Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 10:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Is Jemimah's original Puppeee still available?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
kenh


Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Tampa Bay

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 11:44    Post subject:  

I installed Slacko Puppy 5.3 to a 4 GB SDHC card. I used a card reader connected to a desktop computer and used the install from the Puppy CD. I used the rest of the card for the save area.

I've also did a frugal install using Unetbootin to a 2 GB USB stick with good results. I have Puppeee (Jemimah's version 1.0) on the 4 GB SSD.

The only problem I have is Slacko Puppy won't shut down, it just reboots. This is a reported problem and will probably be fixed in the next version. Now, I just hold in the power button and it does a proper save to the card and shuts down.

There are a few nice things that Puppeee does that Slacko doesn't, like enable some of the function keys, put a temperature monitor in the task bar and use a dimming feature when operating on the battery. I can live without those. (There is a nice temperature bar in pwidgets, which is in the repo.)

I use SKYPE and had a bit of a time figuring out how to enable an external mic. on my Eee pc. It's really easy and if anyone wants to know how, I will post it,


Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 12:13    Post subject:  

Hey, you did it! Even on the internal disk. If you're not too anti-Windows, maybe put XP Home on the 16GB ssd (good eee-specific apps for the XP Home), then do the dual-boot from the 16GB, which is what I do with my ancient Sony Vaio Picturebook (4.32 and Win2K).

But congratulations, you figured it out.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 12:19    Post subject:  

Thanks to both of you.
That I succeeded is more pure luck than any know how by me.
I pushed all the buttons until it worked. I had no idea what was needed.

Odd that none have described it before. Not that I know how to
but I have parts of how one does it using a usb booted puppy
and that one change the boot order. I still don't know how to
change the bios. But now I don't need to know maybe. It just works

KenH yes Jemimah really was at it in puppeee but she has so different
choices on double click and a lot of other things so I will try to use
snow puppy or lupu instead. Until I need something only she knew
how to set up. Camera? and sleep and Fn+F1 things yes that one maybe the
otehrs did not care about. [/b]

Ken H when you say this
Quote:
I have Puppeee (Jemimah's version 1.0) on the 4 GB SSD.


How does one set it up? You made use of the installer in puppeee maybe?
When I use it now in Snow Puppy it did look like it was writing all the time.

The led for the SD blinked and blinked in random to show it was writing or looking for thing while me did nothing.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 14:07    Post subject:  

Jemimah,

If you are still following this thread, please check you PM.

And thanks for everything you've done for the Puppy community. Best wishes to you in your future endeavours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kenh


Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Tampa Bay

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 16:00    Post subject:  

Quote:
How does one set it up? You made use of the installer in puppeee maybe?
When I use it now in Snow Puppy it did look like it was writing all the time.


I was new to puppy at the time so I just followed her instructions to copy files to a USB stick and then install to my SSD. Sorry, I don't have those instructions any more. She never made an iso image to write to a CD as I recall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 17:26    Post subject:  

Ken now when you describe it I do remember there where no iso.
She gave us the files. That works too.

Do you have any idea about if one can check how often it writes
to the hdd?

I had booted into Snow Puppy and it looks like it writes
each second or something. So most likely I have done something
very wrong because if one do it right it should only write each 30 minutes.

and one should be able to change that to only when one shut down.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 06:06    Post subject:  

Puppeee 4.4 is if I remember based on Puppy 430 and the kernel
that was active at that time.

Pemasu has created many variations of Puppy based on drivers
and code that Puppeee and Fluppy had and combined that with
modern kernels and code from both Lupu511 and 528 and him
learned from many others too.

So maybe I should test IcePuppy or PolarPuppy or what would be the
best modern puppy for Asus EEEPC with Celeron CPU and a SD HDD?

Something that don't write often to the SD.

Maybe I need to change the boot code to pmedia=usbflash?
So it write as seldom as possible?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kenh


Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Tampa Bay

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 22:56    Post subject:  

@nooby, I thought it only wrote to the SSD upon shutdown or when the save button is clicked. That is if the program is installed to run in memory. Slacko 5.3 is what I recommend for the Eee pc 900.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 04:56    Post subject:  

kenh wrote:
That is if the program is installed to run in memory.

and how did you tell it to run Slacko only in RAM? Smile
Menu.lst code would be handy now!


kenh, good that you have tested several other options Smile
So Slacko 5.3 Hm that one fails on my Acer.
Maybe works good on my Asus due to celeron instead of Atom CPU.

Okay I add it to the HDD and give it a try.

How can one look in some log or in System or something to see
how often it does write? I read about a guy yesterday that lost
one of the built in SD.

Are the 4 GB and the 16 GB really two seperate SD or is that one SD
with two partitions, one ext 2 and the other ext3?

oops it is a thread about Jemimah's Puppeee so I derail it now.

Some Puppeee lovers are setting up a Puppeee resource alternative
somewhere. I guess there is a link in this thread? I tested Puppeee44
the other day but I fail to learn all the differences she has put into it.

What I like about Jemimah is that she cared about the Fn things and the
sleep and shut down and so on. But the learning curve too steep for my taste. So much new to learn and I fail to remember.

okay Slacko then frugal install.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-5.3/slacko-5.3-MAIN.iso

Running it a minute ago. it fails to do 1024 x 768 it falls back to
1024 x 600 each time one tell it to do 1024 x 768. So that is sad.

Hopefully I will be able to put # in front of the txt that force it to do 1024 x 600. I managed to do that some months ago and then forgot how one do it. Tat time I borrowed and old xorg.conf but now I don't have one.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 10:51    Post subject:  

nooby... if i understood your post correctly, you want your "puppies" to sleep. it is quite straight forward....

go to puppylinux.com

click download puppy (towards bottom of page)

click ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/ (towards bottom of page)

under the various pets links search for 2 pets... acpitool and pupshutdown (there are several different versions & i use acpitool-0.5.1-i486.pet AND pupshutdown-1.7.4.pet)... for me, these usually work for most puppies.

install these 2 pets

click the menu (at far left on task bar or however you do it)

click utility

click pupshutdown

click the power icon at the very bottom left of pupshutdown menu window

now, you have a choice of shutdown options for most "puppies"

by the way, if i misunderstood your post and you already know how to do this... i apologize for wasting your time... yr1945

ps... occasionally, you may have to restart the xserver or reboot... but, usually, this step is not required
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 11:42    Post subject:  

Thanks for that description and the links. I need those too but

The most important thing and something I have experimented with
but never understood was to force puppy to think it boots from CD
or USB and that way it use another option and only save once 30 minutes or only at shutdown. I have one such with 500MB and maybe one with 1GB
sure I can buy bigger but before I know how to use them that seems over kill.

That way it will not tear so much on the SSD HD I have in Asus. The
machine has been in usage since 2008 and I am the second owner and
can not ask the first owner how often him used it. I've read that these
SSD easily warn out. Some have lost them and have to use the slot for
SD cards instead.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9373
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 12:11    Post subject:  

Have you tried this?
Code:
pmedia=ataflash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 12:34    Post subject:  

Ah you are so right. I chosed the wrong word there.
Now when you remind me then I do remember that
is the proper word do use. Much appreciated.

So will this work for Puppeee 44 and Lupu 511 and
lupu 528 and Slacko 5.3 too?

Ooops need to ask. Do I have to restart from scratch then
or will this go into the old pupsave files for all four puppies
or will them remember that I had not pmedia before the
pupsave got created? Or will them create changes
in pupsave to reflect the new code in the boot sequence?

Jay seems it did now snow puppy do have a save button.

Does that mean I don't have to find teh 30 minutes save
it will only save when I reboot? or click on save?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0909s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0130s) ][ GZIP on ]