Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 17:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
jwm_tools-0.9 (was jwm_menu_create)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 13:07    Post subject: jwm_param_gui
Subject description: updated
 

tested and fixed:
- SUBMENU
- DRIVES
added
- LANGUAGE

screenshot see
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=75209&start=403

----------------------
edited
buggy
use version 0.7.3 (4 posts down) please.
jwm_param_gui.gz
Description  rename to jwm_param_gui
gz

 Download 
Filename  jwm_param_gui.gz 
Filesize  3.39 KB 
Downloaded  314 Time(s) 

Last edited by L18L on Sun 19 Feb 2012, 06:18; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 19:49    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
BarryK wrote:
technosaurus,
Note that the fixmenus in Woof has some extra functionality, to support the 'menu_strings' SSS domain. See file:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/artifact/3d3821678a5e65a2bfabe6bc72625f6564d629e6

Note, putting that extra code in will not matter for puppies that don't have menu_strings, as it tests for existence of the file.
I think these are already translated in jwm_menu_create ... and many more (Thank others, I barely speak english, but am fluent in shell)


Ok.

For the record, that link to Fossil repo is out of date, the fixmenus file has changed considerably:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/artifact/3ab5cfad3d75084b30c5a1f4eabb10aa4298e9dc

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4282

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 22:18    Post subject:  

I'll probably do a new minor point release this week with some xlations, but I want to do a little experiment first ... export LANG=C after the translation variables are loaded to see if 1. Translations stick with proper characters and such, and 2. Test speed difference

If anyone has more bug/translation fixes ...

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7784
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 02:34    Post subject:  

I believe there is a feature request [of sorts] for <StartupCommand> integration... here .. if you're interested.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 06:15    Post subject: jwm_param_gui
Subject description: bugfix 0.7.3
 

technosaurus wrote:
...
If anyone has more bug/translation fixes ...


Tested jwm_para_gui in latest racy
did not work because no config file

A config file is being created by jwm_menu_create.

I have integrated this into jwm_param_gui together with adding the LANGUAGE parameter

Code:
# create missing config file ~/.jwm/JWMRC and missing LANGUAGE parameter

version=0.7.3


--------
Maybe moving the location of translation files
from
/usr/share/locale/*/LC_MESSAGES/jwm
to
/usr/share/locales/*/jwm
is a good idea?

________________________________

edit
NOTE, background image does not change
jwm_param_gui is just changing values in JMRC
jwm_param_gui.gz
Description  remove .gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  jwm_param_gui.gz 
Filesize  3.68 KB 
Downloaded  306 Time(s) 

Last edited by L18L on Sun 19 Feb 2012, 13:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 07:54    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
I want to do a little experiment first ... export LANG=C after the translation variables are loaded to see if 1. Translations stick with proper characters and such, and 2. Test speed difference

I'm 90% sure that works.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4229
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 12:09    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
It seems ok to a non-native speaker, but is it necessary to have "SESSION" in all caps? ..or is that based on a distro/puplet specific shutdown script?


Hi, technosaurus.

No, it could be "Session", but AFAIK there seems to be a consensus in Toutou's to have it in caps. Maybe to bring attention to this item, as if saying "this is where you control your session". I don't care either way, really.

BFN

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4229
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 12:14    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
>Well for now would any native French users say Musher0's translation effort beats techno's google effort? If so I'll put it in Slacko.

If you use the Google one... at least make sure you have the "Calculate" item read "Calculs" and not "Calcus" -- which could as well be "Cactus"...(ouch) or even something vulgar...

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 14:03    Post subject:  

Support added for the XDG standard 'NoDisplay' option..
See lines marked #20120312 for changes.

Code:
for DESKTOP_FILE in /usr/share/applications/* ; do
   #[ "$( cat $DESKTOP_FILE | grep -m1 ^NoDisplay=true)" != "" ] && continue
   ICON="" CATS="" NAME="" EXEC="" SKIP=false #prevent carryover #20120312, added SKIP
   while read LINE || [ "$LINE" ] ; do
      case $LINE in
         NoDisplay=true*) SKIP=true ;; #20120312
         Name=*|Name?${myLANG%_*}?=*) NAME="${LINE#*=}"'' ;; # sc0ttman... should use "Name[$myLANG]=" if found
#         Comment=*|Comment?${myLANG%_*}?=*) COMMENT="${LINE#*=}"''  ;; #jwm doesn't support tooltips on menu items yet ...
         Icon=*) ICON="${LINE#*=}"''  ;;
         Categories=*) CATS="${LINE#*=}"'' ;;
         Exec=*) EXEC="${LINE#*=}"'' ;;
      esac
      
   done < $DESKTOP_FILE   
   [ "${SKIP}" = true ] && continue #20120312

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2012, 15:12    Post subject: jwm_tools-0.9.1
Subject description: in menu now
 

sc0ttman wrote:
Support added for the XDG standard 'NoDisplay' option..
See lines marked #20120312 for changes.

...done

Running in Racy 5229 was not possible because no language files included. In normal cases a program would run English.....

Thus I have fixed some bugs and, for easier testing added the entry jwm_tools: Parameters in jwmconfig.
Thus launches jwm_param_gui where you can choose from the installed languages (Dutch added)

Have fun

---
edit: deleted 0.9.2.pet
jwmconfig2_jwm_param_gui.png
 Description   .. and another language added
 Filesize   19.1 KB
 Viewed   1018 Time(s)

jwmconfig2_jwm_param_gui.png


Last edited by L18L on Wed 14 Mar 2012, 18:10; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2012, 15:35    Post subject:  

Sorry
yet a bug in 1 of the scripts
value not "" but " " (always 1 space too much)
does not change SUBMENU and DRIVES

-----
edit: here is a fix.

----
edit: bug located
choices were always overwritten by config file
quick fix:
search in file
$HOME/.jwm/JWMRC
for
SUBMENU="1" #SUBMENUS=""
DRIVES="1" #DRIVES=""
and change every found into
#SUBMENU="1" #SUBMENUS=""
#DRIVES="1" #DRIVES=""

----
thanks for testing
pet deleted : take version 0.9.3 next post please

Last edited by L18L on Thu 15 Mar 2012, 16:26; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 16:21    Post subject: jwm_tools-0.9 (was jwm_menu_create)
Subject description: version 0.9.3
 

Please delete config file /root/.jwm/JWMRC
then install 0.9.3.pet

What´s new?

jwm_param_gui can be launched from JWM configuration

known bugs are fixed

menu has an alternative for translations now
no more inside /usr/share/applications/*.desktop
but simply in 1 file, ex: /usr/share/locales/de/names

/usr/share/locales/de/names wrote:
s%"Abiword wordprocessor"%"Abiword Textverarbeitung"%
s%"FFConvert multimedia converter"%"FFConvert Multimedia-Konverter"%
s%"Mixer generic sound mixer"%"Mixer Sound-Mischpult"%
s%"Pmount mount/unmount drives"%"Pmount Laufwerke ein-/aushängen"%

Copy this file (170 program names from racy, extendable) into your locales and you can translate everything very quick (momanager needed more than 1 minute for each word and I think this is much better)



----
edited 2012-10-18
downloaded 164 times
deleted jwm_tools-0.9.3.pet
use jwm_tools-0.9.4.pet please Smile

Last edited by L18L on Thu 18 Oct 2012, 07:53; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4282

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 03:28    Post subject:  

J have been working on some C projects lately and haven't gotten the stuff done here that I wanted to, so I am posting a quick, updated todo list. - let me know if I am missing something

    sync up with patches - thanks guys
    finish support for multiple custom trays, including app trays, swallow and all other niceties.
    have option for drives as a menu instead of a tray (then jwm -reload will update them on the fly)
    remove the %* from the execs in the menu - jwm does not support drag and drop, so %U, %s, %f and whatever are meaningless
    (NOTE: what if there is an rxvt -e with a printf "%s...", ...)
    add tools for viewing pdf and other doc types that can be converted to images to reduce resource usage similar to the image viewer (mubusy in mupdf will do pdf and several other formats, abiword's cli can do others, etc...)
    Explain the purpose of unix-ifying the tools and general documentation.

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxerro


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 08:34    Post subject:  

You might consider using data from /sys/block (instead of /sys/dev/block) in that lite drive-detector, and get it all organized even easier (and slightly faster). Partitions could be displayed as sub-menus. (And every partition could have its own sub-menu, if you want to add more options like mount/unmount/open-in-fm/info/[dare to blank/format/backup/play]/...)
Also consider displaying partition size next to the name (since it's handed on a plate):
size = /sys/block/drive/queue/hw_sector_size x /sys/block/drive[/partname]/size

Wanted to suggest something else too, but can't remember... It'll strike me later...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxerro


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 10:17    Post subject:  

OK, forget that little size formula.
It appears that on newer hard-drives (after 2010) you may need to check /sys/block/drive/queue/logical_block_size or physical_block_size.

Last edited by maxerro on Sat 02 Jun 2012, 11:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0964s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]