Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 10 Dec 2018, 19:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Atheros 5001 wi-fi & Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 31 Aug 2011, 16:36    Post subject:  Atheros 5001 wi-fi & Puppy
Subject description: Puppy5.2.5 & new 5.2.8 no wireless
 

Greetings and Thanks To All for Puppy! Very Happy I'm new to Linux, recently acquired Sony Vaio VGN-N325E with Mint 10 and it hooks up fine to the wireless that has a restricted MAC setting. But we LOVE OUR PUPPY LINUX! Especially the New 5.2.8. Mint's cool, but not as cool as Puppy on older machines. BUT - tried everything in the connect functions and still no wireless detected. Haven't been able to locate the right info here on the forum, hope someone can help, maybe point me in the right direction. Thanks again, Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4350
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 31 Aug 2011, 19:44    Post subject:  

Specs:

http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/sony-vaio-vgn-n325e/4507-3121_7-33639687.html

""""""""

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71023

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70866

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71128

tempestuous may also give you advice.

And welcome to puppy.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2011, 15:07    Post subject: Still No Wi-Fi w/ Puppy 5.2.8 Atheros 5001
Subject description: Failed - Unable to connect to a wireless network
 

Chris, Thank you for the reminder to include the specs -

Sony VAIO VGN-N325E?W - P T2080 1.73GHz - Mobile Intel 943 GML Express- 1.0 GB DDR2 SDRAM - 533.0MHz - 120.0 GB Serial ATA-150-5400.0rpm - Intel GMA 950 Graphics 224MB
Hope that's enough, more if needed.
Okay, this post is coming from an etho connection, a cat5 wire plugged into the back of the wireless router. Tried every possible combination to get the wireless working - but no, my Puppy won't connect wirelessly. (Which is probably not saying much, I'm greener than green when it comes to command line...). I tried switching the wireless switch on and off, configuring new profiles with the Network Wizard, on/off, "unable to connect to a wireless network", several times, various combinations, on/off-reconfigure, get DHCP, still no wireless detected. Thought it might have something to do with antenna proximity. Tried it all over the house - Nope. No wireless for our new Puppy... Sad ...Yet... Wink
Thank you all for being here, we love our Puppy and really want to figure this out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 12:44    Post subject: Atheros 5001 No-Like Puppy?
Subject description: Tried Wary & Puplets
 

Hi, Thanks for viewing. Very Happy Tried Wary 5.1.4.1 - unable to connect.
Cielo_420_base_ 01 - unable to connect.
Simplicity Obsidian 117 - unable to connect.
Hoping there's a solution. Any other puplets that might work? Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11367
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 14:44    Post subject:  

First are you following these steps:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65346

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 10:10    Post subject: Atheros 5001 & Puppy Network Setup
Subject description: Followed all steps - but no wireless connection
 

Bigpup, thanks for your tutorial. Smile Followed all steps, Puppy still "unable to detect wireless network". Wondering if there's a problem with our home wi-fi router. It's set-up to restrict MAC addresses. The Mint 10 hooks up right away to the home wi-fi and all the public wi-fi's in my area. (The Mint OS was already installed on this machine when I got it. To get it to connect to our home wi-fi, I had to include the MAC address on the wi-fi router's interface). There's an old e-machines laptop with XPsp3 coming over to the house later today. It's already listed on the allowed MAC address list. I'll boot Puppy Live and see if it will connect. Thanks again for your help. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2011, 10:56    Post subject: Atheros 5001 - It's not the wi-fi router
Subject description: Broadcom connects easily
 

E-Machines laptop connected effortlessly. Easy business with Puppy 528. Still no connection with Atheros 5001 in the Sony VAIO machine. May have to get another machine. Unless anyone knows of a way to replace the Atheros with an alternative. Thanks again. wm Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2011, 21:07    Post subject:  

whisperwalker, you haven't told us what wifi driver is loaded in the Network Wizard, but I suspect it's ath5k.

I also suspect that the wifi device may be in its rfkill-off state. To know for sure, install the rfkill-upgrade dotpet (compatible with Puppy versions 5.1 to 5.2.Cool - this will upgrade the ath5k driver.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=452093#452093

Then reboot, and try again.
You may find that it's necessary to activate the wireless switch on the laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Sep 2011, 14:27    Post subject: Ath5k & rfkill-upgrade
Subject description: Unknown error code 132
 

temptuous, installed rfkill-upgrade, rebooted, made sure wireless switch on, attempted connection and received pop-up unknown error 132. (see attached Confused ). Also, this machine had Vista installed before Mint 10, if that makes any diference. Thanks again for your help Smile , I really want to solve this pesky riddle.
Puppy528_screenshot_unknown-error132.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   117.94 KB
 Viewed   1251 Time(s)

Puppy528_screenshot_unknown-error132.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 01:30    Post subject:  

Well it certainly looks like an rfkill issue, but now I think about it, I suspect the wifi switch won't work until you install the "acpid" daemon with relevant configuration file for your Sony VAIO ... this might take some investigation ...

but you should still be able to activate the wifi device using manual commands. First try this -
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/class/rfkill/rfkill0/state

then run the Network Wizard (not Simple Network Wizard).

If that doesn't work, try this command -
Code:
rfkill unblock all

then run the Network Wizard.

... and it would still be good if you could confirm that it's the ath5k wifi driver ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4350
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 05:43    Post subject:  

tempestuous:

02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller [11ab:4351] (rev 16)
Subsystem: Sony Corporation Device [104d:8212]
Kernel driver in use: sky2
Kernel modules: sky2
06:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:001c] (rev 01)
Subsystem: AMBIT Microsystem Corp. Device [1468:0423]
Kernel driver in use: ath5k
Kernel modules: ath5k

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ubuntu-linux/181689-sony-vaio-vgn-n325e-ubuntu-11-04-wireless-issue.html

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 06:59    Post subject: issue resolved
Subject description: issue resolved
 

ISSUE RESOLVED - tempestous and cthisbear, thank you for your help with the ath5k issue. I have no more time for Puppy on this sony machine - thanks again for attempting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 08:54    Post subject:  

whisperwalker wrote:
I really want to solve this pesky riddle.

whisperwalker wrote:
I have no more time for Puppy on this sony machine

That's a dramatic change of heart, in the space of less than 24 hours.

The two commands I suggested would take no more than 60 seconds to try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 15:24    Post subject: Wired Connection Solution
Subject description: Puppy wired, newbie lesson
 

tempestuous, of course you're right on - dramatic change of heart - but the solution for this vexation was to simply wire directly into the router. So I wrote that the issue was resolved. And it was - for me. But your reply has turned me around. I'm new to Linux and forums in general and wasn't thinking about the other Puppy folks who may have a similar problem with the ath5k. Thank you. I'll do as you've suggested immediately following this post. (I was irritably frustrated yesterday after installing Ubuntu 10.04, a grub dual-boot with Mint 10, only to find that Ubuntu was also unable to connect wirelessly with the ath5k. Confused But that's for the Ubuntu forum.) Thanks again, Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whisperwalker

Joined: 24 Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 17:59    Post subject: rfkill command sequences
Subject description: unable to connect
 

tempestuous
performed commands according to your instructions. Still unable to connect. Any other suggestions? Thanks again Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0623s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]