Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 23:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Avast AV crash after update
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 13:33    Post subject:  Avast AV crash after update
Subject description: The fix
 

I have Avast AV for Linux installed and upon doing a definition update, Avast crashed.
I investigated this and found that the remedy is to change the value in /proc/sys/kernel/shmmax.

I tried it and it works.
But the question is will this harm puppy?
What it does is increase the memory block available to a program's data.

I put this script into /root/Startup.

Code:

#!/bin/bash
echo 128000000 >/proc/sys/kernel/shmmax


I thought I would pass it along for those that are using avast4workstation-1.3.0.tar.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 11:31    Post subject:  

Hey 8-bit I wish someone could answer this one too .

8.bit wrote:
But the question is will this harm puppy?
What it does is increase the memory block available to a program's data.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 12:04    Post subject:  

No it will not harm Puppy I have an almost exact same fix for avast in PupRescue and it works fine n doesn't harm anything.
_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 10:23    Post subject:  

1. How should I install "avast4workstation-1.3.0.tar.gz"?

2. And how to make the script file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 15:03    Post subject:  

sylvander, I saw you tried the link I posted for you, is that the only error you got was an invalid argument?

edit: did you restart your computer after installing and try running from menu? it should ask you for your registration key, run avast first not avast update. I just reinstalled on a fresh 528 install and it still works fine.

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 19:08    Post subject:  

. "sylvander, I saw you tried the link I posted for you"
Er, I think I actually had to search for the avast.1.3.0.pet because you didn't supply a link.
Here's the post that set me searching.

2. "is that the only error you got was an invalid argument?"
Yes...
Here's my report of that.

3. "did you restart your computer after installing"
No...
I thought this was un-necessary in Lupu-526.

4. "and try running from menu?"
No...
Tried looking for it in the menu, and couldn't find it.
All I could find was "Menu->Utility->Avast! update".
So I ran the avast command in a terminal.

5. "it should ask you for your registration key"
Quite so.
I wondered why it didn't.
Began to wonder if that program only installed an update program, not a virus scanning program.

6. "run avast first not avast update"
OK, I now see "Menu->System->System status and config->Avast! antivirus"...
Clicked that, it was reported that a stale file was deleted...
It didn't ask for a password. Confused
Then the Avast! program window appeared, and I was able to scan the Windows partition. Very Happy Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 19:36    Post subject:  

The reason a restart is required is because the "avast fix" script for the updater is in the startup folder. I tried to supply the actual link but when I did my post blanked out on me for some reason. I think it may not have asked you for a registration key because some settings/config file from your old avast may not have been deleted when you deleted your old version and installed 1.3.0 after but I assure you the 1.3.0 pet is not an update it is the full avast av program minus the av database (its like 40mb).

Edit: btw glad to see you got it working for you.

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 20:03    Post subject:  

1. "the "avast fix" script for the updater is in the startup folder"
(a) Ah, OK, I see the avastfix.sh script file in the root/Startup folder.

(b) Is this placed there by the "Menu->Utility->Avast Update" program?
I must have manually saved the session changes after running that.
I've since rebooted.

(c) Does this mean that updating the Avast virus definitions [by clicking on the update button within the Avast Virus Scanner] will no longer be problematic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 20:35    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
1. "the "avast fix" script for the updater is in the startup folder"
(a) Ah, OK, I see the avastfix.sh script file in the root/Startup folder.

(b) Is this placed there by the "Menu->Utility->Avast Update" program?
I must have manually saved the session changes after running that.
I've since rebooted.

(c) Does this mean that updating the Avast virus definitions [by clicking on the update button within the Avast Virus Scanner] will no longer be problematic?


No it was placed there by me manually, if you untar the pet you will see it in the startup folder in there.
Yes it does in fact mean that as long as you keep that file in the startup folder you will never have a problem updating the av signatures with avast-1.3.0

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 05:55    Post subject:  

Any idea what the "Avast update" item in the Menu system does?

Update the Avast virus scanner?
Or update the virus definitions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 10:05    Post subject:  

It updates the definitions, or so it is supposed to but since I can't actually see it (I can't get the terminal to pop up to show it even using rxvt -e doesn't work for some reason) so I always update the definitions from inside the avast gui.
_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 11:03    Post subject:  

1. I used the "Find" facility to find the "avast-update.desktop" file, and from the content, found that the program to run is...
/usr/bin/avast-update

2. So I navigated in Xfe to /usr/bin, and ran a terminal window there, and ran inside it the command avast-update.
Here's the seemingly successful result:
Code:
]# avast-update
Checking for virus signature updates...
An update for /root/.avast/400.vps is available.  Fetching update...
Update done: /root/.avast/400.vps dated 2011-11-05 10:19 /root/.avast/400.vps.
#


3. Then tried to run the Avast scanner by clicking on the entry in the Menu.
It didn't run! Sad Confused
So I..
Manually entered the command:
Code:
echo 128000000 >/proc/sys/kernel/shmmax

Then...
Ran the avast command in a terminal and got:
Code:
# avast
/usr/bin/avast: line 178: 22822 Killed                  $AVAST_PREFIX/bin/$programname "$@"
#


4. Any idea what went wrong?

5. I'll reboot without saving the session, and see if all is well once back in.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

6. Yes, changes have been discarded, and the Avast scanner is running once more.

7. The following 3 successive commands worked just Fine. Very Happy
There was no update available this time around because at the previous attempt, the updates were downloaded just fine, and I could see that the virus database info within the program had confirmed the update. Cool
Code:
# echo 128000000 >/proc/sys/kernel/shmmax
# avast-update
Checking for virus signature updates...
No updates available at this time.
# avastgui

Last edited by Sylvander on Sat 05 Nov 2011, 11:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 11:26    Post subject:  

Presumably with the outdated vrus definition set "reinstated"?

Have you updated the defs and scanned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3455
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 11:59    Post subject:  

1. "Presumably with the outdated virus definition set "reinstated"?"
(a) Yes...
After reboot without saving the session...
The outdated virus definition set was back as it had previously been.
i.e.
111104-1, 04/11/11
------------------------

(b) It's now at...
111105-2, 05/11/11
After the update completed today, once back in from reboot.

2. "Have you updated the defs and scanned?"
(a) Yes...
Presently scanning my D: partition [sda5].
One error reported as shown by the screenshot below.
My wife made that DOC file as a template for me to use to type new letters.
What should I do about that corrupted OLE archive?
My wife recons I should just delete it; she'll make a new DOC file if necessary.
Avast says it cannot delete this type of file.
Xfe deleted it with no difficulty.
Repeated scan produced no warning = zero viruses.

(b) Yesterday I scanned my C: partition [sda1], with definitions that were up-to-date [only just then updated] at that time.
.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   30.27 KB
 Viewed   492 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 12:29    Post subject:  

Hi,

(a) Is windows used very much and which version is it?
How long does it take avast to scan your C and D partitions at both medium and maximum settings.

(b) How might Windows acquire malware:
emails (if not via Puppy)?
CDs/DVs?
Downloads?

(c) Are you happy that your active Windows malware protection is amongst the very best (perhaps freeware) available?

(d) Do you clone or backup your C and D partitions and, if yes, how frequently?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1173s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0368s) ][ GZIP on ]