Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 17 Nov 2018, 04:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko B4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 12 [179 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8708
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:35    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
can't get to the bottom of this screen to select something to create pupsave.
can just hit return and it defaults to whatever.


Ah, you have a 600 pixel high screen. Ok, I will have to try and fix some of the shutdown GUI windows to fit into that height.

Gtkdialog4 now has support for vertical or horizontal scrollbars if window or a widget needs to be size-constrained. I'll look into that.

Note to 01micko,
You are brave not having gtkdialog3 in Slacko!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8680
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:37    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
01micko wrote:


Still need wl driver eh? The firmware you requested is in there... so it fails? If so I'll remove for B5/RC1, thanks for report


01mick0 if brcmsmac and brcmfmac drivers are in that woof it needs to be enabled during kernel compiling time. It resides in staging drivers section and compilers dont notice it easily so I have been told.

If those drivers are not in the kernel then the firmware pet will only help those who have the brcmsmac or brcmfmac driver pet which I do not.

Yes I'm still using the wl pet for now,.

Have looked and can't find a Xorg_High pet for my intel graphics card. the one for 529 did not work here.


Ok, got it, thanks Wink

Xorg_High=Mesa in Slacko. It was supposed to work in Slickpet [ Embarassed ].. however it does work in PPM.. go to PPM, puppy-slacko > system > mesa-7.10.2-s, about 21M

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8680
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:42    Post subject:  

erm.. forum traffic jam!

double post, removed by me

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:43    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
aarf wrote:
can't get to the bottom of this screen to select something to create pupsave.
can just hit return and it defaults to whatever.


Ah, you have a 600 pixel high screen. Ok, I will have to try and fix some of the shutdown GUI windows to fit into that height.


480 pixels high?
480.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.92 KB
 Viewed   806 Time(s)

480.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8708
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:46    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Xf-prot fails in downloading: error expanding fp-Linux-i686-ws.tar.gz. Aborting.
Does it expect savefile to be created first ? Or maybe the connection and download just failed, the message flickers too quick for me, like most things in my life.


See my report on Xfprot here:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02493

Avast! is an alternative:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02494

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8680
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:46    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
aarf wrote:
can't get to the bottom of this screen to select something to create pupsave.
can just hit return and it defaults to whatever.


Ah, you have a 600 pixel high screen. Ok, I will have to try and fix some of the shutdown GUI windows to fit into that height.

Gtkdialog4 now has support for vertical or horizontal scrollbars if window or a widget needs to be size-constrained. I'll look into that.

Note to 01micko,
You are brave not having gtkdialog3 in Slacko!
Small screen res users... [aarf in particular]

attached is a hacked pupdialog, only useful if you install when pfix=ram, it contains a condition that tests your screen height and if less than or equal to 600px then adds a scroll bar, the gui will be 400px high, 450 px wide but the problem is that this is hard coded, can't work around it in the context of pupdialog. Splash screens will look awful, but it will work and you will be able to use it.. it's a one off thing anyway.

-

Shutdown bug... people experiencing this please state your connection program.. I'm nearly certain it's Frisbee, it's also intermittent, doesn't always occur for me.

Barry.. nothing brave Smile ..it's going pretty well so far..IMHO gtkdialog3 is far too buggy (I have gtkdialog, with symlinks gtkdialog3 and gtkdialog4, r298)

Cheers
pupdialog_hacked-1m.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pupdialog_hacked-1m.pet 
Filesize  4.21 KB 
Downloaded  236 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8708
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 21:59    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
01micko wrote:


Still need wl driver eh? The firmware you requested is in there... so it fails? If so I'll remove for B5/RC1, thanks for report


01mick0 if brcmsmac and brcmfmac drivers are in that woof it needs to be enabled during kernel compiling time. It resides in staging drivers section and compilers dont notice it easily so I have been told.

If those drivers are not in the kernel then the firmware pet will only help those who have the brcmsmac or brcmfmac driver pet which I do not.

Yes I'm still using the wl pet for now,.


Yes, the Broadcom firmware was put into Woof recently:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02484

01micko could use this kernel PET, which does have that broadcom driver:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-wary5/linux_kernel-2.6.39.4-pae-i686-w5.pet

But, it was compiled in Wary. If anyone wants to recompile it for Slacko, I have made it so easy-peasy:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02476

...the script even creates the kernel PET!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8708
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 22:02    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
BarryK wrote:
aarf wrote:
can't get to the bottom of this screen to select something to create pupsave.
can just hit return and it defaults to whatever.


Ah, you have a 600 pixel high screen. Ok, I will have to try and fix some of the shutdown GUI windows to fit into that height.


480 pixels high?


Oh, ok, I didn't look properly.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8680
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 22:09    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:


01micko could use this kernel PET, which does have that broadcom driver:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-wary5/linux_kernel-2.6.39.4-pae-i686-w5.pet

But, it was compiled in Wary. If anyone wants to recompile it for Slacko, I have made it so easy-peasy:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02476

...the script even creates the kernel PET!


yes Barry, haven't tried your script yet, I used Iguleder's a couple of months back. Will do though as an alternative. Didn't tempestuous mention about enabling some scsi driver? I'll dig around.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8708
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 22:21    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
BarryK wrote:


01micko could use this kernel PET, which does have that broadcom driver:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-wary5/linux_kernel-2.6.39.4-pae-i686-w5.pet

But, it was compiled in Wary. If anyone wants to recompile it for Slacko, I have made it so easy-peasy:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02476

...the script even creates the kernel PET!


yes Barry, haven't tried your script yet, I used Iguleder's a couple of months back. Will do though as an alternative. Didn't tempestuous mention about enabling some scsi driver? I'll dig around.

Cheers

Ah yes, I have that in my to-do list for the next kernel compile.

My notes:

"Enable FUSION MPT scsi support, then enable all of these:
mptspi
mptfc,
mptsas"

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 23:13    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:


Xorg_High=Mesa in Slacko. It was supposed to work in Slickpet [ Embarassed ].. however it does work in PPM.. go to PPM, puppy-slacko > system > mesa-7.10.2-s, about 21M


01micko thanks for the info. slickpet>drivers recommended "Xorg_High" to avoid confusion perhaps should state "mesa.."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15239
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 00:05    Post subject:  

Nobody including me, takes my hacking reports seriously Embarassed
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=565582#565582
. . . however . . . it did seem to happen overnight whilst the computer was connected with transmission (which leaves a potential 'carrier' channel open)
Maybe I need Fido?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=559833#559833

I have installed the Avast virus checker and am doing a thorough scan
(very nicely implemented).

Pets for Psip Puppy Phone are now ready for testing on B4
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=567012#567012

Puppy Linux
Leading Penguin Pack

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 00:36    Post subject:
Subject description: Too good to shut down?
 

G'day,

Like a couple of earlier testers/posters, on my desktop, Slacko B4 just goes to reboot when I was sure I hit power off. This with a Frugal & a Full Slacko. Maybe a hardware specific issue - what do you need to know to check?

And for a bit of trivial slackness, there's a missing 'n' in the initial start-up box which told me I had a 'conection'.

No problems when running Slacko-B4 - nice and quick, with internet fine, pets & sfs load well, DTV card has good picture and sound.

Compliments to the chef.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8680
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 00:44    Post subject:  

David, S thanks

What proggy are you using to connect, are you using wireless? I think this is the root of the shutdown issue. It only surfaced in B3

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 00:51    Post subject:  

I am on tethered phone and also thought i hit shutdown and got reboot. Had closed the lid too.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 12 [179 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1648s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0334s) ][ GZIP on ]