Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 20:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
No 3COM FE575C PCMCIA ethernet (Compaq Armada)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
paullecorde


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Lexington, KY USA

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2005, 08:49    Post_subject:  No 3COM FE575C PCMCIA ethernet (Compaq Armada)  

I am new to Linux and not a programmer or computer tech anyway. So, I am pretty lost when auto configure programs don't work.... I have been interested in trying out Linux and Puppy has been the first distro to actually work for me and I am very happy with it.

I am trying to connect to my broadband internet with puppy but have 2 issues. (I am using a used Compaq Armada with 128MB ram and 6GB HD.)
1. Puppy isn't finding my PCMCIA 10/100 ethernet card. Does a driver exist for 3COM FE575C LAN 10/100?
2. Once I get Puppy to find the PCMCIA card will it be able to connect to the Linksys nr041 4-port router?
Looking at the settings in Windows I know my Address type is DHCP and
I know the address, subnet mask and default gateway, is there anything I can do with those that will help me get connected?

You are doing a great job with Puppy! I appreciate any help you can give me related to broadband connection.

Paul LeCorde
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
paullecorde


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Lexington, KY USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2005, 18:00    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Success!!!!
I am documenting what I did in case there are others in my situation.

I have Insight Broadband internet service.
I am using a 3Com FE575C PCMCIA ethernet card and a Linksys NR042
4 point router.

I found my answer here....

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Ethernet-HOWTO-2.html#ss2.8

3c575
Status: Supported, Driver Name: 3c59x

I then went to Start>Utilities>WizardWizard>Connect to Internet by Ethernet Interface
Clicked on Internet Wizard.
Chose driver 3c59x on the list and it found my card = the light came on on the plug.
Then, I did configure_eth0
and then test_eth0.
Then I opened Mozilla and it worked!!!!

Thanks to everyone for their suggestions.

I am very impressed with how well Puppy works and how easy it is to set up (once you find the correct driver #).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2005, 18:04    Post_subject:  

Glad you're sorted mate,
And thanks for sharing the process with us all.

Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0534s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0162s) ][ GZIP on ]