Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 09:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 139 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5235
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 16:50    Post subject:  

majorfoo
Location: Wish I knew

I know that place. It is next to where you tell your wife you have been for the last 2 hours. Nowhere Shocked Smile

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5857
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 17:02    Post subject:  

Just using one of my old test boxes ...... full install of Lucid with a whole 128 mb of ram.Actually pretty usable.

-Computer-
Processor : Celeron (Mendocino)
Memory : 124MB (78MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sat 04 Aug 2012 02:46:33 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI i810E 20050821 x86/MMX
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801AA-ICH

-Processor-
Name : Celeron (Mendocino)
Family, model, stepping : 6, 6, 5 (Pentium II/Pentium II Xeon/Celeron)
Vendor : Intel
-Configuration-
Cache Size : 128kb
Frequency : 498.29MHz
BogoMIPS : 996.57
Byte Order : Little Endian

-Version-
Kernel : Linux 2.6.33.2 (i686)
Compiled : #1 SMP Thu May 27 10:56:32 EST 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 17:05    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
majorfoo
Location: Wish I knew

I know that place. It is next to where you tell your wife you have been for the last 2 hours. Nowhere Shocked Smile


The location is where I go to do nothing.
The only problem with doing nothing is that I never know when I am finished.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 17:29    Post subject:  

To bigpup and majorfoo:

Tried both commands:
puppy pfix=nomodeset
And...
puppy pfix=nox
Both produced the identical result, which was...
The sfs file could not be found, so loading halted. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5235
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 00:35    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
To bigpup and majorfoo:

Tried both commands:
puppy pfix=nomodeset
And...
puppy pfix=nox
Both produced the identical result, which was...
The sfs file could not be found, so loading halted. Sad

Thanks for trying.
This old Puppy may just not want to play with your new toys.

If you want to keep trying.
Saw a post talking about similar issue and it suggested, may be issue with support for your CD/DVD drive. It suggested boot with a USB flash drive install of Lucid.
Or do this suggested by rcrsn51:
1. Get a flash drive and copy the core Puppy files from the CD to the drive.

2. Boot off the CD with the flash drive plugged in.

3. At the short initial pause, type

Code:
puppy pmedia=usbflash


May still need to use other boot options suggested.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 05:34    Post subject:  

SUCCESS! Very Happy
...Of sorts.

1. I'm posting this from lupu-528.005 [a version with pmedia=ataflash applied in the ISO].

2. Was too slow/inattentive to apply pmedia=usbflash, and...
It booted straight into the desktop. Very Happy
So...

3. I copied a stored lupusave.3fs file to sit beside all the others on the Flash Drive...
Then...
Rebooted.
And...

4. Got my old familiar desktop and environment. Cool

5. Odd thing though...
Only the filesystem, on the FAT32 partition, on the USB Flash Drive, shows on the desktop.
i.e. NONE of the filesystems on the internal SATA HDD, nor the CD-RW disk in the SATA DVD-RW drive.
Any idea why?
Pmount also sees/shows only the USB Flash Drive partition->filesystem.
Same with GParted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 08:01    Post subject:  

Sylvander

I may be wrong but I just wonder if some of your current booting problems could have something to do with your Motherboard using UEFI (Unified Extensible Firmware Interface).
Worth reading up on and something that could cause future problems for Linux users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5235
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 13:01    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:

5. Odd thing though...
Only the filesystem, on the FAT32 partition, on the USB Flash Drive, shows on the desktop.
i.e. NONE of the filesystems on the internal SATA HDD, nor the CD-RW disk in the SATA DVD-RW drive.
Any idea why?
Pmount also sees/shows only the USB Flash Drive partition->filesystem.
Same with GParted.

Could try this, but not sure why or if it would work. Not sure why you would need to.
If you open the preferences tab in pmount
tick the box:
tick box to use mut

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 18:28    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
If you open the preferences tab in pmount
tick the box:
tick box to use mut

Did that, but it made no difference. Sad
Tried saving the change, and rebooted, but still no difference.
The change was remaining in place OK.
I eventually put it back the way it had been originally.
By-the-way...
I notice that when I click "Menu->Filesystem->Pmount", a yellow dialog flashes for a fraction of a second, then the Pmount dialog appears [not added on top, but instead].

Thanks for your help, it's appreciated. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5235
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 20:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
I click "Menu->Filesystem->Pmount", a yellow dialog flashes for a fraction of a second, then the Pmount dialog appears

That yellow dialog is normal.
please wait probing hardware.
(on a slow computer you can read it)

Maybe Three headed Dog would work better. It has a newer kernel.
Still Lucid 528.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70736
Not sure if an old save file from normal Lucid 528 would work OK with Three Headed Dog, but I think I remember someone doing it and it worked.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2012, 02:23    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Maybe Three headed Dog would work better. It has a newer kernel.
Still Lucid 528.

Tried it and it didn't work...
Unable to find the SFS file. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2012, 22:47    Post subject: Trouble with f-prot--SOLVED  

Thought I might have an infection in the Windows install on this computer (dual-boot with LuPu 528.005), so I found f-prot in Puppy Package manager. Installed it but it will not run the update function. I think it is because it's too old, and the installed license key is expired. Went to f-prot.com and downloaded their latest Linux version, followed their (very simple) installation instructions, and it worked fine. Unfortunately the problem turned out to be a failing hard drive causing Windows to misbehave, and f-prot can't repair that. Is there a utility in Puppy that will read SMART hard drive status? Ubuntu's disk utility finally found this problem, will it run in Puppy?

@Sylvander, a point that seems to be missed: as far as I know, LuPu has no form with a "PAE" kernel. I recently built a new computer so my lady will have less problems running Facebook games, and that means LOTS of RAM--and LuPu won't support more than about 4GB. Slacko has a PAE version as well as the newer "normal" kernel, and FarmVille et al. run much better on it. And Playdayz has that collection of "lupufy Slacko" stuff!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 00:53    Post subject: Re: Trouble with f-prot--SOLVED  

1.
kevin bowers wrote:
@Sylvander, a point that seems to be missed: as far as I know, LuPu has no form with a "PAE" kernel....LuPu won't support more than about 4GB.

I'm aware of that, so didn't miss the point. Very Happy
This new PC only has 4GB of RAM so far.
I have anther 4GB of 1333 DDR3 sitting here spare/unfitted.

2.
kevin bowers wrote:
Slacko has a PAE version as well as the newer "normal" kernel,

(a) I have the PAE version ISO downloaded, and have asked some questions regarding this at the Slacko thread, but so far no reply. Sad
i.e. Will the PAE version update OK, the slackosave file for the ordinary Slacko version, or do I need to keep the PAE version from finding the old slackosave?
(b) I tried to modify the ISO to include the config setting pmedia=ataflash, but the ISO would not mount.
Any idea why?
If you do, could you answer in the Slacko thread?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 09:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
@Sylvander, a point that seems to be missed: as far as I know, LuPu has no form with a "PAE" kernel....LuPu won't support more than about 4GB.

3.2 GB max I think actually. Another alternative is Fatdog 64 which will support big memory naturally.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 10:45    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Another alternative is Fatdog 64 which will support big memory naturally.

I have in use: FatDog64-600-Firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 139 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2090s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1166s) ][ GZIP on ]