Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 16 Sep 2019, 02:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Unable to connect wirelessly in Lupu 5.28, Wary 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Marja1

Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 21:53    Post subject:  Unable to connect wirelessly in Lupu 5.28, Wary 5
Subject description: TP-link (TL-WN851N) card
 

Not sure this is the correct thread?

I am on lupu 5.28 atm, also tried Wary 5-
I am having problems going wireless, it's new to me-tho Puppy has
gotten me closer than winders or other linux distros I've tried lately.

My computer is a Dell Dimension 2400-Pentium 4 with 2.2 GHz
Intel chip, 1G ram and XP/Mepis dual booting on it.

I have a TP-link (TL-WN85IN) card w/Netgear router N300 (WNR2000-1000NAS)-
the card has only it's driver installed, tho I have tried a couple of other
Atheros drivers ... that are on the wizard's list.
The router is set to broadcast, auto DCHP-and WPA w/key-the rest of the settings
I just let the default wizard set up-doing all the settings myself did not work!

Basically the network wizard finds networks including mine but mine can't
get me online while wireless..
Booting most any Puppy the eth0 works right away .. Great! Smile

I do want to understand why I can't seem to get wireless. tho.
at least on Lupu and Wary I did see networks, which is a huge step for me.

There is so much help and answers on this forum-that's wonderful!
But so many answers, I am confused as to where I should start?
Is it my card? That's what I am really wondering, which driver should I start with?
I see all kinds of solutions, but which one would fit my scenario?

Thank you in advance!

Marja
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12562
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 00:38    Post subject:  

First, here is a guide on how to setup wireless.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65346

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4437
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 01:49    Post subject:  

2 posts here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70570&start=30

:::::

My old wireless setup post. >> Updated July 14 2011

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69877

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 05:34    Post subject:  

Marja1 wrote:
I have a TP-link (TL-WN85IN)

I think that's TL-WN851N ("1" not "I")

Marja1 wrote:
the card has only its driver installed

I think you're probably referring to the Atheros ath9k wifi driver.

Marja1 wrote:
tho I have tried a couple of other Atheros drivers ... that are on the wizard's list.

I suggest you don't do that - Puppy is smarter than you!

Your wifi card is very new, and I suspect it may need a newer version of the ath9k driver than is in Puppy 5.2.8 (with 2.6.33.2 kernel)
so I suggest you try Puppy 529 "Three Headed Dog" (with 2.6.37.6 kernel) from here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70736
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marja1

Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 08:22    Post subject: Getting wireless  

HI!

bigpup and cthisbear, yes, your links were two of the first I read thru,
perhaps there's something I need to go over in them again -
there is alot of information in them! Smile

Tempestuous, yes, it is a very new card, you are correct about the number.
I also saw the 'Three Headed Dog'-
just wasn't sure my puter would be up to being able to boot anything to do with Slack.
So far, it never has, would be great if it will....

I saw this 'ath9k_htc-firmware.pet' the other day,
even tho my card is not listed do you think I should download this also?

It is sort of an old puter, it's gotten some updated parts..is all.

This weekend, I will go thru all the links to see what I may have missed,
also try 'three headed dog" then let you know what's working..

Thank you for answering so quickly!!

T-bones for all! Very Happy

Marja Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 17:13    Post subject:  

Marja1 wrote:
I saw this 'ath9k_htc-firmware.pet' the other day,
even tho my card is not listed do you think I should download this also?

No. It's only relevant to the ath9k_htc driver (for USB devices). It's completely irrelevant to the ath9k driver.

You should try Three Headed Dog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marja1

Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 21:00    Post subject:  

OK! Thanks for answering about the firmware..

Yeah, just downloaded Three Headed Dog a few minutes ago..
let ya know tommorrow if it worked on here...

Marja Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marja1

Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 15:52    Post subject:  

I got Three Headed Dog booted up!
I got sound, videos -everything!
Ha! Puppy conquered Slack on my system.. Very Happy

When I tried to go wireless it said "the DHCP server could not connect"..

I tried with a firewall, w/o one, no encryption, WEP, WPA-w/key-
and auto DHCP -even static ..

I did save my settings on another partition, which is very cool!

Now if I can just get wireless up ... I chkd updates for the TP-link card and the router, but there are none as yet.

Is there any info I can give you about my puter or router or anything that
might help figure this out?

TIA-Marja
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dagodemon42

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 16:40    Post subject:  

found this on the tp-link website:

There are multiple revisions of the TL-WN851N

Note: Please verify the hardware version of your device for the firmware version. Wrong firmware upgrading may damage your device and void the warranty.

there is a picture on the site showing an information sticker on the bottom of the device. hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marja1

Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 19:57    Post subject:  

Thanks, I checked it out -it's v2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dagodemon42

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2011, 01:08    Post subject:  

according to www.wikidevi.com TP-LINK TL-WN851N v2 uses Atheros AR5416 chipset. It should use ath9k driver. The problem I have had with my own TP-Link wireless adapter is firmware related. My solution? Buy a Netgear adapter!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marja1

Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2011, 06:47    Post subject:  

Keeping in mind my puter setup-can anyone suggest what Netgear card might be compatible with my router..

Hoping the store will take my card back-if that is causing the problem..

This wireless is new to me.

I was hoping it was just a setting I maybe have wrong..

TIA-Marja Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dagodemon42

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2011, 13:58    Post subject:  

@Marja1
I followed the advice of tempestuous and downloaded Three-Headed Dog Puppy. I installed the ath9k_htc-firmware.pet before I plugged in my adapter(TP-LINK TL-WN722N). I then plugged in the adapter and checked network manager. SUCCESS!!! I don't know if your adapter is usb or pci. Mine happens to be usb. As for Netgear, I bought a WN111 on Ebay for 5 dollars American. Using ndiswrapper and the netmw245.inf file I get it to work. The reception isn't that great however. Your best bet is to check the hardware section of this forum for products proven to work with puppy. Different puppies have different kernels. Older kernels work with older hardware, newer with newer. This can be confusing(in my situation I have a 10 year old computer with a brand new wireless adapter.) also you might see if the store you purchased your adapter at will let you boot a puppy live cd. This might allow you to test things at the store(a longshot but possibly worth the effort). Don't give up, puppy is worth the effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2011, 14:44    Post subject:  

Marja1,
Three Headed Dog is ubuntu based. Nothing to do with slack.

There is the Simple Network Setup or the classical network wizard.
Sometimes if one doesn't work the other one might do.

The best is that you describe with precision the steps you take and what exactly you see at each step.

Tempestuous may come back with more idea's.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4421
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2011, 15:28    Post subject:  

Marja1 wrote:
Keeping in mind my puter setup-can anyone suggest what Netgear card might be compatible with my router..

Hoping the store will take my card back-if that is causing the problem..

This wireless is new to me.

I was hoping it was just a setting I maybe have wrong..

TIA-Marja Cool


There's thousands of cards that will work.
I avoid the newest "N" versions.
ZD1211 chipset works very well for me.

http://linux-wless.passys.nl/

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0645s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0172s) ][ GZIP on ]