Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 09:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 05:18    Post subject:  

Fix for slow drop-down lists! (at least on my laptop).

See my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02594

You might have to reboot after installing the PET, for the libraries to reload.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 06:47    Post subject: Asus USB-N13  

From page 17, 07:56 11NOV2011:
DaveS wrote:
Same old Same old. Broadcom wifi of course. Racy just cant do it........ /lib/firmware/B43 missing
Added it.. fixed

Racy automatically loads "rt2800usb" for my Asus USB-N13
and shows "wlan0". However, when I "Scan", the exact
same error msg appears as DaveS captured.

I am new to wireless. My Verizon Casio Commando only tethers using 3G Hotspot.

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9213
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 09:09    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Fix for slow drop-down lists! (at least on my laptop). See my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02594 You might have to reboot after installing the PET, for the libraries to reload.

Excellent. That solved all my problems in Wary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 15:03    Post subject:
Subject description: C5280 All-in-one, Printer, Scanner, Copier
 

Frugal installation on an ext4 partition.

CUPS will not set up printing for usb printers. I've installed hplip_scan-3.11.7 and hplip_print-3.11.7 pets. Xsane does work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2137
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 15:10    Post subject: Racy Puppy 5.2.1.90 (5.2.2 RC -- 10 Nov. 2011) Post a reply  

Manual frugal install to compaq desktop.

Racy Puppy, version 5.2.1.90 on Sun 13 Nov 2011

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200] (rev 01)
oem: ATI RADEON 9200

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

# glxgears
7886 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1577.100 FPS
7896 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1579.170 FPS
7924 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1584.616 FPS

Computer
Processor 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory 1553MB (74MB used)
Display
Resolution 1280x1024 pixels
OpenGL
Vendor Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
Renderer Mesa DRI R200 (RV280 5961) 20090101 AGP 8x x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL
Version 1.3 Mesa 7.10.3
Direct Rendering Yes

I installed gtk+-2.24.8-w5c.pet and that fixed the problem with the
drop down lists.
Racy is working well now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 17:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
CUPS will not set up printing for usb printers.

I have an USB printer epson stylus sx-415 and printing with this had never been a real problem with official builds of Puppy with CUPS-1.1.23 , 1.3.11 and 1.4.x .

Just tested the snipplets below , printing some parts of rc.sysinit from geany previewer : no problem here ,

#It is new to me , that the /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf would be written new each boot ... :

SKIPLISTVARS="`echo "$SKIPLIST" | tr '\-' '_' | tr ' ' '\n' | sed -e 's/^/blacklist /' | grep -v ' $'`"
BLACKLISTVARS=`cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf 2>/dev/null | grep -v "$SKIPLISTVARS"
echo "$SKIPLISTVARS" > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
echo "$BLACKLISTVARS" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

#AND for bootmanager perhaps :

for i in $SKIPLIST ; do
j="${i//-/\\-}"
if [ -z "`grep "^blacklist $j" /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf`" ] ; then
echo "blacklist $i" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
fi
done

[ this i still have to observe ..]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9213
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 17:38    Post subject:
Subject description: C5280 All-in-one, Printer, Scanner, Copier
 

Jim1911 wrote:
Frugal installation on an ext4 partition.CUPS will not set up printing for usb printers. I've installed hplip_scan-3.11.7 and hplip_print-3.11.7 pets. Xsane does work.

Please provide details. I just used Racy 5.2.1.90 and hplip_print-3.11.7 to install an HP Deskjet F4280. It worked correctly.

A Photosmart C4680 also installed correctly.

Remember that if you are switching an HP unit between scanning and printing, it requires a restart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 17:56    Post subject:
Subject description: C5280 All-in-one, Printer, Scanner, Copier
 

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Frugal installation on an ext4 partition.CUPS will not set up printing for usb printers. I've installed hplip_scan-3.11.7 and hplip_print-3.11.7 pets. Xsane does work.

Please provide details. I just used Racy 5.2.1.90 and hplip_print-3.11.7 to install an HP Deskjet F4280. It worked correctly.

A Photosmart C4680 also installed correctly.

Remember that if you are switching an HP unit between scanning and printing, it requires a restart.
Restart worked, I did forget, thanks for the reminder. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9213
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 18:04    Post subject:
Subject description: C5280 All-in-one, Printer, Scanner, Copier
 

Jim1911 wrote:
Restart worked, I did forget, thanks for the reminder. Embarassed

You can see this glitch in action. When the unit is ready to print, go to the folder /dev/usb and you will see the device node lp0.

Start a scan operation. The device node disappears. You need to reboot the unit to get it back.

HP is the only make I have seen that does this. I don't know if it is their fault or something in the Puppy USB detection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 18:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
Start a scan operation. The device node disappears. You need to reboot the unit to get it back.

looks like something does a " rmmod usblp || modprobe -r lp " before scanning ... the sane backend perhaps ?
Maybe a manually " modprobe usblp " would recreate the /dev/usb/lp0 node ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 00:16    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Fix for slow drop-down lists! (at least on my laptop).
See my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02594
You might have to reboot after installing the PET, for the libraries to reload.

Worked for me. No reboot needed.

Thanks very much!
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 01:39    Post subject:
Subject description: C5280 All-in-one, Printer, Scanner, Copier
 

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Restart worked, I did forget, thanks for the reminder. Embarassed

You can see this glitch in action. When the unit is ready to print, go to the folder /dev/usb and you will see the device node lp0.

Start a scan operation. The device node disappears. You need to reboot the unit to get it back.

HP is the only make I have seen that does this. I don't know if it is their fault or something in the Puppy USB detection.


I dont get this problem with my HP Photosmart c4380 when printing/scanning via wifi FWIW.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 03:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
I don't know if it is their fault or something in the Puppy USB detection.

It's a Puppy feature. Doesn't happen with F15/16, Mint, etc. I only use HP printers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9213
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 16:38    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
I don't know if it is their fault or something in the Puppy USB detection.

It's a Puppy feature. Doesn't happen with F15/16, Mint, etc. I only use HP printers.

It may actually be a CUPS feature. Some distros build CUPS so it uses libusb instead of /dev/usb/lp0 to connect to a USB printer. But when you build CUPS that way, you lose certain legacy capabilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2385
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 23:52    Post subject: mplayershell zoom/scale fix  

please add -zoom in front of every place that -really-quiet appears

Code:
nohup gmplayer -really-quiet $MYVIDOUT "$@" &


change to:
Code:
nohup gmplayer -zoom -really-quiet $MYVIDOUT "$@" &


so that full screens will scale.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0952s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]