Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 09:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko B4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 12 [179 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7801
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 22:14    Post subject:  

Thanks shinobar Smile

__________

sszindian.. I have bad news.. Sad

My SiS machine uses the vesa driver, I compiled as many versions as I could find of the SiS xorg driver and not one would work. It is pretty much unsupported since 2010/10 .. not good, as xorg was updated since then. It compiles just fine but what good is that when it doesn't work? I think Sage has some SiS gear.. Sage? Work for you?

The only thing I can suggest is to try to change screen res in the first-run wizard or the graphical Xorgwizard from the setup icon. Sorry I couldn't be the bearer of some magical SiS fix, similar to Brookdale. There is precious little info around the web on SiS older chips and newer Xorg, except it fails! There was one patched driver I found for Xorg-7.5 but it failed in Xorg-7.6. Confused Sad

I will keep trying though.. it's unacceptable! I'll see if I can raise a ticket with someone in Slackware, they are geeky enough to try and fix these things, but I'll have to install Slackware-13.37 on my SiS box for them to take me seriously Laughing .

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 781
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 23:14    Post subject: Initial Report of Beta4 with AtiRadeon 3100 Graphics  

Hi 01micko & All;

All seems well. Unpacked SlackoB4.iso to Slacko directory and rebooted.
First Run dialogue routine seemed to run a little slow. I thought it had completed and started Frisbee before it did. This created problems as completion of First Run shut down Frisbee before it could complete and thereafter it gave problems setting up, but was ultimately successful. Went on internet with Seamonkey and sound proved to work OK with Youtube Flash. For some reason only the occasional Puppy gives me barks when starting and Slacko doesn't.
Internet having proven OK, I shut down creating SaveFile, rebooting into SlackoB4. Whatever slowness initially appeared was gone and SlackoB4 now appears to be as fast as Exprimo.
Nice job 01micko. I'll explore some more tomorrow.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7801
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 00:42    Post subject: Re: Initial Report of Beta4 with AtiRadeon 3100 Graphics  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi 01micko & All;

All seems well. Unpacked SlackoB4.iso to Slacko directory and rebooted.
First Run dialogue routine seemed to run a little slow. I thought it had completed and started Frisbee before it did. This created problems as completion of First Run shut down Frisbee before it could complete and thereafter it gave problems setting up, but was ultimately successful. Went on internet with Seamonkey and sound proved to work OK with Youtube Flash. For some reason only the occasional Puppy gives me barks when starting and Slacko doesn't.
Internet having proven OK, I shut down creating SaveFile, rebooting into SlackoB4. Whatever slowness initially appeared was gone and SlackoB4 now appears to be as fast as Exprimo.
Nice job 01micko. I'll explore some more tomorrow.

mikesLr


Yes there are a few logic flaws in the way I implemented the firtboot>firstrun>conectwiz.. but I am onto it Wink .. I think it will cater to all as much as possible...

Here's the new logic..

First splash.. tells if you are connected or not, if so, no connectwiz..

Asks about locale .. if you don't care skip.. if you don't understand there is a big graphical i18n icon with flags on it to invoke shino's first-run locale/TZ/keys setup.. if you still don't understand it times out . .. starting shino's first-run wiz..

after X restart then connectwiz pops up.. we'll see!

Laughing

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 00:47    Post subject:  

The problem with building Open Office with just Writer is this: Open Office seems to be constructed like a browser with each of the modules being extensions, so very little size is saved, but masses of functionality is lost.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5752
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 01:04    Post subject:  

Another manual frugal install..... this one on the old P3 test box.Everything working on initial boot and persistent through a couple of reboots. No shutdown problems.


VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 4.99.6

Chip description:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (GMCH) Graphics Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "" Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video


-Computer-
Processor : Pentium III (Coppermine)
Memory : 254MB (120MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 25 Sep 2011 12:00:11 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801AA-ICH


Looks pretty good on this old box too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 01:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
I think Sage has some SiS gear.. Sage?

Sadly my considerable skills lie well outside anything to do with SW. If you want to destroy the world, I may be able to assist. Otherwise, I limit my activities to HW and SW-reportage.Every other distro had until now behaved properly with my three SiS Mirage I-containing boards. This should worry you, mick! These are all ECS boards, and despite what you might read in dispatches, are the most advanced and reliable I've ever encountered. I know this as I have a steady stream of other makes arriving for 'spares'. Sometimes MSI produces a few good models, too, not necessarily under their own moniker and not necessarily all the time!
Quote:
Sage? Work for you?

Actually - yes!

Last edited by Sage on Sun 25 Sep 2011, 03:14; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 03:09    Post subject:  

After one day of mostly light programming, I noticed my cache steadily increased to over 800M, leaving about 50M free; seems a bit strange.
To clear:
Code:

sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 03:34    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
The 3dr one is an old one (and maybe reported and I missed it). The setup desktop icon is taller than the rest so does not align properly. This independent of Xtd.dpi and/or screen resolution.
Other icon themes align properly
No the setup icon has the correct size.
It is the slickpet icon which is too small. Only 36 pixels. Just rescale it to 48 and all is ok.

Probably micko will correct it for next releases. Wink

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7801
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 06:27    Post subject:  

Thanks for that info Béèm! I made the icon by just copying the mail one.. I had no idea Laughing

Anyway, I had enough of Haiku icons.. they are pretty but I found a set just as pretty at half the cost Wink Haiku goes to PPM.

_____

First-run.. oh boy... I can be thick! I should have read the file by shino in ~/Startup Rolling Eyes .. now we have a decent flow...

First-run(2 barks) > set locale/TZ/keys/res/numlock/etc > welcome!stboot!.

There is a problem though. Barry's bacon version makes a gross assumption that net is not connected. Sp we divert to my modified version. Also Barry's bacon version is crap on small res. I have covered this by diverting to my version IF>

There is net connection, or small screen

IF no net and small screen you get the connection Button.

IF no net and big screen you get the Bacon! (has connection button)

This should address bigpup's and aarf's issues.. and I have i18n'd the scripts, not many words so translations will be swift.

It's all good.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7801
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 06:30    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:

Quote:
Sage? Work for you?

Actually - yes!


Ok, thanks for answer.. I was ready to toss sis_drv.so! (It p*??ed me off! Laughing )

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 07:06    Post subject:  

Sadly I'll have to delete it in favour of Wary on my ancient Cq chassis-only, recently resurrected junk heap as it's just too big=slow for the available resources. However, all that depends on whether BK can sort out the touchpad issues like the rest of you guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7801
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 08:09    Post subject:  

Ok,, here's what I've been up to.. (re first run)

Included is the DOTpot file and a crude Spanish ,mo and ,po.. for the sake of testing. As long as it works ok it wont change. There aren't many lines to translate, took me 5 mins.

It gets called at the finish of shino's first-run (from ~/Startup/fullstart) which is how it was intended by shino (with wary in mind I think.) This should save any duplication of processes.. it was a real mess before with first-run being called from /usr/sbin/delayedrun and ~/Startup/fullstart Rolling Eyes
welcome1stboot_sh-0.1-s.tar.gz
Description  translators welcome, structured like a pet, not much use to install it!
gz

 Download 
Filename  welcome1stboot_sh-0.1-s.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.72 KB 
Downloaded  134 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
eternal-sunshine

Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 09:32    Post subject:  

01Micko
Firstly congratulations on what you have achieved to date...this is one of the most exciting Puppys to date.

Just a bit of, fairly trivial, feedback FWIW:
(I am running a manually installed frugal to a PATA HDD, ethernet connection which was auto installed and no wifi.)

1. I have a test rig that runs with SiS chips. No probs with setting Xorg resolutions such as 1440x700 or 1024x728.

2. I also have the "reboots rather than shuts down" issue but I have had this with several Puppys in the past and found that adding
Code:
acpi=force
did the trick. I can confirm this patch also works with slacko B4.

3. Installed the "Browser Default Change browser default browser" ( bit of a mouth full that) using slickpet. It says it will be found under Menu>System but in fact it's lurking in Utility.

4. I really like your Cloud pet although it downloads its icon over Plan. No big deal though. Perhaps you might add Dropbox to the list as it's a well respected, multi-platform cloud storage that is free for 2GB of storage.

5. Tried to download Chromium 15.0.855 using slickpet but it says it needs deps
Quote:
GConf orbit2 libevent
. I can search for them but may put off noobs.

6. I see there is talk of compiling a cut down LibreOffice Writer. I agree with DaveS that it ain't so easy. An alternative might be to use OOoLight http://download.ooolight.org/ which has a pet that comes in at 89MiB. Just a thought.

7. I know everyone has a different opinion about esthetics but the yellow bars on the pup-save menu don't seem to give any feedback as to what has been selected.

However all-in-all this looks like being a star version of Puppy, not just in what it does but the way you have managed this project personally.
So once again many congratulations and thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 10:47    Post subject:  

eternal-sunshine wrote:
01Micko
4. I really like your Cloud pet although it downloads its icon over Plan. No big deal though. Perhaps you might add Dropbox to the list as it's a well respected, multi-platform cloud storage that is free for 2GB of storage.


available here Cool
Quote:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=567531#567531

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 25 Sep 2011, 10:50    Post subject: delaydrun  

01micko wrote:
it was a real mess before with first-run being called from /usr/sbin/delayedrun and ~/Startup/fullstart Rolling Eyes

The delaydrun should not call any dialogue, firstrun, welcome1stboot, nor flashplayer installer. Then they must be more simple.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 12 [179 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1033s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]