subject:  

Hi rjbrewer, Yeah, I know what it is (ty though!).

I was just curious to know if it had to be turned on somewhere in puppy or if it was turned on by default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 00:40    Post_subject:  

bugminer wrote:
Hi rjbrewer, Yeah, I know what it is (ty though!).

I was just curious to know if it had to be turned on somewhere in puppy or if it was turned on by default.


Lobsters setups are the only ones I remember.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14261

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 15:09    Post_subject:  

"xrandr -q" will probably tell you if its recognized and, if it is, let you turn it on.
_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3202
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 16:49    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Enabling Composite under Display has to do with Composite Display via a compositing manager like xcompmgr, not an output choice...

I have to ask, when you say a Composite output, please describe it..
The little yellow RCA jack should be always on...
Generally, only S-Video needs to be switched...

Quote:
$ xrandr --output S-video --set load_detection 1
$ xrandr --addmode S-video 800x600
$ xrandr --output S-video --mode 800x600

And set mode PAL or NTSC with:

$ xrandr --output S-video --set tv_standard ntsc

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bugminer

Joined: 25 Jul 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 18:55    Post_subject:  

Yeah, I mean the yellow RCA jack.

I want to use it and the main screen, not instead of the main screen.

Also, I know nothing about xrandr stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0528s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]