Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 15 Sep 2014, 05:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
internationalization of initrd messages at bootup
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 18:12    Post subject: border lines  

I took pictures of menu of mp with normal and new consolefonts.
16-02-12_2345.jpg
 Description   new
 Filesize   42.52 KB
 Viewed   320 Time(s)

16-02-12_2345.jpg

16-02-12_2351.jpg
 Description   normal
 Filesize   43.33 KB
 Viewed   324 Time(s)

16-02-12_2351.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 20:30    Post subject:  

Yes, I meant when running mp from commandline, no X running.

rodin.s, thanks, I'll check out your alternative console fonts.

Well, I have implemented internationalization of the initrd in Woof, and built Racy 5.2.2.6 to test it:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02691

Note though, I used L18L's original technique of simple sed expressions. The implementation is extremely simple, you can see the 'init' script online:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/artifact/ce14b27c841e5648fcd24bcb6072fd8fd83a47d6

The /locale/de/init translation file in the initrd is not online as it gets generated by 3builddistro in Woof, from this file:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/artifact/dae5c7f30c92868ca94d3485fe0cd7709a624016
...note, the comments in the [general] section are slightly wrong, the translation actually happens at every boot, and all other SSS domains are now using the same simple sed expressions technique.

A language-choice menu is not required in the initrd, as Woof now is able to edit the initrd.gz and insert file /PUPPYLANG -- except for case of booting off CD -- in that case, you are stuck with the English messages at early-bootup, but as soon as execution gets to rc.sysinit then translation will kick in.

Note also, keyboard layout gets set to match the language, unless set by pkeys boot param or file /PUPPYKEYMAP in initrd -- important in situation where have to enter a password for encrypted save-file.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 23:21    Post subject:  

whenever I have had issues with ncurses based interfaces, it was either:
a. the app needed ncursesw (unlikely if it works in X)
b. the incorrect terminfo was being exported and used ... I would guess that you need /usr/share/terminfo/l/linux and export TERM=linux in the initrd and init script respectively

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2012, 06:33    Post subject: terminfo  

technosaurus wrote:
whenever I have had issues with ncurses based interfaces, it was either:
a. the app needed ncursesw (unlikely if it works in X)
b. the incorrect terminfo was being exported and used ... I would guess that you need /usr/share/terminfo/l/linux and export TERM=linux in the initrd and init script respectively


Before putting it into init one can try.
I have tried:
Code:
TERM=linux-m mp

and the left borderline of menu was displayed Smile
This was in racy 5.2.2.6

äöü
- is correct on command line
- not in mp editing

Is there a ncursesw.pet ?
Not found in PPM

_____________________________

edited
same issue with some borderlines in xorgwizard

Last edited by L18L on Fri 17 Feb 2012, 08:04; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2012, 07:20    Post subject: simple sed expressions  

BarryK wrote:
...Note though, I used L18L's original technique of simple sed expressions. The implementation is extremely simple, you can see the 'init' script online:

And slightly faster without g.
But password should become
s%"Password: "%"Paßwort: "%g
because translation has to happen more than once.
(And tell the translator to NOT remove g) Wink

Compliment, you have also solved the problem of
done
using
"done" Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2012, 20:53    Post subject: Re: simple sed expressions  

L18L wrote:
BarryK wrote:
...Note though, I used L18L's original technique of simple sed expressions. The implementation is extremely simple, you can see the 'init' script online:

And slightly faster without g.
But password should become
s%"Password: "%"Paßwort: "%g
because translation has to happen more than once.
(And tell the translator to NOT remove g) Wink

Compliment, you have also solved the problem of
done
using
"done" Cool


I think that the "g" only applies to the same line. That is, will translate multiple occurrences of "Password: " on the same line. If "Password: " is on different lines, then "g" is not required.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 06:08    Post subject: Re: simple sed expressions
Subject description: g
 

BarryK wrote:
...
I think that the "g" only applies to the same line. That is, will translate multiple occurrences of "Password: " on the same line. If "Password: " is on different lines, then "g" is not required.


I was wrong Embarassed
You have thought right
I have proved it Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0655s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]