Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 14:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff)
KDE4 SFS for Lupu 528
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [111 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1075
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 21:49    Post subject:  

Hey Diamond,

Maybe I'm not understanding what your shortcut problem is. Could you explain in greater detail what you mean when you say the shortcut icons don't work? Do you mean you can't create them, or when you click on them they don't startup the application the shortcut points to? In either case, how are you creating the shortcut?

What were the other KDE4 puppy distros? The only one I know of is Tazoc's LighthousePup? I tested to see if making a shortcut on the desktop behaved the same way it did on this SFS, and it seemed to be the same. :\


Battleshooter

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
roadkill13

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 74
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2011, 15:18    Post subject: KDE4 as desktop  

I have installed the 5.28 version of Puppy Lucid on my netbook. I applied the KDE4 sfs to this frugal installation with very good result so far. I am able to start the computer and boot into KDE4 via KDM and I am able to use KDE's shutdown features. I did this by following the instructions provided in this thread. I also symlinked contents of Rox Startup folder to /root/.kde/Autostart

Here is a screen shot.
kdescreen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   17.33 KB
 Viewed   1689 Time(s)

kdescreen.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Diamond

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2011, 15:29    Post subject:  

battleshooter wrote:
Hey Diamond,

Maybe I'm not understanding what your shortcut problem is. Could you explain in greater detail what you mean when you say the shortcut icons don't work? Do you mean you can't create them, or when you click on them they don't startup the application the shortcut points to? In either case, how are you creating the shortcut?
Battleshooter

Desktop shortcut don't work. When I try to add new shortcut,I cant.. I just have some error. Desktop shortcut turned to some rubbish...
I created shortcut by dragging some app to desktop and clicking "shortcut here"
When I say "other distros" I mean for example Lighthouse pup 64 bit.
Thank you for your patience.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1075
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2011, 18:04    Post subject: Re: KDE4 as desktop  

roadkill13 wrote:
I have installed the 5.28 version of Puppy Lucid on my netbook. I applied the KDE4 sfs to this frugal installation with very good result so far. I am able to start the computer and boot into KDE4 via KDM and I am able to use KDE's shutdown features. I did this by following the instructions provided in this thread. I also symlinked contents of Rox Startup folder to /root/.kde/Autostart

Here is a screen shot.


Wow, that looks really good roadkill13, how did you get the Chrome and PupControl shortcut icons on the desktop?

And symlinking the Startup folder, that is a brilliant idea, I'll add it to tips. Thank you Very Happy

@Diamond

That's great, thank you for answering all my questions, I'm not on my home computer right now, but when I get home, I'll try making shortcuts the way you described, I didn't know that's how you make shortcuts in KDE4, I thought you just drag them, like in the normal Puppy, and "link here".

Thanks for your patience Diamond Smile

Battleshooter

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
roadkill13

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 74
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2011, 18:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
Wow, that looks really good roadkill13, how did you get the Chrome and PupCWow, that looks really good roadkill13, how did you get the Chrome and PupControl shortcut icons on the desktop?


A right click on any item in the KDE menu produces a popup menu. Sending a shortcut to the desktop is one of the three options. Another handy option is to send a shortcut to the panel. I chose the desktop for each of the pictured items.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1075
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2011, 21:43    Post subject:  

roadkill13 wrote:
A right click on any item in the KDE menu produces a popup menu. Sending a shortcut to the desktop is one of the three options. Another handy option is to send a shortcut to the panel. I chose the desktop for each of the pictured items.


Thanks roadkill13. Smile

I haven't been able to test it yet, but Diamond, you might want to give it a go?

Edit: It's weird, for me the icons appear behind the desktop folder instead of actually in the desktop folder. To get them actually clickable in the desktop folder I had to drag and copy menu icons to the desktop folder.

Battleshooter

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Diamond

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2011, 03:20    Post subject: Re: KDE4 as desktop  

battleshooter wrote:
I'm not on my home computer right now, but when I get home, I'll try making shortcuts the way you described, I didn't know that's how you make shortcuts in KDE4, I thought you just drag them, like in the normal Puppy, and "link here".

Thanks for your patience Diamond Smile

Battleshooter


Actually that is the way of making shortcuts,for me that is the same "link here" or "shortcut here"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1075
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2011, 21:51    Post subject: Re: KDE4 as desktop  

Diamond wrote:

Actually that is the way of making shortcuts,for me that is the same "link here" or "shortcut here"


Hmm, well I found that linking folders worked fine, but like you said, applications didn't work. Looks like shortcuts to applications need to be dragged from the menu. Have you tried roadkill's method yet Diamond?

Edit: Well I've discovered something interesting, dragging items to the desktop, not the desktop folder actually creates shortcut icons that work. Hmm so deceptively simple... Shocked

Battleshooter

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 19:48    Post subject:  

Hello!! I tried to use the sfs but when i switch to kde i get this error:

/usr/bin/kde4-config: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.5: undefined symbol: qt_locale_initialized
kstartupconfig4: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.5: undefined symbol: qt_locale_initialized
Warning: Missing charsets in String to FontSet conversion

Any idea?

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1075
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 20:16    Post subject:  

Sounds strange, are you using Lupu 528 and did you have a previous version of Qt installed?
_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 21:10    Post subject:  

I have Lupu 528 with instant update 002...
_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1075
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 21:12    Post subject:  

I don't have the instant update installed. I will try the instant update and see if I get the same error.
_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 21:16    Post subject:  

Ok! Thank you!!
_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1075
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 21:32    Post subject:  

I couldn't get the error. I used the non multimedia update, which one were you using? Also, do you have any Qt programs installed?
_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 15:51    Post subject:  

I'm using the multimedia update and i have keepassx application with qt. I don't know what's the problem... I tried on a clean installation and it was just fine... Rolling Eyes
_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [111 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]