Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 18:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Fixing Fido..
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [78 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2011, 14:31    Post subject:  

Is this multiple user option feasible:

When we boot up with the option
'puppy pfix=ram'
we are effectively creating a new user

So give a 'new user' boot option
at this stage
Some pups already have a 'boot options' menu

Later when multiple user saves are provided
we can offer an 'encrypted password protect'

and later on shutdown our data can be encrypted

Our security should not follow a generic pattern
and generic hack pattern

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2011, 14:41    Post subject:  

Lobster that is a good way to let a family keep things private or if you use Puppy at work.

But it is still a single user system but a kind of serial multi user letting them isolate their privacy from each other but seen from outside if somebody breaks in then being root makes us more vulnerable than the average linux user would.

one the other hand. If I run root on Slitaz would that not also makes me as vulnerable?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1621

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2011, 23:53    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

Okay that something is known does not explicitly say it is easy or even possible within a reasonable time and effort.

Pizzasgood spent many weeks even months? on doing it way back with Puppy 412? it was not easy at all. None else have felt for doing all that work again with some more modern version.

You write as if it is easy. As I get it, it is not easy at all.


Is not easy or hard, reasonable or unreasonable.
Is a design decision and is up to BK and his woof, to make.

Now regarding fido, spot and the likes, I think that what is really needed is a reliable work-around for the denial of more and more modern browsers to run as root.
If the work-around is indeed an isolated area all the better.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 00:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
If the work-around is indeed an isolated area all the better.


Fatdog64 does this

from the command line
Code:
su spot -c defaultbrowser

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1621

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 01:25    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:

from the command line
Code:
su spot -c defaultbrowser

I wish... Rolling Eyes
spot does not have user data directories ( ~/.config etc)
"Problem" browsers do not check/care how they are called but where to write.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 03:31    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
spot does not have user data directories ( ~/.config etc)
"Problem" browsers do not check/care how they are called but where to write.


As I see it, yes I think that is the issue, especially with chromium based browsers gaining popularity.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 03:47    Post subject:  

Mick does that apply for chromium if one start up as an SFS using SFS load on the fly?

And if one make a Puppy that run as real multiuser then will not every pet for the single user puppy expect to still be in single user environ and act up on a multiuser system?
It would need it's own repo or somebody's else repo?

mavrothal if it was that easy as your word hint to then Barry Would have done it already or him don't want Puppy to be seen as a standard Linux?

I trust what Pizzasgood told us. toom him many weeks of 24/7 hard work.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1621

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 05:47    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

I trust what Pizzasgood told us. toom him many weeks of 24/7 hard work.

Me too.
But this exact fact is what makes it easier for anybody else that wants to implement it.
He has the entire process documented and the files in a git repository!
The only other thing that would make it "easier", is for him to do it all-over again for every puplet that comes out Razz

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 10:09    Post subject:  

Now, I am a very poor reader but I did try to get what Pizzasgood told us and as I get it that is not as you say. He has that for puppy 412 or puppy421 I don't remember which.

it would not help much to do the same for Lupu 528 or wary or Quirky or ...

He himself it was so demanding him never would do it again.

And that is by somebody who already done it once. So think about what that means for somebody who never have undertaken it.

Sure it can be my poor English. When I read you it sounds easy.

As I read pizzasgood it is so difficult him never would do it again.

So the person doing it need to be even more patient and be at it than pizzasgood was and I trust that none will ever do it. Too much work.

Nothing gained either only flack from the puppy lovers and maybe flack too from the puppy haters that it is still not enough. grub2 missing or root allowed too easily something is always wrong due to puppy do things not as them want things to be done.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 10:30    Post subject:  

So how do we do this? Fixing Fido..

1. First things first. We need testers.
2. Testers tell what happens and then
3. we need Devs that care enough about Fido to fix things.

4. ....

I have the time and due to my poor memory I do behave like a kind of noob.

But sadly I am too thin skinned so I feel hurt too easily when thing go down the drain with the OS I use. I am not patient enough. I feel to sad!

So somebody else is needed to test Fido. I will not do it until somebody say it works as intended now do this do that and it will just work! Smile

Then I test it too.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2011, 17:08    Post subject:  

Ok, first things first..

Slacko should be released within the next 4 weeks, I would like to get the current implementation of Fido fixed such that it works as painlessly as possible. This at least gives the "root" nay sayers no excuse not to at least try Puppy. If it's not fixed then Fido will be disabled in Slacko.

Down the track other implementations of "multi-user" can be added. That will certainly be the more difficult task, and perhaps a more long term goal. This could include an easy way to set up separate password protected save files in a frugal environment.

I will be running as Fido for the next few days and I would like if I could snag a couple of testers of Slacko B2 to do the same.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5759
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2011, 20:40    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

I will be running as Fido for the next few days and I would like if I could snag a couple of testers of Slacko B2 to do the same.


I personally have no interest in "fido" but I test everything. Laughing

Fresh frugal install of Slacko using "fido". Basically only went through the first-run stuff,set the firewall and downloaded Flash before making the fidosave file.

On initial boot using "fido" immediately had to enter the root password to allow something to run before I even got to the desktop. (usr/sbin/bootmanager)
No wallpaper or icons.Rox will not launch from the menu and segfaults from the terminal.
Pmount works,after giving the root password though. Smile Obviously SeaMonkey and MTpaint works as well.
Slacko-fido.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.54 KB
 Viewed   812 Time(s)

Slacko-fido.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5759
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2011, 21:07    Post subject:  

Unable to reboot or poweroff from the menu ........just restarts X and requires the root password to run usr/sbin/bootmanager. Same result if trying to exit to a prompt.
Was able to install the Nvidia driver and Firefox though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5759
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2011, 21:12    Post subject:  

Tried going to "root" and poweroff or reboot from the terminal.....fail.Only continues to restart X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5759
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2011, 21:16    Post subject:  

Still can't reboot Laughing but Rox will launch from the terminal as root.
rox as root.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.65 KB
 Viewed   829 Time(s)

rox as root.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [78 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0828s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]