Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 05:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 16 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 20:26    Post_subject:  

2.
racy-5.2.1.90
/usr/sbin/pgprs-shell is NOT updated to handle NEW /lib/modules/all-firmware/ files ...
suggestion:
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/pgprs-shell   2010-12-04 10:30:35.000000000 +0000
+++ /usr/sbin/pgprs-shell   2011-11-10 01:59:22.536586399 +0000
@@ -12,12 +12,24 @@
 #script. If it isn't there, you get this message."
 
 #install firmware tarball...
+old_func(){
+if [ -f /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs.tar.gz ] ; then
 cp -f /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs.tar.gz /tmp/
 cd /tmp
 tar -zxf pgprs.tar.gz
 cp -a --remove-destination /tmp/pgprs/* /
 sync
 cd /
+fi
+}
+old_func
+##KRG new_func for all-firmware not tar.gz anymore [racy-5.2.1.90 [ 2011-Nov ]]
+new_func(){
+if [ -d /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs ] ; then
+cp -a --remove-destination /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs/* /
+fi
+}
+new_func
 
 #101204...
 yaf-splash -bg violet -placement center -timeout 3 -text "Updating menu, screen will flicker..."



1.
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....
firstrun-gtkdialog-combobox-forces-100%CPU-usage.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  firstrun-gtkdialog-combobox-forces-100%CPU-usage.png 
Filesize  279.99 KB 
Downloaded  431 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2078
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 21:05    Post_subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:


1.
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....


Same thing in wary at this point:
htopscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   277.66 KB
 Viewed   1387 Time(s)

htopscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 22:24    Post_subject: cpu usage with gtkdialog3/4 combobox  

Karl Godt wrote:
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....

I can reproduce the issue also on Wary-5.2.2 RC.
Seems the gtkdialog3/4 problem on the recent Wary/Racy.
It also occurs on Wary-5.2 and does not on Wary-511.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056&start=120

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 22:31    Post_subject:  

seems gtkdialog4 does not like the <combobox> very much .

tried
<combobox tooltip-text=\"${TT_tz1}\">
and
<combobox>

still scrolling is very very slow .. and since the MainBoard is screwed only twice the vibrations of the CPU are sounding remarkably ... Smile

What i think i could add from /tmp/xerrs.log :

JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[10]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[16]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner

Hadn't they been commented like
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme   2011-11-10 16:58:57.000000000 +0800
+++ /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme   2011-11-11 02:41:14.836533429 +0800
@@ -7,13 +7,13 @@
     <Active>
        <Text>white</Text>
        <Title>#393F96:#30528D</Title>
-       <Corner>#4A5966</Corner>
+       <!-- <Corner>#4A5966</Corner> -->
        <Outline>black</Outline>
     </Active>
     <Inactive>
        <Text>white</Text>
        <Title>#84CFF1:#393F96</Title>
-       <Corner>#DCDAD5</Corner>
+       <!-- <Corner>#DCDAD5</Corner> -->
        <Outline>gray30</Outline>
     </Inactive>
 </WindowStyle>

BUT i finally found that this had been already ^ worked around ^ :
# grep 'jwm \-p' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/*
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarConfig:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarHeight:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarPlace:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/trayInsert:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/virtualDesk:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP

AND
Input string is '3'
ls: cannot access /tmp/jwmrc-tray-tmp-3.txt: No such file or directory

lets try a sed fix ...
# for i in /usr/local/jwmconfig2/* ; do echo $i; grep '`ls ' $i; echo; done
ONLY panel-buttons with 3 hits ..
Code:
# sed -i 's/`ls \(.*\)`/`ls \1 2>\/dev\/null`/g' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons

worked for me today .. sed-gymnastics for my little brain ... Smile
had thought i would have to escape the backticks fist , but that did not worked for me ...
BUT OF COURSE a " test -f FILENAME " would be much more elegant i think
[edit some hours later : needs additionally
Code:
 # sed -i 's/"`ls \(.*\)`" = "" ]/\! -f \1 ]/g' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons

to the code line below : \edit]
Code:
# sed -i 's/"`ls \(.*\)`" \(.*\) ]/-f \1 ]/g' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons

lets see how much attempts i did on this :
# grep sed $HOME/.history | wc -l
10
WOAOOO: Master of the SEDIVERSE Very Happy
[edit some hours later : grep sed $HOME/.history | wc -l == 17 /edit]

SINCE THAT IS ALL COSMETICS i somehow did not mention these before .

Now i want to ^ *** off early ^ for the early morning here , hopefully the shutdown fix for encrypted save-files would work ... [edit : works OK /edit]

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5708
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 01:59    Post_subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
Karl Godt wrote:


1.
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....


Same thing in wary at this point:


Not a problem here in Racy.
Racy.png
 Description   
 Filesize   125.84 KB
 Viewed   1350 Time(s)

Racy.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5708
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 02:07    Post_subject:  

Racy 5.2.2 RC live multi-session cd.Sound and internet working on initial boot. Incorrect screen resolution on boot, ran xorgwizard and used nouveau driver to get desired 1366x768 resolution.

No real problems noticed yet.

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 3884MB (167MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 11 Nov 2011 12:06:31 AM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Software Rasterizer
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a]
Audio device : nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 03:11    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:

Not a problem here in Racy.


You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set.
In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks Sad

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5708
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 03:22    Post_subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
James C wrote:

Not a problem here in Racy.


You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set.
In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks Sad


Figured I was missing something..... Laughing

Didn't go to 100%.....but two cores went crazy.
racy.png
 Description   
 Filesize   128.69 KB
 Viewed   1372 Time(s)

racy.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 04:39    Post_subject:  

5.2.1.90 is unusable. Confirm issues with mouse (PS/2 non-functioning, USB like treacle - too slow to access locale settings). Inappropriate messages re. Flashplayer, panel for which pops up before selecting browser. Cannot continue testing.

Later:
The PS/2 mouse non-functioning is partly machine specific - runs on one out of three! New feature.

The locales can, with extreme patience, be set from the k/b, but timezones are restricted to Asia and a few African locations. Europe can be set from the right-click/desktop/set timezone, though.

Good news is that Opera, which has recently become essential rather than a personal preference, works with the new 11.6beta (Other DEB).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 08:34    Post_subject:  SAVE SESSION TO ENCRYPTED SAVE_FILE WORKS AGAIN  

2. The save to aes heavy encrypted save-file worked .
[ would have taken me days or weeks to figure out a missing variable i guess .]

1. /usr/sbin/filemnt WORKS on both encrypted savefiles !! HURRAY !!
[ really missed that feature Very Happy ]

ONE MINOR THINGY about /usr/sbin/filemnt
which is not only cosmetic :

due to the code checks if FILE is mounted due to a simple
if [ ! -d "$MntPt" ] ;then

::MANY TIMES (99%+) the rmdir $MntPt at the end of umount $MntPt does not succeed ,
i guess due to little time for the system to update everything .

AN ALWAYS WORKING " rmdir $MntPt " i could achieve with either both of these :
Code:
--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/filemnt   2011-11-10 12:03:10.000000000 +0800
+++ /usr/sbin/filemnt   2011-11-11 12:05:50.000000000 +0800
@@ -166,7 +166,7 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   rox -D $MntPt #BK
   umount $MntPt
   Err=$?
-  rmdir $MntPt
+  #rmdir $MntPt ##KRG though umount finishes , many times rmdir thinks $MntPt still not empty
   if [ "basename $imgFile" = 'initrd' ] ;then gzip -9 $imgFile ;fi
 #  yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
 #  /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
@@ -181,5 +181,5 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   #xmessage -title " ERROR..." "  Failed mounting or unmounting.  "
   pupdialog --background red --title "ERROR" --msgbox "Failed mounting or unmounting" 0 0
  fi
-
+[ -d "$MntPt" -a "`busybox mount | grep "$MntPt"`" = "" ] && rmdir "$MntPt"
 ###END###

AT THE END || OR AT THE BEGINNING
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/filemnt   2011-11-10 12:03:10.000000000 +0800
+++ /usr/sbin/filemnt   2011-11-11 13:10:08.000000000 +0800
@@ -37,7 +37,7 @@ fi
   imgFile="`pwd``echo $imgFile |sed 's/^\.//'`"
  fi
  MntPt='/mnt/'`echo "$imgFile" |sed "s#^\.##g" |sed "s#/#+#g"`
-
+ [ -d "$MntPt" -a "`busybox mount | grep "$MntPt"`" = "" ] && rmdir "$MntPt"
 
 if [ 1 -eq 2 ] ;then   ##############################################   JUMP OVER this SECTION.
 
@@ -166,7 +166,7 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   rox -D $MntPt #BK
   umount $MntPt
   Err=$?
-  rmdir $MntPt
+  #rmdir $MntPt ##KRG though umount finishes , many times rmdir thinks $MntPt still not empty
   if [ "basename $imgFile" = 'initrd' ] ;then gzip -9 $imgFile ;fi
 #  yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
 #  /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK


[ and another little play-around would be to make /usr/sbin/filemnt not X dependent :
would need several

[ "$DISPLAY" ] && yaf-splash || pupdialog
realpath $1 || readlink -e $1 ##if called with filemnt ./save-file.2fs
if [ "$DISPLAY" ] ; then
rxvt -geometry 25x3 -title "Enter password" -bg orange -e losetup-FULL -E 1 $DEVLOOP $imgFile
else
echo "Enter password :"
losetup-FULL -E 1 $DEVLOOP $imgFile
fi

END of play-around ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 08:56    Post_subject:  

Same old Same old. Broadcom wifi of course. Racy just cant do it........ /lib/firmware/B43 missing
Added it.. fixed
wifi.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.5 KB
 Viewed   876 Time(s)

wifi.png


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 09:19    Post_subject:  

RACY 5.2.1.90

- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow
- dmesg full of
[ 21.290399] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=ROX-Filer)
[ 22.693811] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=backgrounds)
[ 23.544394] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=net)
[ 23.927982] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=etc)
- quick setup scrolling too slow
- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying

ldd /usr/lib/*.so | grep found
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libau.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libcap.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libc.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libexiv2.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libgcc_s.so'
/usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so: /usr/lib/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so)
/usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so: /usr/lib/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so)
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libpthread.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/preloadable_libintl.so'

Same things as for 5.1.110
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 09:34    Post_subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying

You do not achieve much with personal judgements also
with

is it needed ?
directory is empty
inkscape not needed !

and such really not relevant remarks , except your are < a towards zero extremist > .

I like the french mentality , had worked some weeks in Poitiers , but everything in Europe changes i thing to no good .

Just remaster and you are good to go !

I like using the limited inkscapelite once a while next to mtpaint or gimp . inkscapelite actually is patched or reworked by Barry .

AND inkscapelite is based upon inkscape BUT i could only find 0.37 or later src @sourceforge .

Also abiword works OK for my purposes , never used OO or Libre Office on Puppy .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 09:46    Post_subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
- dmesg full of
[ 21.290399] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=ROX-Filer)
[ 22.693811] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=backgrounds)
[ 23.544394] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=net)
[ 23.927982] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=etc)


ON MY SIDE :
# dmesg | grep union | wc -l
12
# dmesg | wc -l
711
# grep UNION /etc/modules/*
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:CONFIG_UNION_FS=m
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:# CONFIG_UNION_FS_XATTR is not set
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:# CONFIG_UNION_FS_DEBUG is not set

SINCE DEBUG for UNION_FS is not set , 12 lines of 711 appear reasonable to me [ dc -> 1.68776 % ].
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 09:52    Post_subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow


I had only a max of something over 60 on my hardware , but today
it had been the new best mark(s) of
# glxgears
704 frames in 5.0 seconds = 140.725 FPS
746 frames in 5.0 seconds = 149.082 FPS
769 frames in 5.0 seconds = 153.612 FPS

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1305s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]