Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 02:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
[Solved] Nvidia TNT2 Vanta LT 8MB
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 14:07    Post_subject:  [Solved] Nvidia TNT2 Vanta LT 8MB
Sub_title: GPU now works
 

(sorry if bad english. that's because I speak spanish)

My graphics card Nvidia TNT2 Vanta LT 8MB (using Lucid Puppy 5.25)
does not display a 1024x768x16 resolution as it's meant to be.
It is actually working with a refresh frecuency of 78Hz, and I want it to work in 60Hz.

How can I change that refresh frecuency?

_________________
--- leae89 ---

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 14:09    Post_subject:  

I don't know if it is a GPU problem or screen problem.
Normally it works with 60Hz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 03:14    Post_subject:  

To change refresh rate:

menu->setup->xorg video wizard->xorgwizard
select probe.
Set resolution.
Select test.
Select test X now.
After test results - select OK.
Select tweak.
Select tweak_xorg.conf
Select tweak_refresh
Scroll up or down ( some selections you will not see without scrolling)
High-lite desired refresh
Select OK
Select test X now.
If you select one that your hardware will not support, it will stall for a few sec. and fall back to last good setting.
Finish xorgwizard

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 18:42    Post_subject: Thanks, bigpup.  

Thankyou @bigpup, I'll try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2011, 19:14    Post_subject: Tweaking xorg.conf  

My CRT monitor now works better. I'm currently using 75Hz for refresh, but! the resolution went from 1024x768 to 832x624. Help!
I want my 1024x768 resolution back!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2011, 22:38    Post_subject:  

In a console
Type xrandr
press enter key

This will show list of available settings you can use.
List will show:
resolution setting
available refresh rate for each resolution.

Run xorgwizard again
Set resolution to 1024x768
Set refresh to setting shown in list available for 1024x768

If refresh rate you want for resolution 1024x768 is not available. Need to know
What version of Puppy you are using?
How it is installed?

To get better options you will need to use a Nvidia manufacturers video driver.

Example:
sh-4.1# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1280x1024 50.0* 51.0
1280x960 52.0
1152x864 53.0 54.0 55.0 56.0
1024x768 57.0 58.0 59.0 60.0
960x600 61.0
960x540 62.0
840x525 63.0 64.0 65.0
832x624 66.0
800x600 67.0 68.0 69.0 70.0 71.0
800x512 72.0
720x450 73.0
680x384 74.0 75.0
640x512 76.0 77.0
640x480 78.0 79.0 80.0 81.0
576x432 82.0 83.0 84.0 85.0
512x384 86.0 87.0 88.0
416x312 89.0
400x300 90.0 91.0 92.0
320x240 93.0 94.0 95.0

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 11:42    Post_subject:  

I'm using Lucid Puppy 528
Not installed, only a save-file
Using nv driver



below's the image, attached.
image-1.jpg
 Description   xrandr snapshot
 Filesize   26.2 KB
 Viewed   1710 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 13:51    Post_subject:  

What is the brand name and model of your monitor?
How is it hooked to your computer?
What type connection?

By your xrandr output you are using the max setting for your monitor.
I will say this is the lowest resolution spec's I have seen for a xrandr output.

Need to verify if this is correct for your monitor by checking the manufacturers spec's.

Also, on the desktop is Quickpet.
Run Quickpet->drivers tab->click here to test your graphics card

What info does it give about recommended driver?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 17:42    Post_subject:  

I don't think it's the maximum resolution because it was working with 1024x768 before changing the refreshing ratio.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OK. As I said before, Puppy ins't installed. I'm working with a lupusave.3fs and a 200MB swap files.

The graphics card is actually using the "nv" driver.
Current (but not desired) resolution is 832 x 624 x 24-bit, marked by Puppy as maximum supported by card (???).

The monitor is a COMPAQ MV540 CRT screen.

Maximum screen resolution is 1024 x 768 x 32-bit @ 60Hz
while using "winbug$".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 12:57    Post_subject:  

Compaq MV540 CRT screen
Hooked? Nop.
Connection? VGA

I didn't look for the manufacturer specifications, but I've seen it work with 1024 x 768 as maximum.

Quickpet says "for nVidia NV6 [Vanta/Vanta LT] (rev 15), Xorg_High is the best add on driver"

I'm currently downloading and installing it.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2011, 18:29    Post_subject:  

Quote:
The graphics card is actually using the "nv" driver.

This NV driver could be your problem. You have a very old graphics card that may not be fully supported by this driver.

The Xorg-High driver is not a true driver. What it does is adds 3D and OpenGL support.

I would try this:

menu->setup->xorg video wizard->xorgwizard
select Vesa driver.
Set resolution to 1024X768.
Select test.
Select test X now.
After test results - select OK.
Select tweak.
Select tweak_xorg.conf
Select tweak_refresh
Scroll up or down ( some selections you will not see without scrolling)
High-lite desired refresh (60 HZ)
Select OK
Select test X now.
If you select one that your hardware will not support, it will stall for a few sec. and fall back to last good setting.
Finish xorgwizard

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Sat 10 Sep 2011, 21:46    Post_subject:  

OK, @bigpup, I tested the VESA driver. It gave me a 800x600 resolution as maximum.

I'm using the NV driver again.

What can I do now? I had a 1024x768 resolution before tweaking the refresh ratio!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
leae89


Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila. México.

PostPosted: Sat 10 Sep 2011, 22:31    Post_subject:  

Breaking news...


I recently downloaded and tried to execute the "NVIDIA-Linux-x86-71.86.15-pkg1.run" file (right clic > run_in_terminal).
Quote:
Unable to find the system utility 'ldconfig'; please make sure you have the package 'glibc' installed. If you do have 'ldconfig' installed, then please check that 'ldconfig' is in your PATH.

What does "is in your PATH" mean?

Also, I checked if 'glibc' is installed by running "ldd --version" in Terminal.
Quote:
ldd (Ubuntu EGLIBC 2.11.1-0ubuntu7) 2.11.1
(C) 2009 Free Software Foundation, Inc. (etcetera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Sep 2011, 22:37    Post_subject:  

leae89 wrote:
OK, @bigpup, I tested the VESA driver. It gave me a 800x600 resolution as maximum.

I'm using the NV driver again.

What can I do now? I had a 1024x768 resolution before tweaking the refresh ratio!

When running xorgwizard
on the resolution selection window there is a more button. Select it to get more resolution options.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Sep 2011, 23:11    Post_subject:  

leae89 wrote:
Breaking news...


I recently downloaded and tried to execute the "NVIDIA-Linux-x86-71.86.15-pkg1.run" file (right clic > run_in_terminal).
Quote:
Unable to find the system utility 'ldconfig'; please make sure you have the package 'glibc' installed. If you do have 'ldconfig' installed, then please check that 'ldconfig' is in your PATH.

What does "is in your PATH" mean?

Also, I checked if 'glibc' is installed by running "ldd --version" in Terminal.
Quote:
ldd (Ubuntu EGLIBC 2.11.1-0ubuntu7) 2.11.1
(C) 2009 Free Software Foundation, Inc. (etcetera)

To be able to run this Nvidia package you have to have the DEVX package and the kernel source files for Puppy 5.2.8 installed.
(the Puppy you say you are using now)
Get them from Quickpet. (icon on desktop)

Here is info on how to do the Nvidia driver compile and install.

I download the DEVX and Kernel sfs files into /mnt/home. That's where .sfs files always go if I want to use them.

4.) Go to Menu>System>Bootmanager and click on the button to load sfs files. The two files you just downloaded should be there, so select them for loading next time you boot. Close out of Boot Manager.

5.)Now remove any Nvidia driver .pets you may have installed. Do this using the Menu>Setup> Puppy Package Manager.

6.) Reboot, and open Boot Manager to make sure the two files you specified are still listed in the right pane -- that means they were loaded properly. Sometimes it takes changing a checkbox setting to get them loaded, or you may be trying to load too many sfs files for your version of Puppy. You may have to temporarily remove something else.

Okay, let's do it

1.) Go to menu>shutdown>exit to prompt. You will be in terminal mode now

2.) Type
Code:
ls
and <enter>. You should see a listing of files, including the name of the Nvidia driver file that you downloaded to /root earlier.

3.) Type the exact name of the NVIDIA installer file, preceeded by a ./ (a dot and forward slash) into the terminal. You can use the left and right arrow keys to move around and edit the letters if you need to. Don't use the mouse, it doesn't work with terminal editing.

Code:
./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-71.86.15-pkg1.run


4.) If yours looks right, hit <enter>. The nvidia installer should start up.

If it doesn't, you probably don't have the spelling exactly right. To see the proper spelling you can enter ls again. Then, to edit what you wrote last time, just hit an up arrow, and it will appear again. Then you can edit it to correct the spelling, and try <enter> again..

5.) Once the installer starts up, follow all of the instructions and suggestions it makes. It will at some point give a message that it can't find a suitable driver pre-made for your kernel, and will ask to compile a new one. Yes, that's what you want. It will also ask to rewrite your xorg.conf file. That's fine, too. Basically do what it asks.

6.) When done, type reboot, and start up Puppy again.

7.) If everything is okay, you can open Boot Manager and remove the devx and kernel source files. They aren't needed anymore -- the installer just uses them to compile your custom driver. If you want, you can also delete or move the NVIDIA installer file out of /root. I like to keep a copy, however, in case I ever have to reinstall the Nvidia driver.

You may need to run xorgwizard again to select this new driver to use.
Quickpet.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   69.23 KB
 Viewed   1564 Time(s)

Quickpet.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0849s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]