Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
linuxcbon
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu 09 Aug 2007, 22:54

#466 Post by linuxcbon »

Once again, it needs acpi=off to boot on my PC, but Wary doesn't have that problem.
glxgears is slow, 370 instead of 1200 in Wary,
dmesg shows the same errors

Code: Select all

[   16.675601] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=1, name=init.d)
[   16.675618] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=1, name=etc)
[   16.742072] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=1, name=sbin)
What is also slow is from to :

Code: Select all

[    5.994741] EXT4-fs (sda6): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[   16.083970] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=gtk-2.0)
and from to

Code: Select all

[   24.678921] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=cups)
[   53.893969] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=rc.d)

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011

#467 Post by Billtoo »

I compiled and made a sfs file of Thunderbird-10.0.2 mail reader in
racy-5.2.2.
I tested it in both racy-5.2.2 and wary-5.2.2
EDIT: It works in Saluki too.

The download link is:

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-165680c4.html
Attachments
thunscrn.jpg
(122.95 KiB) Downloaded 1490 times

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Various fixes for filemnt

#468 Post by BarryK »

npierce wrote:
Karl Godt wrote:I actually use your diff for
Subject: filemnt won't mount two files with same base name.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 987#430987
Since /usr/sbin/filemnt in Racy has the feature to mount encrypted save files by GUI would like to have this feature in Racy too . Cool
Hi Karl,

Thanks for the reminder. As it happens, I was working on a Racy version of this about three weeks ago, but didn't have time then to finish testing it. Then I got distracted by other things and didn't get back to it -- well, not until now. Here it is.

==========================================================

The attached filemnt has five changes:

1. Corrects false positives in test that checks to see if file is already mounted.

Because having a single file mounted at two mount points is a confusing and possibly dangerous thing, filemnt tests to see if it is already mounted. This has been true for years. But the existing code has a quirk.

If you happen to have two different files with the same base name, attempting to mount the second file will give you something similar to the following xmessage which is quite puzzling because it simply isn't true.
Sorry /mnt/sr0/puppy_racy_5.2.2.sfs is already mounted and in-use by Puppy
With this new version, you may mount two or more files that happen to have the same name, as long as they are not actually the same file.

For instance, if you are comparing two versions of an .sfs file, you may mount both the old and new versions (at different mount points, obviously) without the need to temporarily rename one of them.


2. Corrects false negatives in test that checks to see if file is already mounted.

With the current filemnt, if the filename itself (not a directory name) is a symlink, then filemnt will allow the file to be mounted twice. This new version corrects this.


3. Expands the error message that appears when a user does attempt to mount a single file twice.

Now it gives not just the pathname of the file you tried to mount, but also the mount point of the mounted file and the pathname that was used when it was mounted. This helps the user to find the already mounted file.


4. Prevents creation of directory in /mnt/ when given an invalid pathname.

Since most people access filemnt by clicking on icons in ROX-Filer, this would rarely happen. But if you run the existing filemnt from the command line, and pass it a bad filename, it will go ahead and create a directory for it in /mnt/ even though it has no file to mount. This new version prevents this.


5. Corrected code that determines absolute pathname of a file in the current directory.

filemnt creates a unique name for the mount point which is based on the pathname of the file. If the user mounts a file that is in the current directory, and doesn't give the absolute pathname, filemnt determines the absolute pathname so that it can create a unique name.

But due to a minor bug, this was not working. Instead the mount point was based only on the name of the file. So if you had a file named "test.sfs" in two directories, went to the first directory, mounted its test.sfs with the command filemnt test.sfs, then changed to the other directory and mounted its test.sfs with the same command, filemnt would be confused. Because it thinks the absolute pathname is the same for both files, it assumes that the file is already mounted, so the second file would not be mounted, and the first file would be unmounted.

Again, this would rarely be a problem, since most people use filemnt through ROX-Filer, which supplies absolute file names.

==========================================================

Karl, I'm glad that you found my old version useful. I hope this Racy version works as well for you. My profession? Just an old hardware guy trying to make it in a software world. :)
Thanks very much for this! Your fix is now in Woof:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02701
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#469 Post by BarryK »

Jemimah,
You posted a change for installpkg.sh a few pages back, to warn if a PET will overwrite system libs.

The thing is though, the petget mechanism does restore the system files when a package is uninstalled. That is, when there is an underlying SFS to restore from -- it doesn't work with a full hd installation.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#470 Post by BarryK »

jemimah wrote:I've been trying to figure out why new2dir does not work with cmake and I've come up with this fix. I'm not sure if this will cause other problems or not. I'm attaching an example pkginstall.list that does not work.

Code: Select all

--- new2dir.orig	2012-02-01 20:39:28.759717585 +0800
+++ new2dir	2012-02-01 20:40:23.791713837 +0800
@@ -179,7 +179,7 @@
 # filter out $UPONE...
 # BUGPATTERN='&'"$UPONE"
 # no, just filter out /mnt and /initrd...
-cat /tmp/pkginstall.list | grep '#success$' | tr -s '\t' | tr '&' ' ' | tr '\t' '&' | grep '^[345]&open&' | grep --extended-regexp -v '&/dev/tty&|&/dev/null&|&/root/\.packages/|&/tmp/|&/root/\.icewm/|&/proc/|&/sys/|DotPupTmpDir|/\.myownmenuerc' | grep -E -v '&/initrd|&/mnt/' | cut -f 3 -d '&' > ${RELPATH}/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
+cat /tmp/pkginstall.list | grep '#success$' | tr -s '\t' | tr '&' ' ' | tr '\t' '&' | egrep '^[345]&open&|^0&chmod&' | grep --extended-regexp -v '&/dev/tty&|&/dev/null&|&/root/\.packages/|&/tmp/|&/root/\.icewm/|&/proc/|&/sys/|DotPupTmpDir|/\.myownmenuerc' | grep -E -v '&/initrd|&/mnt/' | cut -f 3 -d '&' > ${RELPATH}/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
 #...list will only have created files, not created directories, so an empty
 #   directory won't get recorded.
 
Ok, I have put this into Woof. I guess we will find out if the change breaks anything else, people will complain! :)
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#471 Post by BarryK »

jemimah wrote:This patch applies Technosaurus' wget progressbar function to the download_file utility. It also replaces an rxvt window with an Xdialog tailbox.

Code: Select all

--- download_file.orig	2012-02-02 19:29:24.361557081 +0800
+++ download_file	2012-02-02 19:45:58.424489335 +0800
@@ -20,7 +20,7 @@
 while [ 1 ];do
  echo -n "" > /tmp/download_file_spider.log1
  #gtklogfileviewer "/tmp/download_file_spider.log" "Close" 0 0 600 200 "Testing remote file exists:" &
- rxvt -geometry 130x10+0+0 -bg orange -fg black -title "Testing file exists: ${URLSPEC}" -e tail -f /tmp/download_file_spider.log1 &
+ Xdialog --wmclass "gtkdialog2" --title "Testing file exists: ${URLSPEC}" --tailbox /tmp/download_file_spider.log1 30 100 &
  PID1=$!
  wget -4 -t 2 -T 20 --waitretry=20 --spider -S "${URLSPEC}" > /tmp/download_file_spider.log1 2>&1
  if [ $? -ne 0 ];then
@@ -165,7 +165,11 @@
  fi
 
  echo -n "" > /tmp/download_file_spider.log2
- rxvt -geometry 130x10+0+0 -bg orange -fg black -title "Downloading file: ${URLSPEC}" -e tail -f /tmp/download_file_spider.log2 &
+ tail -f /tmp/download_file_spider.log2 | while read LINE; do
+      case $LINE in
+         *%*)LINE=${LINE##*..};echo ${LINE%%%*};;
+      esac
+ done |Xdialog --gauge "Download progress..." 0 0&
  PID1=$!
  #-t 5 means retry 5 times, -w 5 means wait 5 seconds between retries...
  wget -4 ${CONTPARAM} -t 5 -w 5 "${URLSPEC}" > /tmp/download_file_spider.log2 2>&1
Great! This and previous patch are now in Woof:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02702
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#472 Post by BarryK »

Karl Godt wrote:Older bug not often encountered :

Reminder for /usr/local/bin/pupzip :
Edit /usr/local/bin/pupzip at line 100:
Code:
RPM2CPIO="rpm2cpio2"

Remove last '2':
Code:
RPM2CPIO="rpm2cpio"
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 360#451839
post is made by shinobar .

Thought i had seen it also once as a post from GuestToo , but can not find it today somehow .
There is no bug, the script does not need modifying. It no longer uses rpm2cpio, uses exploderpm.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#473 Post by jemimah »

BarryK wrote:Jemimah,
You posted a change for installpkg.sh a few pages back, to warn if a PET will overwrite system libs.

The thing is though, the petget mechanism does restore the system files when a package is uninstalled. That is, when there is an underlying SFS to restore from -- it doesn't work with a full hd installation.
Yes I have fixed it in saluki to only warn about uninstallation for a full install. Still, I think giving users a heads up when they overwrite files might save people a lot of headaches. That was pretty much the main real complaint on the "improve the pet format" thread.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#474 Post by jemimah »

BarryK wrote:
Great! This and previous patch are now in Woof:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02702
My users saw this and then wanted a cancel button. Sounds easy, but it's actually kind of a pain.

You can have a cancel button with a yad progressbar but it doesn't actually work unless you use the auto-kill option which kills the parent process. So I had to make a another script that runs the wget and yad part. I wanted to do this with a subshell or a function but neither of those worked.

Wget refuses to die when it's parent is killed. I guess there's a patch to fix that that could be applied. For this script I just try to find the wget without a parent and kill it.

Code: Select all

--- download_file.orig	2012-02-20 11:21:45.881526558 -0500
+++ download_file	2012-02-20 11:19:44.300534918 -0500
@@ -11,6 +11,8 @@
 
 #exit number: 0 ok, 1 unable to download, 2 download fail, 3 invalid url.
 
+
+
 export LANG=C #keep Xdialog happy.
 URLSPEC="$@"
 FILENAME="`basename "$@"`"
@@ -164,25 +166,28 @@
   fi
  fi
 
- echo -n "" > /tmp/download_file_spider.log2
- tail -f /tmp/download_file_spider.log2 | while read LINE; do
-      case $LINE in
-         *%*)LINE=${LINE##*..};echo ${LINE%%%*};;
-      esac
- done |Xdialog --title "File Download"  --gauge "Downloading ${URLSPEC}" 0 0&
- PID1=$!
- #-t 5 means retry 5 times, -w 5 means wait 5 seconds between retries...
- wget -4 ${CONTPARAM} -t 5 -w 5 "${URLSPEC}" > /tmp/download_file_spider.log2 2>&1
+HELPNAME=/tmp/downloader-helper$$
+echo "#!/bin/bash
+     wget -4 ${CONTPARAM} -t 5 -w 5 "${URLSPEC}" 2>&1  | while read LINE; do
+         case \$LINE in
+            *%*)LINE=\${LINE##*..};echo \${LINE%%%*};;
+         esac
+     done | yad --progress --title="File Download" --text="Downloading ${URLSPEC}" --percentage=0  --button=Cancel:-1 --auto-close --auto-kill " > $HELPNAME
+
+  chmod 755 $HELPNAME
+
+ $HELPNAME
  if [ $? -ne 0 ];then
+  XPID=`ps -ef |grep wget|grep " 1 " |awk '{print $2}'`
+  kill $XPID
   Xdialog --wmclass "gtkdialog2" --title "Puppy File Downloader" --screen-center --cr-wrap --ok-label "TRY AGAIN" --cancel-label "GIVE UP" --icon "/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/error.xpm" --yesno "Download failed, see log top-left of screen.
 Do you want to try again, or give up?" 0 0
   REPLY1=$?
-  kill $PID1
   [ $REPLY1 -eq 0 ] && continue
   rm -f "$FILENAME"
+  rm -f "$HELPNAME"
   exit 2
  fi
- kill $PID1
  
  #paranoid, check size of downloaded file...
  SIZEB_LOCAL=`stat --format=%s "${FILENAME}"`
@@ -193,6 +198,6 @@
  
  break
 done
-
+rm -f "$HELPNAME"
 exit 0
 ###END###

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#475 Post by jemimah »

I found a bug in dependencies.sh. This fixes it so that dependencies with names in all caps like SDL are not omitted.

Code: Select all

--- dependencies.sh.orig	2012-02-20 12:18:49.072292539 -0500
+++ dependencies.sh	2012-02-17 13:15:22.401843799 -0500
@@ -124,7 +125,7 @@
 rm -f /tmp/petget_missing_dbentries* 2>/dev/null
 #for depPATTERN in `cat /tmp/petget_missingpkgs_patterns` #ex depPATTERN=|kdelibs| ex2: |kdelibs&gt2.3.6|
 #111107 01micko: fix for '||' messing things up...
-for depPATTERN in `grep '[a-z]' /tmp/petget_missingpkgs_patterns` #ex depPATTERN=|kdelibs| ex2: |kdelibs&gt2.3.6|
+for depPATTERN in `grep '[a-zA-Z]' /tmp/petget_missingpkgs_patterns` #ex depPATTERN=|kdelibs| ex2: |kdelibs&gt2.3.6|
 do
 
  #110722 separate out any versioning... (see also findmissingpkgs.sh)

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#476 Post by BarryK »

jemimah wrote:I found a bug in dependencies.sh. This fixes it so that dependencies with names in all caps like SDL are not omitted.

Code: Select all

--- dependencies.sh.orig	2012-02-20 12:18:49.072292539 -0500
+++ dependencies.sh	2012-02-17 13:15:22.401843799 -0500
@@ -124,7 +125,7 @@
 rm -f /tmp/petget_missing_dbentries* 2>/dev/null
 #for depPATTERN in `cat /tmp/petget_missingpkgs_patterns` #ex depPATTERN=|kdelibs| ex2: |kdelibs&gt2.3.6|
 #111107 01micko: fix for '||' messing things up...
-for depPATTERN in `grep '[a-z]' /tmp/petget_missingpkgs_patterns` #ex depPATTERN=|kdelibs| ex2: |kdelibs&gt2.3.6|
+for depPATTERN in `grep '[a-zA-Z]' /tmp/petget_missingpkgs_patterns` #ex depPATTERN=|kdelibs| ex2: |kdelibs&gt2.3.6|
 do
 
  #110722 separate out any versioning... (see also findmissingpkgs.sh)
Thanks, I have put that into Woof.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

npierce
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009, 01:40

Re: Various fixes for filemnt

#477 Post by npierce »

BarryK wrote:Thanks very much for this! Your fix is now in Woof:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02701
Barry,

You're very welcome!

Thanks for taking the time to patch it manually. I'd meant to finish it up and post it before filemnt was internationalized, but I got side-tracked by other things.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#478 Post by jemimah »

This is a fix to make sfsget scrollable - in case you have a lot of sfses.

Code: Select all

 diff -u sfsget.orig sfsget
--- sfsget.orig	2012-02-21 00:24:16.362955599 -0500
+++ sfsget	2012-02-18 22:22:42.059258851 -0500
@@ -122,9 +121,10 @@
  done
  export SFS_DIALOG="<window title=\"SFS Downloader: choose file\" icon-name=\"gtk-about\" window_position=\"1\">
  <vbox>
-  <text><label>Please choose an SFS file that you would like to download:</label></text>
-  <frame>
+  <frame Choose an SFS file to download:>
+    <vbox scrollable=\"true\" height-request=\"500\" width=\"400\" height=\"200\">
    ${SFSBUTTONS}
+    </vbox>
   </frame>
   <hbox>
    <button ok></button>
@@ -132,7 +132,7 @@
   </hbox>
  </vbox>
  </window>"
- RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog3 --program=SFS_DIALOG`"
+ RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog4 --program=SFS_DIALOG`"
  [ "`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^EXIT' | grep 'OK'`" = "" ] && exit 1
  SFS_FILE="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep 'RADIO_URL_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 3-9 -d '_'`" #110813 bug fix.
 fi

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#479 Post by BarryK »

jemimah wrote:This is a fix to make sfsget scrollable - in case you have a lot of sfses.

Code: Select all

 diff -u sfsget.orig sfsget
--- sfsget.orig	2012-02-21 00:24:16.362955599 -0500
+++ sfsget	2012-02-18 22:22:42.059258851 -0500
@@ -122,9 +121,10 @@
  done
  export SFS_DIALOG="<window title="SFS Downloader: choose file" icon-name="gtk-about" window_position="1">
  <vbox>
-  <text><label>Please choose an SFS file that you would like to download:</label></text>
-  <frame>
+  <frame Choose an SFS file to download:>
+    <vbox scrollable="true" height-request="500" width="400" height="200">
    ${SFSBUTTONS}
+    </vbox>
   </frame>
   <hbox>
    <button ok></button>
@@ -132,7 +132,7 @@
   </hbox>
  </vbox>
  </window>"
- RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog3 --program=SFS_DIALOG`"
+ RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog4 --program=SFS_DIALOG`"
  [ "`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^EXIT' | grep 'OK'`" = "" ] && exit 1
  SFS_FILE="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep 'RADIO_URL_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 3-9 -d '_'`" #110813 bug fix.
 fi
Thanks for that, I have put it into Woof, will upload soon. It didn't make it into Wary/Racy 5.2.2.7 which are just released.

Guys, note that I am having to apply your patches manually, as most of the scripts in Woof are now internationalized.

It is easy to grab the latest script, just go to:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/timeline

...do an anonymous login, click on Files menu, find the script, click Download button.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#480 Post by BarryK »

For anyone who is interested, there is now a beta1 of the upcoming Racy 5.3 uploaded:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76182
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

npierce
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009, 01:40

check_deps.sh fixes

#481 Post by npierce »

Barry,

I don't know if you've seen the four fixes I proposed for check_deps.sh that I posted in January. (I probably should have posted a link in this thread.)

Anyway, I've just updated the script once more. It is now based on the latest script from fossil/woof2:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 200#606200

The description of the proposed changes and the older versions based on Racy 5.2.2 and Slacko 5.3.1 are posted earlier in the same thread at:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 216#596216

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: check_deps.sh fixes

#482 Post by BarryK »

npierce wrote:Barry,

I don't know if you've seen the four fixes I proposed for check_deps.sh that I posted in January. (I probably should have posted a link in this thread.)

Anyway, I've just updated the script once more. It is now based on the latest script from fossil/woof2:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 200#606200

The description of the proposed changes and the older versions based on Racy 5.2.2 and Slacko 5.3.1 are posted earlier in the same thread at:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 216#596216
Yes I have it, now in Woof:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02710
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
The Fly Roper
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 02:59

libtool

#483 Post by The Fly Roper »

Hi folks. It looks like libtool is still giving problems.

I was working my way through the examples in Autobook (http://sources.redhat.com/autobook/auto ... html#SEC68) and when I got to page 75, "linking an executable", (http://sources.redhat.com/autobook/auto ... html#SEC75) I got this:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: compile_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: finalize_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: compile_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: finalize_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 677: libtool_args+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: compile_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: finalize_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
libtool: link: gcc  ./.libs/libhello.a
/usr/lib/gcc/i486-t2-linux-gnu/4.3.4/../../../crt1.o: In function `_start':
(.text+0x18): undefined reference to `main'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
libtool --mode=link gcc -static -o hello main.c libhello.la 2>&1
Worked fine on my other box, though.

I compiled and installed libtool-2.4.2 (attached as a pet), and then it worked exactly as predicted.

I've attached 2.4.2, but I believe there's probably something in the puppy build process that's removing some libtool-essential scripts, since it's a script based process and I could easily see some of the pet trimmer scripts seeing non-executable text files installed to the /usr/share/ directory and yanking them out.

libtool-2.4.2-i486.pet sha1sum:
78831f100f422642cb88d242ebc139aad2ee0d27
md5sum:
09aeb7a3487d05f583f57bb2d2c64776

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

[Solved] hdd-usb-mismatch

#484 Post by Karl Godt »

[edit :
reading the /init script i found the hint here :
search_func() { #110425
if [ "$PMEDIA" ];then #kernel boot param
case $PMEDIA in
cd)
[ "$PRAMONLY" = "yes" ] && LESSPARTS0="`echo "$LESSPARTS0" | grep 'iso9660'`" #do not search other drives.
;;
*)
#note: a mistake if have PDEV1 on usb booting, as it can change.
[ "$PDEV1" ] && LESSPARTS0="`echo "$LESSPARTS0" | grep "${PDEV1}|"`" #kernel boot param.
;;
esac
fi
#pmedia= usbflash|usbhd|usbcd|ataflash|atahd|atacd|atazip|scsihd|scsicd|cd
So
video=640x480 root=/dev/sdd2 vga=normal acpi_enforce_resources=lax pmedia=usbflash pdev1=sdd2
worked as expected
[/edit]

Just short notice :

I was booting from USB Pendrive and the intrd.gz init script did load a main.sfs from the HDD instead of the Pendrive, but loaded the Pupsave file from the Pendrive and the devx .

I am not pleased about that, because it involves the mounting of all partitions, which increases the mount count and makes the pdev1=sdC# bootparameter obsolete :

# . /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
# . /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
# echo $DISTRO_NAME $DISTRO_VERSION
Racy Puppy 5.2.2
# echo $PUPMODE
13
# echo $PDEV1
sdb9
# cat /proc/cmdline
video=640x480 root=/dev/sdd2 vga=normal acpi=off pdev1=sdd2
# dmidecode -t1 |grep -Ei 'Manu|Pro|Num|Vers|Rev'
Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
Product Name: OptiPlex 755
Version: Not Specified
Serial Number: J8J844J
SKU Number: Not Specified
# echo $ATADRIVES
sda sdb

Henry
Posts: 863
Joined: Sun 30 Jul 2006, 02:28
Location: Oregon USA
Contact:

Racy 522 hangs on reboot (shutdown is OK.)

#485 Post by Henry »

I reported this in the RacyNop (remaster of Racy 522) forum at
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 8&start=75 but this may be a better place, so:

Dell Optiplex 745 desktop, frugal, live CD. Everything I had in my previous QuiryNop-1.2 finally works in RacyNop making a complete custom business system, sharing the racysave.2fs files with the netbook, a definite plus

Only one small problem remains, which I'm writing to ask about. Reboot does not work in the desktop (it does in the netbook).
It freezes at ". . . session already saved 134.2867221 Restarting system."
and has to be forced off with the power switch. I turn the power back on and the full sda1 fsck begins.

(Other puppies than Racy do not have this problem in the same computer. Shutdown does work, so that's what I use. Logout and Restart X also work. This is not a huge problem, but hard crashes are not good.)

I have searched through miles of forums but have not found the answer to this specific problem, although many sounded similar. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Last edited by Henry on Sat 21 Jul 2012, 11:42, edited 3 times in total.

Post Reply