Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 189 [2827 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 187, 188, 189 Next
Author Message
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 18:05    Post subject: Re: Iron 13, Google Chrome 13, Chromium 15  

[quote="Brown Mouse"]
playdayz wrote:
Brown Mouse, majorfoo, and others,

This is experimental but it has been working for me. It does 2 things--first, it makes the newer chromium based browsers work without the pinwheel of death problem with loading, and second, it lets Seamonkey and other gecko based browsers work when installed along with the Chromium browsers.

1. First, please uninstall any Iron, Chromium, or Chrome pets.

2. Second, install this libgconf2-4_3.1.6 pet.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/libgconf2-4_3.1.6.pet

3. Then install one or more of these Iron 13, Chromium 15 or Google Chrome 13 pets.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Iron-13-lucid528.pet
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Chromium-15-Lucid.pet
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Google_Chrome-13-Lucid.pet

Please use only these pets--definitely do not use the pets for Slacko.

Install the Seamonkey 2.3 Lucid pet if desired, or Firefox, etc. If they are already installed they should now work without re-installation (crossed fingers).

Please let me know, especially if you notice any side effects, since if this works out it will be included in the first Instant Update. Thanks.


I can confirm that this solved my problems using update from Seamonkey 2.2 to Seamonkey 2.3 or using Seamonkey-2.3-Lucid.pet.

Thanks playdayz for providing this fix.

majorfoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 20:13    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
BarryK wrote:
I have announced Lucid 5.2.8 on my blog. Once that is done, somehow Ladislav at distrowatch.com comes to know automatically that there is a new release.

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02418

there already now http://distrowatch.com/6850

soething seems to have gone stray
Quote:
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 is the fastest and friendliest Lucid yet. It is the fastest because it is the first Lucid to use the C and ffmpeg libraries optimized for i686 computers rather than the older i386 computers.
image-4.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.75 KB
 Viewed   2088 Time(s)

image-4.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 21:26    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
When I boot up, I am unable to boot using "puppy pfix=ram"; vmlinuz etc. starts loading immediately. Is this a "feature" to speed boot time, or did I possibly corrupt something?

MoebusNet, puppy pfix=ram means that Lucid Puppy will load "clean" without loading any lupusave file that might be present. vmlinuz and lupu-528.sfs will load to load and start Puppy, just no lupusave file so it will be like a first boot.

I am not sure about fat16. I have only tested a usb drive with fat32.

For future reference, there is one oddity I noticed about using Bootflash. I used it on a usb drive that was formatted for Linux ext4 and I got a boot error, even though it said it was (re) formatting the drive. I then used Gparted to delete the partition on the usb drive, leaving it unformatted. After that, Bootflash worked to create a bootable usb drive. AFAIK Bootflash will format fat32.


@playdayz : sorry to take so long to reply; trying to repair 5.28 I completely crashed it. Had to do a clean reinstall from scratch (took hours - too long to explain).

I think I somehow corrupted 5.28 when I changed from one computer to another. The symptoms are that I do not get the graphic showing Puppy 5.28 and offering 5 seconds to enter boot options before vmlinuz etc. start to load. I've had this happen before (unintentionally) if a pup_save file for one computer loads on another computer. Once the pup_save file loads on a computer, there is no easy way to avoid saving changes to the pup_save file.

I'm on a clean install now, so I hope to avoid this in the future *fingers crossed*

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 537

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 21:48    Post subject:  

To anyone interested, I've compiled a windows installer for lupu 528. You can download it here. (More info)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 22:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
C and ffmpeg libraries optimized for i686 computers rather than the older i386 computers.


I saw that aarf. I decided not to worry about it--Lucid 5.2.8 is not really totally i686 like Slacko is--it's just those 2 libraries (important libraries they are). They also had the wrong number for Abiword, and maybe some other stuff. I just thought people probably don't look that closely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 22:39    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
Google Earth won't run, perhaps because it requires the drivers that PPM specifically says are not for NVidia cards? I installed the NVidia drivers but no go.

Thanks Kevin, I think Google Earth 6.0.3 *should* run with the Nvidia drivers in Quickpet, under Drivers. Test your card and then install the appropriate Nvidia driver. Maybe someone else with an Nviida card could test Google Earth--it definitely needs the high end graphics. Oh, i do have one Nvidia card to test.
Quote:
Cool Edit 2000

The greatest ever--I still use it. The copy protection might be a problem in wine. I'll try, but I am booked for a couple of days.


Testing the card and installing the appropriate driver is exactly what I did. BTW, it's a full-install on an EXT3 partition, Pentium dual-core w/4GB and a 512MB GeForce210 card. Should be plenty of horsepower. I tried two different versions of Google Earth, I get the screen splash and then nothing.

I collect and clean-up old vinyl, their click-and-pop eliminator is the best I've ever seen although very slow. The program still runs on Win7. It returns an error message about the system not configured properly when I attempt to run it in WINE, and suggests running Setup again. Could still be copyright protection, though. That's probably the problem with Nitro PDF also, and I suspect it's just not worth the effort to try to get around it. After all neither one can be installed on a computer that doesn't have Windows on it anyway! I do have a standalone Windows program that I plan to test in WINE without Windows present, it is for reading and configuring Alltrax DC motor controllers through an interface cable. But I will have to do that at work because it requires the controller to be present or it closes. It'll be awhile before that happens, I'll try to post the results somewhere in the Puppy forums.

Once again, thanks for all the hard work!
Quote:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4984
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 00:02    Post subject:  

kevin bowers wrote:
playdayz wrote:
Quote:
Google Earth won't run, perhaps because it requires the drivers that PPM specifically says are not for NVidia cards? I installed the NVidia drivers but no go.

Thanks Kevin, I think Google Earth 6.0.3 *should* run with the Nvidia drivers in Quickpet, under Drivers. Test your card and then install the appropriate Nvidia driver. Maybe someone else with an Nviida card could test Google Earth--it definitely needs the high end graphics. Oh, i do have one Nvidia card to test.
Quote:
Cool Edit 2000

The greatest ever--I still use it. The copy protection might be a problem in wine. I'll try, but I am booked for a couple of days.


Testing the card and installing the appropriate driver is exactly what I did. BTW, it's a full-install on an EXT3 partition, Pentium dual-core w/4GB and a 512MB GeForce210 card. Should be plenty of horsepower. I tried two different versions of Google Earth, I get the screen splash and then nothing.

kevin bowers,
Are you sure you are using a Nvidia driver for your graphics card?
In menu->system->system status and config-> Hardinfo->display->OpenGL
What does it say fo OpenGL driver info?

I have a Nvidia Quadro FX 330 video card that uses the Nvidia 173.14.25 driver which is really old.
Google Earth 6.0.3 installed from Quickpet works fine for me. No problems.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 08:36    Post subject:  

Bigpup,
Hardinfo reports "unknown" under all the OpenGL categories. I installed what Quickpet recommended, Lucid511-nvidia-260.19.12-k2.6.33.2, and it seemed to go through all the steps and worked right.
I appreciate all the high-powered effort!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Insomniacno1

Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 09:03    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Insomniacno1 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Insomniacno1 wrote:
Also it would be nice if wine were fully integrated in the menu, so that "Wine Programs" were there too. Right now its nowhere to be found after installing Wine and here I mean all versions up to the newest 1.3.9.xxxx.
From 3.xx on I use wine when it still was 0.9.x
Now I am at 1.3.23 and still never had a problem to find wine in the menu's of any puppy included the latest ones.
green_dome is the person who compiles wine and his latest is 1.3.25.
Winehq has announced 1.3.26, so green_dome will shortly announce it.

The Wine thread of green_dome can be easily found by searching on his name with the puppy search link in my thread.

Now for your problem, it is better to post it the users forum, as I don't think it's a lucid 5.2.8 issue.


Hi Beem, did I offend you in some way? I don't claim to have more experience than you guys, I have nothing but utter respect for your guys work, but as I said if someone dont tell about the problems then they will continue as is.

with kind regards

Jan

Actually I were not kidden or mistaken about the wine, one of the users here compilled it to 1.3.9.

http://www.wuala.com/puppylinux/version2013/wine-1.3.9_v1/

and 1.3.9 has actually been available since december 2010

http://www.winehq.org/news/2010121001

My problem, as described with wine is that the "Wine Programs" menu entry never show up in Puppy. "Wine Programs" is where all your installed programs will be listed, I cant see why that has been left out. Another thing missing from the menu is "Explore Drive C:".

Well, you say its not an issue with 5.2.8, and I say it seems to be problem with all Puppy including 5.2.8 so thats why I tell the publisher of 5.2.8 that it would be nice if it were fixed in his version:)


I'm not a programmer, but I can immagine the enormous effort someone has put into it when posting his or hers Puppy version. And I can appreciate it, but if we don't tell the problems then they will not get fixed.

With kind regards

JBJ
You probably have more experience then I have.
So good luck with your request.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2646
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 19:43    Post subject:  

Hi people, congrats on 5.2.8, it's a very smooth release.
Just booted it today for the first time on my laptop and it works nicely so I setup frugal install with 1.25 GB savefile and devx sfs.

Laptop is Fujitsu Siemens Esprimo Mobile V5535
Intel Celeron 540 @ 1.86 Ghz, 447 MB RAM (+512 swap)
wide monitor @ 1280x768 resolution

touchpad works, sound works ootb, downloaded firefox 5 which updated itself to 6.0, added flash, youtube videos play. Resolution wasn't set correctly on autoconfiguration but set easily in xorgwizad.
No lag in graphics or while browsing so far so I think I'll keep it as frugal on this machine Smile

I compiled some packages, new version of pidgin and latest weechat are here and here

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4984
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 21:24    Post subject:  

kevin bowers wrote:
Bigpup,
Hardinfo reports "unknown" under all the OpenGL categories. I installed what Quickpet recommended, Lucid511-nvidia-260.19.12-k2.6.33.2, and it seemed to go through all the steps and worked right.
I appreciate all the high-powered effort!

If you are not seeing info about a Nvidia driver in Hardinfo->display->OpenGL you are not using the Nvidia driver for OpenGL.
This is a good indication that the Nvidia driver is not being used to drive your Graphics.
After downloading and installing the Nvidia driver. Did you run xorgwizard to make the change to what driver the system is using?
When running xorgwizard:
After selecting the resolution you get option to test.
Run the test and the test results will tell you if the Nvidia driver is being used.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4984
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 21:54    Post subject:  

First impression of Lucid Puppy 5.2.8
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70999

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 22:46    Post subject:  

Bigpup,
installing the driver automatically runs xorgwizard, but I just did it again just to be sure. xorgwizard reports the driver being used as "nv". Just to eliminate possibilities I changed the depth from 16 to 24 bits. No go: Google Earth still shows the screensplash then quits, and hardinfo still reports "unknown" under "Open GL". I am back to my original theory, that this driver is not compatible with Google Earth. Too bad, but after all it's just a toy for me, not something I need, and I'm sure I could run it in Windows if necessary. Once again, thanks for the efforts even if they didn't pay off!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 23:34    Post subject:  

Your obviously not getting the correct driver selected.... "nv" is the generic driver which doesn't support OpenGL. Have you tried the "choose" option and then picking "Nvidia"? Probe should work to choose the correct driver but evidently not in your case.
Just an idea. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4984
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 02:51    Post subject:  

kevin bowers,

I Agree with James C. you are not using the Nvidia driver you installed.
You seem to have fallen into the Black area of Video driver install. What should work does not work. Could be the driver you installed is not compatible with your video card. Could be xorgwizard just refuses to us it for some unknown reason.
The only solution I have seen that works 100%, is to just start over fresh with a clean full install or for frugal installs, a fresh save file.
Make selecting and using a new video driver the first thing you do.

If anyone knows more about this please inform us. I just had basically this same problem and my only cure was to start fresh.

I tried a new driver and all that would work was the Vesa driver.
Removed old driver, rebooted using Vesa driver, installed new driver, ran xorgwizard, tried to get new driver selected, and xorgwizard refused to use it.
Started with a fresh save file, installed the driver I tried to use, ran xorgwizard, and it worked this time.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 189 [2827 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 187, 188, 189 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1304s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0197s) ][ GZIP on ]